Page 1 of 3

How to disable FFMPEG process

Posted: Thu Sep 26, 2013 3:11 am
by Tim Deluxe
Hi all,

My QNAP is consuming 100% CPU on ffmpeg. I disabled already all possible applications on the QNAP but ffmpeg keeps on running even after a reboot.
When I kill the process another ffmpeg process will launch.
I checked all my applications, all is off (all the stations, all media servers,....)

How can I disable the proceess or know what launches the process?
If I can't find a solution I will change the rights of ffmpeg or rename it so that it can't be launched.

Thanks for the info.

Re: How to disable FFMPEG process

Posted: Thu Sep 26, 2013 3:50 am
by pwilson
Tim Deluxe wrote:Hi all,

My QNAP is consuming 100% CPU on ffmpeg. I disabled already all possible applications on the QNAP but ffmpeg keeps on running even after a reboot.
When I kill the process another ffmpeg process will launch.
I checked all my applications, all is off (all the stations, all media servers,....)

How can I disable the proceess or know what launches the process?
If I can't find a solution I will change the rights of ffmpeg or rename it so that it can't be launched.

Thanks for the info.
Contact QNAP Customer Service for assistance. Disabling the MediaScanner (by setting it to "manual scan") in your unidentified :roll: Firmware version will deal with some of it, but it will continue to be used by File Station.

Image

Changing the file permissions on /usr/bin/ffmpeg will not work permanently, as the original one will be re-installed at every reboot, as the Firmware is loaded into a RAMDisk at every boot, and is then run from the RAMDisk.

Re: How to disable FFMPEG process

Posted: Sat Nov 02, 2013 8:50 am
by fifields
Hi,

This is driving me nuts.

I have disabled Multimedia Station and Rescan Media Library which appeared to be re-enabled when I installed 4.0.2, but still find many instances of ffmpeg running if I use top.

I use rsync to make mirror backups of my shares, but something keeps 'touching' directories, so that many need to be updated even though I have made no use of them. Is file manager creating thumbnail files in folders just because I'm browsing the file system via the QNAP UI?

I there any way to just use the QNAP for plain old file storage (which is all I want) without it wanting to take control all the time?

Cheers, Steve.

Re: How to disable FFMPEG process

Posted: Sun Nov 03, 2013 11:51 pm
by schumaku
You might have to disable the Media Library with every firmware update - the default is actually set very unlucky.

Re: How to disable FFMPEG process

Posted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:36 pm
by teracow
.

Re: How to disable FFMPEG process

Posted: Sat Nov 09, 2013 2:47 am
by pacco
Changing permission of ffmpeg might do the trick only for the next run of the parent-caller of ffmpeg.
If the parent is still running and you try to get rid of ffmpeg (

Code: Select all

chmod -x /usr/local/medialibrary/bin/ffmpeg
and

Code: Select all

killall -9 ffmpeg
) you see still popping up new ffmpeg-processes in nearly endless manner. All of them have a shell-script as parent and this shell-script's origin is a php-process.

Code: Select all

grep "^PPid:" /proc/<pid>/status"
unveils that there is a:

Code: Select all

/mnt/ext/opt/apache/bin/php -q /share/MD0_DATA/WEb/videsostation/actions/video_convert_loop.php
which is still running although you have disabled videostation in Station Manager.
After killing the php-process the QNAP resettles to silence since more than 4 weeks.

Unbelievable "feature" that QNAP has introduced with the last firmware-upgrade. :-0

Re: How to disable FFMPEG process

Posted: Sat Nov 09, 2013 11:25 pm
by schumaku
pacco wrote:Unbelievable "feature" that QNAP has introduced with the last firmware-upgrade. :-0
Wrong conclusion in this case: QNAP has not installed Video Station on your NAS. Neither with an older nor with any firmware upgrade.

If you don't want Video Station (with it's automatic conversion process required to make all your videos available in a YouTube-like way - without any access rights management) uninstall Video Station from the Application Centre.

Might happen stopping a service does only stop the access to the service - not it's mandatory background jobs.

No need of any shell aerobatics.

Regards,
-Kurt.

Re: How to disable FFMPEG process

Posted: Sun Nov 10, 2013 12:26 am
by pacco
You mean it was me who has enabled/installed the VideoStation? Would be embarassing, wouldn't it? But perhaps true, I cannot remember. At least I only remember that after last upgrade to FIrmware 4.0.2 (14.09.2013) the problem with the never-ending actions on NAS started. I have now uninstalled VideoStation completely. And I read again the description of the VideoStation-application - unfortunately not any pre-warning that enabling might result in week-long actions on the NAS due to converting all available Video/Multimedia to the destined formats. In future I will have to look much more deeper into the details when installing new apps on the NAS. I do not want to end up the same way again.

Re: How to disable FFMPEG process

Posted: Sun Nov 10, 2013 12:35 am
by schumaku
You will see more processing - independent of Video Station - caused by the Media Library scan and thumbnail creation. That's the more commonly reported issue leading to higher load I'm afraid. If you intend using the Photo Station / Music Station / or the coming up Video Station 2 or Pro, log with it's DLNA server -the Media Library is required.

