Photo Station and Music Station will not load

Please post your questions about using the web-based Photo, Music, Video Stations here.
Locked
Vincent M.
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 10:10 pm

Photo Station and Music Station will not load

Post by Vincent M. » Thu Sep 17, 2020 7:19 am

About QNAP page attached (Relevant info on it follows):
QNAP TS-659 Pro II
QTS Verion 4.2.6 (2020\08\21)
6 sata disks Raid10

I put my own self-signed certs on the QNAP and enabled secure connections even for local traffic

I try to bring up Photo Station and Music Station and neither load. Photo station is blank and music station show a blue circle of what look like rotating teardrop shapes

https://qnap-nas/photostation/
https://qnap-nas/musicstation/

I have DLNA Media center enabled
Media library shows Ready with 24 photos and 2 music files (default files, I haven't loaded any)
Photo Station and Music Station are both enabled.


Is there some critical item I am missing? Please help with solutions or troubleshooting advice. I am in IT so be as technical as you like. I can follow.

Have I left out any critical information?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Vincent M. on Thu Sep 17, 2020 9:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19727
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Photo Station and Music Station will not load

Post by dolbyman » Thu Sep 17, 2020 7:28 am

Vincent M. wrote:
Thu Sep 17, 2020 7:19 am
I put my own self-signed certs on the QNAP and enabled secure connections even for local traffic
even? .. make sure you do not expose any QTS system to the open web, music,photo,video station have been prime suspects for malware infections

the base cert for the self signed certificates is on the clients ? (otherwise you will get an error)

Vincent M.
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 10:10 pm

Re: Photo Station and Music Station will not load

Post by Vincent M. » Thu Sep 17, 2020 7:48 am

"even", meaning local and external. I don't intend to expose my files unsecured. And I have the root trust on the clients so they don't get the error. I understand certs. I included the fact that I generated my own certs in case it matters for the discussion of why Photo Station and Music Station do not function. File Station and Download station appear to be working fine.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19727
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Photo Station and Music Station will not load

Post by dolbyman » Thu Sep 17, 2020 7:50 am

as said ... external is a VERY bad idea..https will give you no protection against exploits to exposed qts

google qsnatch to see what can happen

also how did you combine 6 esata disks to raid10 ? (first post)

Vincent M.
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 10:10 pm

Re: Photo Station and Music Station will not load

Post by Vincent M. » Thu Sep 17, 2020 9:22 am

I am not exposing them externally. I am trying to get them to work.

I put 6 drives in the NAS and set up RAID10. I meant SATAs, not esata. But I don't get the question. Are you asking why I did it, or HOW I did it? The how is easy, RAID10 is what I wanted to set up and that was an option, so I did it.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19727
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Photo Station and Music Station will not load

Post by dolbyman » Thu Sep 17, 2020 9:50 am

only question was on esata...seemed unlikely...but we had some crafty people in the past, that got some skills and actually worked wonders with the md raid

anyways...the qts interface works with the cert ?

Vincent M.
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 10:10 pm

Re: Photo Station and Music Station will not load

Post by Vincent M. » Thu Sep 17, 2020 10:03 am

It works fine, the only things I am having trouble with are the Photo and Music Stations. I can post how to create and place the certs if you're interested.

Edit: I just imagined what 6 esata drives with adapters would do to the NAS profile :)

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19727
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Photo Station and Music Station will not load

Post by dolbyman » Thu Sep 17, 2020 12:11 pm

afaik the qts and stations run on the same webserver (not the optional apache webserver you can enable to run your own aplications)

I quickly searched the forums but couldnt find a thread where qts worked fine on https (but not the stations)

Vincent M.
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 10:10 pm

Re: Photo Station and Music Station will not load

Post by Vincent M. » Thu Sep 17, 2020 7:26 pm

Dolbyman, You are correct. I turned off "force secure connections and accessed the Photo and Music stations just fine. So at least I know it's something to do with the HTTPS connection. Everything else works fine. I will post if I get this working, at least I have the stations working now. Thanks.


Edit: SUCCESS!!! After I accessed the stations once using port 80, The Music and Photo stations must need some initialization in order to work and they could not initialize over secure connection.

Second edit: I think my initial success was a cached version of the station. I can't open them again. Grrrrrrrrrrrr Oh well, will keep trying...

Vincent M.
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 10:10 pm

Re: Photo Station and Music Station will not load

Post by Vincent M. » Fri Sep 18, 2020 12:43 am

dolbyman,

Here is some new information. The two affected stations run in APP Center but not Station manager. What am I missing? I think it must be a versioning issue or something simple.

Vincent M.
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 10:10 pm

Re: Photo Station and Music Station will not load

Post by Vincent M. » Fri Sep 18, 2020 1:02 am

Okay, someone close this out. I was trying to access station manager and then the Music and Photo stations in I.E. That doesn't work. It works fine in Edge and Chrome!!!

So I didn't check in the others until just a few minutes ago. I don't know why I.E. doesn't like the apps but that's not an issue for me now that I know.

Sorry for wasting your time.

Locked

Return to “Photo Station, Music Station, Video Station”