Recovered RAID1 drives from dead TS453 min: Cannot mount

Discussion on remote replication.
sgordon777
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 2:25 pm

Re: Recovered RAID1 drives from dead TS453 min: Cannot mount

Post by sgordon777 » Thu Jun 23, 2022 3:25 am

Would still like to manually recover the files.. I hooked the drives up to a PC running Linux, installed mdadm and lvm2, and...

1-mdadm has assembled my RAID1 array, and I can see md123-md127 (see below for lsblk output)

2-lvm manager shows my lvm volume on dev/md125
[sudo] password for steve:
WARNING: Unrecognised segment type thick
WARNING: PV /dev/md1 in VG vg1 is using an old PV header, modify the VG to update.
PV VG Fmt Attr PSize PFree
/dev/md1 vg1 lvm2 a-- <3.63t 0
*** Are these warnings anything to be concerned about?

3-I seem to have three volumes: lvdisplay shows 3 volumes (See below for full output):Three volums are:
lv544 : available under /dev/vg1/lv544
tp1 : not available: WHY???
lv1 : not available: WHY???

4- I tried to mount lv544, but Failed????
sudo mount /dev/vg1/lv544 ./mt1
mount: /home/steve/mt1: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/mapper/vg1-lv544, missing codepage or helper program, or other error.

-Are the warnings in the lvm manager any concern?
-Why are the 2nd two LVM volumes "not available"
-Why can't I mount the "available" LVM volume? (

Any help greatly appreaciated



{output of lvdisplay}
steve@XPS-8300-Desktop:~$ sudo lvdisplay
WARNING: Unrecognised segment type thick
WARNING: PV /dev/md1 in VG vg1 is using an old PV header, modify the VG to update.
--- Logical volume ---
LV Path /dev/vg1/lv544
LV Name lv544
VG Name vg1
LV UUID Mr8Ykd-3VeA-I9DI-S17l-S2ew-bj6u-wlnvK2
LV Write Access read/write
LV Creation host, time NASEA7857, 2015-12-18 22:55:40 -0500
LV Status available
# open 0
LV Size 20.00 GiB
Current LE 5120
Segments 1
Allocation inherit
Read ahead sectors 8192
Block device 253:0

--- Logical volume ---
LV Name tp1
VG Name vg1
LV UUID 2AVhgl-GzUQ-J0RU-KuJL-wt00-SroE-mkKZOY
LV Write Access read/write
LV Creation host, time NASEA7857, 2015-12-18 22:55:49 -0500
LV Pool metadata tp1_tmeta
LV Pool data tp1_tdata
LV Status NOT available
LV Size 3.59 TiB
Current LE 942215
Segments 1
Allocation inherit
Read ahead sectors auto

--- Logical volume ---
LV Path /dev/vg1/lv1
LV Name lv1
VG Name vg1
LV UUID BoKAYK-71zH-w3zk-dpoh-JiiS-VfvG-up8d1V
LV Write Access read/write
LV Creation host, time NASEA7857, 2015-12-18 22:55:50 -0500
LV Status NOT available
LV Size 3.59 TiB
Current LE 941959
Segments 1
Allocation inherit
Read ahead sectors 8192




