Page 1 of 1

Background transcoding not working anymore

Posted: Mon Sep 14, 2020 4:37 am
by gaztop
Updated my NAS firmware and now neither multimedia station nor file station background transcodes. :?

I have tried Putty SSH to install ffmpeg. I have rolled back the firmware to the previous version. I have uninstalled/reinstalled multimedia station. I uninstalled the recent CodexPack and installed an older version, all to no avail.

I am still on the old firmware and have no idea how to proceed.

Came across this about Cayin, and wondering if this will do it now? (I did install this around the same time as the previous updated firmware):

https://www.qnap.com/en-us/software/cay ... ign-player
CAYIN MediaSign Player enables your QNAP NAS to support mainstream image and video formats, including HEIF/ HEVC (H.265), and video transcoding. CAYIN MediaSign Player greatly increases the multimedia formats supported by your QNAP NAS, allowing you to enjoy your movies, music, and photos and to easily transcode files to the MP4 (H.264) format.

Re: Background transcoding not working anymore

Posted: Mon Sep 14, 2020 7:10 am
by gaztop
I answered my own question. I noticed that the previous video files that had transcoded were in H.264 Codec, and that the ones that hadn't were H.265 (HEVC) Codec.
The solution is to pay $19.99 USD to QNAP for CAYIN 'PLUS' MediaSign Player: https://www.qnap.com/en/software/cayin-mediasign-player
Then activate the licence. This allows 'all' video formats to be trancoded to the @transcode folder.

UPDATE: Cayin does not seem to work with 'Background Tasks', and I tried to transcode 2 files simultaneously and the second file failed. So i'm doing one file at a time because of this and the fact you can't seem to just batch process a load of files and leave it running.

Re: Background transcoding not working anymore

Posted: Sun Nov 08, 2020 5:54 pm
by swampy32
I would not purchase a licence for CAYIN PLUS....
H265 is not supported I purchased a licence and activated it when I select a H265 video to encode I get codec not supported when i select a H264 video to encode to H265 there is no option to select H265 codec
I have sent a ticket to support and i am awaiting their responce.
Qnaps website is misleading regarding CAYIN and what it supports and does.

Re: Background transcoding not working anymore

Posted: Mon Nov 16, 2020 9:54 pm
by swampy32
Qnap have taken away the codex-pack to force everyone who wants to encode to purchase their CAYIN PLUS licence so if you upgrade to Qnaps latest firmware you are stuffed unless you buy it

Re: Background transcoding not working anymore

Posted: Mon Nov 16, 2020 9:58 pm
by swampy32
swampy32 wrote:
Sun Nov 08, 2020 5:54 pm
I would not purchase a licence for CAYIN PLUS....
H265 is not supported I purchased a licence and activated it when I select a H265 video to encode I get codec not supported when i select a H264 video to encode to H265 there is no option to select H265 codec
I have sent a ticket to support and i am awaiting their responce.
Qnaps website is misleading regarding CAYIN and what it supports and does.
Qnap tech support quoted the description of the product on their website and i pointed out that it did not do what they said it did.
Qnap then refunded licence for CAYIN PLUS