Grant AD user same rights as local admin user

Questions about using Windows AD service.
pitcherj
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 9:18 pm

Re: Grant AD user same rights as local admin user

Post by pitcherj » Mon Feb 27, 2017 9:24 pm

Hello,

A number of years ago we purchased a TS-559 Pro+ unit and inquired about the ability to perform web administration of the device with a domain user.

At that time, we were told that the feature was unavailable, but we did put in a feature request at that time.

We recently purchased a TS-853A unit, and even with the major advances in the UI of the web interface, it remains impossible to administer the unit with a domain account.

I re-inquired about this capability with our new purchase and received the following response:

"No, unfortunately it is not possible to allow domain users to have administrative capabilities for the NAS, only a local user (set in Administrator Group) are able to have such access.

This feature has already been requested and is being analysed for possible implementation, but cannot be guaranteed that will be really implemented.

I would like to thank you for your information and request for feature request, we really appreciate that."

Danixu86
Starting out
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 7:48 pm

Re: Grant AD user same rights as local admin user

Post by Danixu86 » Tue Feb 28, 2017 3:32 am

So maybe is just a way to say "if need work from us, then is surely no". Is not hard to implement because just now is working but it need to be done by commands, so it's not hard to implement a way to make it on the web interface. Just ask the domain for the users and add the users you wish to local groups...

bionicrocky
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 1:58 pm

Re: Grant AD user same rights as local admin user

Post by bionicrocky » Wed Apr 19, 2017 2:17 pm

Did the usermod am able to login to the web interface with the AD account, but not SSH. Has anyone gotten that working?

CivicaGritAU
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 9:37 am

Re: Grant AD user same rights as local admin user

Post by CivicaGritAU » Wed Aug 29, 2018 9:50 am

I've just deployed a QNAP in our office and can't believe that AD users cannot administer a QNAP as standard.
If QNAP are serious about entering the enterprise environment then they need to enable management by AD accounts. I deployed one QNAP as a POC as it has all the file sharing features that I require, but I will not deploy a second unless they enable management by Active Directory and more specifically AD groups.
I did use the usermod command mentioned by Danixu86 in a post in 2016 and this has enabled logins to specified AD users, but this is not a long term solution.
For these commands worked for me (case sensitive)
Add new user
usermod -a -G administrators DOMAIN\\user
List admins
grep ^administrators /etc/group
Remove user
deluser --remove-home DOMAIN\\user

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 15283
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Grant AD user same rights as local admin user

Post by dolbyman » Wed Aug 29, 2018 9:57 am

complain via ticket..complaining here will not fix anything (we are just users)

KaPeTM
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 1:40 pm

Re: Grant AD user same rights as local admin user

Post by KaPeTM » Wed Aug 29, 2018 6:14 pm

DIR


277/5000
I am desperately desperate for the urgent help I have TS TES-1885U-D1521-8GR
I need to use QES due to deduplication - QES 2,0

The client requires logging into the administration panel of the AD domain account

the script?
alternative?
how to deliver it
any ideas ?

sjtsnix
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 5:25 am

Re: Grant AD user same rights as local admin user

Post by sjtsnix » Mon Jun 17, 2019 5:17 am

Thank you for posting this question, as I've just setup my first QNAP NAS (TVS-1282), joined it to my domain, and spent a little time trying to figure out how to add a domain account to the Administrators Group on the TVS-1282... Not finding a way to do so, I landed here an a search of the forums... only to find out, this feature apparently still is not available. I'll head over to the QNAP helpdesk to inquire.... as everyone else apparently has done so...

regards,
sjtsnix

Post Reply

Return to “Windows Domain & Active Directory”