Join NAS to a Samba PDC?

Questions about using Windows AD service.
motionblurrr
Starting out

Join NAS to a Samba PDC?

Post by motionblurrr »

Hello,

I'm wondering if anyone has any experience with getting the QNAP NAS products to join a Samba domain? I have a Samba PDC already on my network and if I could get the NAS (I have a TS-109 Pro) to join that domain and allow me to give access to those accounts, I could finally have single-sign-on to all of my machines (Linux and Windows XP/Vista/7)! :D

When I try to connect right now using the web UI, I can see (via network sniffer) that the NAS is attempting to perform Kerberos authentication to my PDC, but I don't have Kerberos installed/configured, so of course it fails. I can install and configure Kerberos to work with my Samba PDC if there is hope that the NAS might be able to enumerate my Samba PDC users... I just thought I'd ask here before trying in case anyone knows for sure. I know the documentation says that the NAS requires an AD domain, but considering the fact that the NAS is merely running Samba in the first place, it seems like there must be some way to do this.

I REALLY don't want to built a real Windows AD domain just for this purpose... Please, QNAP, help me out here! If you can't do it via the web UI, perhaps there's some tricks to doing it via the smb.conf or other config files?
lukehealey.nz
First post

Re: Join NAS to a Samba PDC?

Post by lukehealey.nz »

did you ever get a resolution for this problem?
Eraser-EMC2-
Been there, done that

Post by Eraser-EMC2- »

I dont know if it works, but these are some steps to join a NAS/Workstation to a SAMBA-PDC:

Create on your SAMBA-PDC an account for your NAS like

Code: Select all

adduser -h /temp -s /bin/sh -D -H [Name_of_NAS]
/usr/local/samba/bin/smbpasswd -L -a -m -n [Name_of_NAS]
and run following commands on the NAS to join to the Domain

Code: Select all

setcfg global "domain master" "no" -f /etc/smb.conf -c