es1640dc v2 Snapsync problem

asi-at
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 10:38 pm

es1640dc v2 Snapsync problem

Postby asi-at » Wed Jul 04, 2018 11:01 pm

Hi,

I have 2 es1640dc v2 storages and I am trying to do a snapsync between both of them.

The thing is that when I try to add create a host (storage B) on storage A, I always get an error: "Unknown error.(-601016)".

If I do this on the other (Storage B), it adds the storage (host) A, but says it cannot "update database".

Can anybody tell me what is the problem?

My main storage is A, so I want to sync the LUNS from A to B and not the other way around.

The firmware version is ES1640Xdc_20180502-2.0.0.0311 on both storages.

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 3718
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: es1640dc v2 Snapsync problem

Postby storageman » Wed Jul 04, 2018 11:39 pm

What about upgrade to 2.0.0 build 20180605?
"Unknown error.(-601016)" has to be a bug at least error message should be meaningful.

I assume you've followed the manual on Snapsync server?
You have enabled SnapSync Server I presume on both sides?

You could run "snapsyncd status" on the command line.

asi-at
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 10:38 pm

Re: es1640dc v2 Snapsync problem

Postby asi-at » Thu Jul 05, 2018 6:03 pm

Hi,

Thanks for your reply.

I assume you've followed the manual on Snapsync server?

Yes, I tried to follow https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/tutorial/article/remote-replicate-iscsi-lun-and-shared-folder-using-snapsync-on-qnap-enterprise-storage%20this manual, but encountered the errors aforementioned.

You have enabled SnapSync Server I presume on both sides?
You could run "snapsyncd status" on the command line.


Here are the results for the "snapsyncd status" for all the controllers of both storage devices:
Storage 1:
Controller A
admin@1A:~$ snapsyncd status
Success: snapsyncd service is running at port 874.

Controller B
admin@1B:~$ snapsyncd status
Success: snapsyncd service is running at port 874.

Storage 2:
Controller A
admin@2A:~$ snapsyncd status
Success: snapsyncd service is running at port 874.

Controller B
It's offline, i.e., the network is not connected.

Could this be the source, although I am trying to connect to the IP address of controller A?

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 3718
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: es1640dc v2 Snapsync problem

Postby storageman » Thu Jul 05, 2018 6:29 pm

But why is Controller B offline? Is it shutdown? Check the High Availability page. Is it showing active-active?

asi-at
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 10:38 pm

Re: es1640dc v2 Snapsync problem

Postby asi-at » Thu Jul 05, 2018 6:53 pm

Hi,
Check the High Availability page. Is it showing active-active?

Yes it is.

But why is Controller B offline? Is it shutdown?

I believe there is no cable connected. I cannot confirm this right now as I am away from the site. I can only confirm this tomorrow.

But do you believe this might be it?

I can try disable controller B and High availability and see if it works...

Should I walk this path? I am still in a controlled test environment, so all roads are open!

Thanks

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 3718
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: es1640dc v2 Snapsync problem

Postby storageman » Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:15 pm

I assume you didn't update the firmware???
There documentation assumes ports are connected on both controllers on both units. Pools are associated with controllers, so if you not syncing to Controller B pool it may not matter - I don't know.

But surely you have to connect controller B to the network if you want failover on the remote unit.

I would run the Diagnostic Tool and dump the logs for Qnap to investigate and mentioned the weird messages. But they will probably tell to update the firmware first before further diags.

asi-at
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 10:38 pm

Re: es1640dc v2 Snapsync problem [SOLVED]

Postby asi-at » Fri Jul 13, 2018 12:36 am

Hi,

Just a quick update, for future reference.

I'm glad to inform you that the problem is resolved.

It was due to a bad configuration on the network part. The VLAN dedicated do iSCSI was not configured on the switch ports. I discovered this by chance, as I was trying to do a "ping" from the servers and it failed. After it was corrected, I tried adding the remote host again and it worked as expected.

Thanks for your inputs.


Return to “QES Operating System (QNAP Enterprise Storage OS)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest