Music Station (Multimedia Console ver 1.3) no longer supporting FLAC

Please post your questions about using the web-based Photo, Music, Video Stations here.
Post Reply
stratplus
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2020 5:45 pm

Music Station (Multimedia Console ver 1.3) no longer supporting FLAC

Post by stratplus » Wed Oct 21, 2020 5:50 pm

Hi I am new to here. I owned 3 QNAP NAS and I was kind of disappointed that the support team informed me that since Multimedia Console 1.3 , music station will not support playing FLAC files. I must install the Cayin MediaSign to play FLAC files afterwards.

Any similar issue you guys faced recently as well? I raised tickets to the QNAP support team that my Music Station no longer able to play FLAC files. They told me this. :( :( :( :(

P.S Yet the Cayin MediaSign cannot play any audio files in my NAS now.

Duncan

wilkinson
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2020 1:17 pm

Re: Music Station (Multimedia Console ver 1.3) no longer supporting FLAC

Post by wilkinson » Fri Nov 06, 2020 3:51 am

Hi - I lost access to my FLAC files after updating. MP3 played OK. I didn't install Cayin as I use Music Station and didn't see the point. However after getting advice through help I did install Cayin - going though the "pay" process which asked for more information than I'd rather give. And then the process for registering it was not straight forward. But after I got there my flac files played through Music Station. I had a quick look at Cayin but thought it seemed very basic (and all my playlists are in MStation) so I guess the codec that comes with it is what allows MStation to play FLAC files. Phew.

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 20496
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Music Station (Multimedia Console ver 1.3) no longer supporting FLAC

Post by dolbyman » Fri Nov 06, 2020 5:08 am

Not sure why you need to pay a license for some obscure 3rd part media display program to play open source FLAC files.

Direct SMB access to the files to the player of your choice should be just fine, why would you need music station ?

I'd rather buy a Plexpass than some obsure 3rd party license

wilkinson
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2020 1:17 pm

Re: Music Station (Multimedia Console ver 1.3) no longer supporting FLAC

Post by wilkinson » Fri Nov 06, 2020 7:15 am

You don't have to pay for the basic version which I used and which makes the flacs work again. I wasn't that happy to have to sign up to something I shouldn't need. I started using QNAP music station when I first set up the NAS so I have all my playlists there. Pretty basic but it does the job for my set up.

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 9399
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: Music Station (Multimedia Console ver 1.3) no longer supporting FLAC

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Fri Nov 06, 2020 11:47 am

playing music on my pc, i use foobar2000.

for tv... you can plex or some other app.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 +16gb ddr4 Crucial+ QWA-AC2600 wireless+QXP PCIE
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TL-D400S 2x 4TB WD Red Nas (WD40EFRX) single disks.
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228
[^] QNAP TS-128
[Mobile NAS] TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Win10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review
https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

Post Reply

Return to “Photo Station, Music Station, Video Station”