Afraid: No simple (official) way to disable it - QNAP has pushed this to QTS 4.1 following community pressure and customer complaints. Some ideas are around in the forum however.

Re: How to disable FFMPEG process

Posted: Sun Nov 10, 2013 12:50 am
by pacco
Sounds to be stucked between a rock and a hard place. I still have the Photo Station enabled although I regularly access the files by NFS/CIFS. I will check the NAS-actions after next reboot and eventually remove the Photo-Station, too. Thanks for your supportive information.

Re: How to disable FFMPEG process

Posted: Sun Nov 10, 2013 3:06 am
by teracow
.

Re: How to disable FFMPEG process

Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 8:14 pm
by peppebytes
Hi to all,

i fixed ffmpeg at any boot in this way that remove execution right after 60 seconds after boot:

a. scripts building

1. create script dir

Code: Select all

mkdir /share/HDA_DATA/.qpkg/autorun

2. move to script dir

Code: Select all

cd /share/HDA_DATA/.qpkg/autorun

3. create script autorun.sh:

Code: Select all

vi autorun.sh
and insert this:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
/share/HDA_DATA/.qpkg/autorun/ffmpeg-x.sh &
4. save and exit

Code: Select all

:wq!
6. create script ffmpeg-x.sh

Code: Select all

vi ffmpeg-x.sh

and insert this:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
sleep 60
chmod -x /usr/local/medialibrary/bin/ffmpeg
7. save and exit

Code: Select all

:wq!
8. change permission to scripts:

Code: Select all

chmod 744 autorun.sh
	chmod 744 ffmpeg-x.sh

b. enabling auto start in init.d

1. edit qpkg.conf file:

Code: Select all

 vi /etc/config/qpkg.conf

at the end of file add the follow section:

Code: Select all

[autorun]
Name = autorun
Version = 0.1
Author = peppebytes
Date = 2014-03-31
Shell = /share/HDA_DATA/.qpkg/autorun/autorun.sh
Install_Path = /share/HDA_DATA/.qpkg/autorun
QPKG_File = autorun.qpkg
Enable = TRUE
2. save and exit

Code: Select all

:wq!

reboot and enjoy!!

Re: How to disable FFMPEG process

Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 1:08 am
by schumaku
Up front, I'm aware the small NAS were becoming pretty much unresponsive on QTS 4.0.x before.
BunnyBomb wrote:After updating to the most recent firmware beta 4.1.0 a week ago, I cannot get rid of the ffmpeg process. It is taking 100% of my CPU for over an entire week now.
Does it impact the other services heavily?
BunnyBomb wrote:I don't have DLNA or Twonky media server enabled. Basically I've turned off everything that is useful about the QNAP, but the ffmpeg process will not go away.
That much about the (non?)sense going on in this thread - as-is your NAS does not serve any purpose.
BunnyBomb wrote:It just sits there taking 100% of the CPU and if I restart it simply comes back.
And what is the problem when it comes to your NAS operations now?

While the indications you made are good, we still need a crystal ball here ... or at least a shell access.

Re: How to disable FFMPEG process

Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 1:09 am
by schumaku
Up front, I'm aware the small NAS were becoming pretty much unresponsive on QTS 4.0.x before.
BunnyBomb wrote:After updating to the most recent firmware beta 4.1.0 a week ago, I cannot get rid of the ffmpeg process. It is taking 100% of my CPU for over an entire week now.
Does it impact the other services heavily?
BunnyBomb wrote:I don't have DLNA or Twonky media server enabled. Basically I've turned off everything that is useful about the QNAP, but the ffmpeg process will not go away.
That much about the (non?)sense going on in this thread - as-is your NAS does not serve any purpose.
BunnyBomb wrote:It just sits there taking 100% of the CPU and if I restart it simply comes back.
And what is the problem when it comes to your NAS operations now?

While the indications you made are good, we still need a crystal ball here ... or at least a shell access.

Re: How to disable FFMPEG process

Posted: Sun Jul 20, 2014 10:02 pm
by StardustOne
I am having the same issues, although I do have the Multimedia, Photostation, Filestation enabled. But hey, I have it enabled because of the wonderful promises by Qnap that everything on these NAS is so easy and quick.

I do not mind of having background tasks running, yet isn't there a way to make these software updates a bit less CPU hungry? Why can't this silly ffmepg program run with less CPU power? It only creates a few thumbnails and it does a bit of trans coding, right? Who writes such bad software in the first place? Okay, it is open source, yes and sometimes, what does not cost much is not worth much. Or is the people who integrate the software into a NAS software build to blame?

Why can't we get more control over such things? e.g. setting the tasks to run with less priority or restrict their CPU usage? It is about time that Qnap implements features that allows us non-experienced users to control what is going on without having to use putty and to write scripts. I bought Qnap because it is so easy to work with them, seems to be not so easy after all.

Running the 4.1 software on the 2 GHz TS-419P II does run that ffmpeg at 85 to 95% all the time while it is creating thumbnails. Hey, it is a thumbnail, not a 50 GB blu-ray file, can't this be done faster, at least a little bit? It is a turbo NAS after all :).