{LSBLK output}

NAME MAJ:MIN RM SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINTS
loop0 7:0 0 4K 1 loop /snap/bare/5
loop1 7:1 0 61.9M 1 loop /snap/core20/1405
loop2 7:2 0 133.2M 1 loop /snap/chromium/2020
loop3 7:3 0 55.5M 1 loop /snap/core18/2409
loop4 7:4 0 155.6M 1 loop /snap/firefox/1232
loop5 7:5 0 162.3M 1 loop /snap/firefox/1443
loop6 7:6 0 220.5M 1 loop /snap/code/99
loop7 7:7 0 254.1M 1 loop /snap/gnome-3-38-2004/106
loop8 7:8 0 113.9M 1 loop /snap/core/13308
loop9 7:9 0 248.8M 1 loop /snap/gnome-3-38-2004/99
loop10 7:10 0 61.9M 1 loop /snap/core20/1518
loop11 7:11 0 81.3M 1 loop /snap/gtk-common-themes/1534
loop12 7:12 0 176.9M 1 loop /snap/krita/64
loop13 7:13 0 260.7M 1 loop /snap/kde-frameworks-5-core18/32
loop14 7:14 0 45.9M 1 loop /snap/snap-store/575
loop15 7:15 0 43.6M 1 loop /snap/snapd/15177
loop16 7:16 0 47M 1 loop /snap/snapd/16010
loop17 7:17 0 284K 1 loop /snap/snapd-desktop-integration/10
loop18 7:18 0 284K 1 loop /snap/snapd-desktop-integration/14
sda 8:0 0 931.5G 0 disk
├─sda1 8:1 0 1M 0 part
├─sda2 8:2 0 513M 0 part /boot/efi
└─sda3 8:3 0 931G 0 part /
sdb 8:16 0 3.6T 0 disk
├─sdb1 8:17 0 517.7M 0 part
│ └─md9 9:9 0 517.6M 0 raid1
├─sdb2 8:18 0 517.7M 0 part
│ └─md256 9:256 0 517.7M 0 raid1
├─sdb3 8:19 0 3.6T 0 part
│ └─md1 9:1 0 3.6T 0 raid1
│ └─vg1-lv544 253:0 0 20G 0 lvm
├─sdb4 8:20 0 517.7M 0 part
│ └─md13 9:13 0 448.1M 0 raid1
└─sdb5 8:21 0 8G 0 part
└─md322 9:322 0 6.9G 0 raid1
sdc 8:32 0 1.8T 0 disk
└─sdc1 8:33 0 1.8T 0 part
sdd 8:48 0 3.6T 0 disk
├─sdd1 8:49 0 517.7M 0 part
│ └─md9 9:9 0 517.6M 0 raid1
├─sdd2 8:50 0 517.7M 0 part
│ └─md256 9:256 0 517.7M 0 raid1
├─sdd3 8:51 0 3.6T 0 part
│ └─md1 9:1 0 3.6T 0 raid1
│ └─vg1-lv544 253:0 0 20G 0 lvm
├─sdd4 8:52 0 517.7M 0 part
│ └─md13 9:13 0 448.1M 0 raid1
└─sdd5 8:53 0 8G 0 part
└─md322 9:322 0 6.9G 0 raid1
sde 8:64 1 0B 0 disk
sdf 8:80 1 0B 0 disk
sdg 8:96 1 0B 0 disk
sdh 8:112 1 0B 0 disk

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 27330
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Recovered RAID1 drives from dead TS453 min: Cannot mount

Post by dolbyman » Thu Jun 23, 2022 4:12 am

there should be a couple raids on each drive

md1 = Data
md9 = Configuration, update
md13 = Web interface engine and other OS extension
md256 = Swap
md321 = Swap


by choosing the recovery without a new QNAP device, you chose the most difficult path, search for the complicated ways to recover your data (plenty of forum threads here)

FSC830
Been there, done that
Posts: 631
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 1:11 am

Re: Recovered RAID1 drives from dead TS453 min: Cannot mount

Post by FSC830 » Thu Jun 23, 2022 4:57 am

See also here: viewtopic.php?f=15&p=821153#p821148.

Regards
A raid is never a substitute for backup! Never!

sgordon777
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 2:25 pm

Re: Recovered RAID1 drives from dead TS453 min: Cannot mount

Post by sgordon777 » Thu Jun 23, 2022 5:29 am

Right... I'm by no means an IT expert, but it seems what QNAP has done here is using an LVM with some proprietary "special sauce" making it impossible for regular users like myself to recover their data. I'm sure their motivation here is "lock in" and making money, but this scheme makes their equipment LESS reliable than an ad-hoc network made from an old computer using the stock filesystems without this LVM trash, and this practice should be illlegal IMO.

That, in addition to using junk processors which randomly break down.

so hopefully you could understand my hesitency to give this evil, company another cent of my money, but in the end I'll probably do that.
Last edited by sgordon777 on Thu Jun 23, 2022 5:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

sgordon777
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 2:25 pm

Re: Recovered RAID1 drives from dead TS453 min: Cannot mount

Post by sgordon777 » Sat Jun 25, 2022 5:22 am

So, against my better jusdgement, I forked out $600 and bough a new one, which was suppodadly "migratable" with the TS453 mini...

booted it up, then tells me the volume is corrupted, has a red "Error" status, so guess I'm Fcked and my data is lost. The drives are themselves in perfect shape, not a single error in SMART tests.

Sorry, but using the POS fragile "LVM" which are apparently super-easy to corrupt is just idiotic and relying on them stupid @#$#$^%$#$@#$@#$

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 27330
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Recovered RAID1 drives from dead TS453 min: Cannot mount

Post by dolbyman » Sat Jun 25, 2022 5:36 am

What unit did you buy ?

Swearing around will not help at all

sgordon777
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 2:25 pm

Re: Recovered RAID1 drives from dead TS453 min: Cannot mount

Post by sgordon777 » Sat Jun 25, 2022 6:01 am

TS-453D-4G

I tried both drives together and each separateliy, same results (drives detect and show up as healthy, but volume/Pool both show "Error" in red :(

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 27330
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Recovered RAID1 drives from dead TS453 min: Cannot mount

Post by dolbyman » Sat Jun 25, 2022 6:03 am

Is the raid actually getting mounted ?

