[Confusing] QuMagie depends on PhotoStation for facial detection?!

Please post your questions about using the web-based Photo, Music, Video Stations here.
Post Reply
RedaLazri
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 5:22 pm

[Confusing] QuMagie depends on PhotoStation for facial detection?!

Post by RedaLazri » Tue Jun 04, 2019 3:47 am

I upgraded to 4.4.1 and obviously went straight to Qumagie. I also noticed a brand new version of PhotoStation waiting to be installed so I installed it. After playing with QuMagie for a while I decided that it would be weird to have two applications do the same thing and one of them is pretty old so I uninstalled PhotoStation, but to my surprise, Face Detection stopped mid-scan. Object Detection works.

I'm so confused ... as usual with QNAP's half-assed announcements and things that you wouldn't normally figure out how they work. :cry:

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4901
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: [Confusing] QuMagie depends on PhotoStation for facial detection?!

Post by Trexx » Tue Jun 04, 2019 4:08 am

My understanding is that QuMagie depends on QuMagie CORE module for the face detection. I don't have PhotoStation installed and it doesn't care.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

RedaLazri
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 5:22 pm

Re: [Confusing] QuMagie depends on PhotoStation for facial detection?!

Post by RedaLazri » Tue Jun 04, 2019 4:25 pm

Trexx wrote:
Tue Jun 04, 2019 4:08 am
My understanding is that QuMagie depends on QuMagie CORE module for the face detection. I don't have PhotoStation installed and it doesn't care.
Does it work though? It doesn't care in my situation either but it shows up as 'Postponed'.

alextsing
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 11:21 pm

Re: [Confusing] QuMagie depends on PhotoStation for facial detection?!

Post by alextsing » Sat Jun 22, 2019 11:37 pm

I have the same situation. I have both Photo Station 6.0 and QuMagie installed. But only objects recognition is working and the facial recognition forever shows "working" at 0% and no photo is processed.

When I check Photo Station's setting, the "People" status is --- and it doesn't have any options to let me start.

When I check QuMagie's setting, the Facial Recognition status is "postponed" and it only has a button "Pause" next to it.

I checked all the settings in QNAP but has no way to force the facial recognition to start. The old version of Photo Station should have extra addon for facial recognition but it's not available for Photo Station version 6.0.

If anyone can fix it, please share the solution here. Many thanks.

RedaLazri
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 5:22 pm

Re: [Confusing] QuMagie depends on PhotoStation for facial detection?!

Post by RedaLazri » Sun Jun 23, 2019 3:34 pm

alextsing wrote:
Sat Jun 22, 2019 11:37 pm
I have the same situation. I have both Photo Station 6.0 and QuMagie installed. But only objects recognition is working and the facial recognition forever shows "working" at 0% and no photo is processed.

When I check Photo Station's setting, the "People" status is --- and it doesn't have any options to let me start.

When I check QuMagie's setting, the Facial Recognition status is "postponed" and it only has a button "Pause" next to it.

I checked all the settings in QNAP but has no way to force the facial recognition to start. The old version of Photo Station should have extra addon for facial recognition but it's not available for Photo Station version 6.0.

If anyone can fix it, please share the solution here. Many thanks.

I have actually fixed the problem since the last time. I went ahead and uninstalled every component of QuMagie and PhotoStation, I logged into SSH and deleted the QuMagie folder (if you find one after the uninstall) in /share/CACHE.../.qpkg/Qumagie and reinstalled only QuMagie this time with its core (no PhotoStation) and it worked fine. It seems like things break when PS is present when QM scans.

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7545
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: [Confusing] QuMagie depends on PhotoStation for facial detection?!

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Sun Jun 23, 2019 6:54 pm

qumagie and photostation are separate apps, it was explained in their videos intros.

in fact they are replacing photostation by end of this year with something else yet to be announced.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

tuebingen1976
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:55 am

Re: [Confusing] QuMagie depends on PhotoStation for facial detection?!

Post by tuebingen1976 » Mon Aug 26, 2019 12:21 pm

Hi! My face detection had the same problem, but was fixed Qumagie core 1.0.2. However, object detection show categorized Folders but no photos in it. Is this a well known bug?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply

Return to “Photo Station, Music Station, Video Station”