Code: Select all

cat /proc/mdstat

Code: Select all

md_checker

sgordon777
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 2:25 pm

Re: Recovered RAID1 drives from dead TS453 min: Cannot mount

Post by sgordon777 » Sat Jun 25, 2022 8:09 am

Ok, I think I may have made a big mistake in doing the migration... Here's what happened:

1-I bought the new NAS + 2 new 4TB drives. I have two 4TB drives from the old system.

2-At first, I plugged only the two old drives in slots 1&2. I'm pretty sure I saw the old system come up, but I didn't back up then... (in hindsight, I should have ,kicking myself now)

3-Next, I took the two old 4TB drives out and put the two new 4TB drives in slots 1&2, and proceeded to format the two new drives with the new system, gave the system a new network name.

4-Next, I inserted the two old drives in slots 3&4(keeping the new drives in slots 1&2, hoping to do an in-system copy... Nothing happened, so I shut down the system. **This is where I think things went terribly wrong**

5-Next, I took all the drives out and put the old drives back into slots 1&2, hopeing I could be at step#2. But I find that now the new "system" (new network name and GUI, OS) has got put onto the old drives!!!!!!!, probabaly in step#4, which is probably why the lvm isnt mounting

So I think in step#2, I should have backed up the data from one of my networked PCs :( :( :(

Am I screwed? Is there any way to recover the LVM from the old drives when the new system got copied to them?

sgordon777
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 2:25 pm

Re: Recovered RAID1 drives from dead TS453 min: Cannot mount

Post by sgordon777 » Sat Jun 25, 2022 8:12 am

Here's the info you requested above:

[steve_admin@NAS7771 ~]$
[steve_admin@NAS7771 ~]$ cat /proc/mdstat
Personalities : [linear] [raid0] [raid1] [raid10] [raid6] [raid5] [raid4] [multipath]
md322 : active raid1 sdb5[1] sda5[0]
7235136 blocks super 1.0 [2/2] [UU]
bitmap: 0/1 pages [0KB], 65536KB chunk

md256 : active raid1 sdb2[1] sda2[0]
530112 blocks super 1.0 [2/2] [UU]
bitmap: 0/1 pages [0KB], 65536KB chunk

md13 : active raid1 sda4[129] sdb4[128]
458880 blocks super 1.0 [128/2] [U_U_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________]
bitmap: 1/1 pages [4KB], 65536KB chunk

md9 : active raid1 sda1[129] sdb1[128]
530048 blocks super 1.0 [128/2] [U_U_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________]
bitmap: 1/1 pages [4KB], 65536KB chunk

unused devices: <none>
[steve_admin@NAS7771 ~]$ sudo md_checker

We trust you have received the usual lecture from the local System
Administrator. It usually boils down to these three things:

#1) Respect the privacy of others.
#2) Think before you type.
#3) With great power comes great responsibility.

Password:

Welcome to MD superblock checker (v2.0) - have a nice day~

Scanning system...


RAID metadata found!
UUID: 0f780a2a:b06428f4:2b5d0700:def9bbce
Level: raid1
Devices: 2
Name: md1
Chunk Size: -
md Version: 1.0
Creation Time: Dec 18 16:55:39 2015
Status: OFFLINE
===============================================================================================
Enclosure | Port | Block Dev Name | # | Status | Last Update Time | Events | Array State
===============================================================================================
NAS_HOST 1 /dev/sda3 0 Active Jun 24 01:45:34 2022 6993195 AA
NAS_HOST 2 /dev/sdb3 1 Active Jun 24 01:45:34 2022 6993195 AA
===============================================================================================

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 27330
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Recovered RAID1 drives from dead TS453 min: Cannot mount

Post by dolbyman » Sat Jun 25, 2022 9:22 am

try

Code: Select all

mdadm --assemble --scan
did you upgrade the NAS diskless to the latest firmware first?(before inserting the drives)

sgordon777
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 2:25 pm

Re: Recovered RAID1 drives from dead TS453 min: Cannot mount

Post by sgordon777 » Sat Jun 25, 2022 9:35 am

I've now tried this configuration


slot1: new 4TB 1 -new_pool
slot2: new 4TB 2 -new_pool
slot3: old 4TB 1 -drive detected, want to re-assemble old pool
slot4: old 4TB 2 -drive detected, want to re-assemble old pool

This configuration detects the new pool and volumes on the new drives in slots 1&2, it also detectes the old drives in 3&4, but isn't re-assembling the old pool... **Is there a way I can tell the system (prefarrably through the GUI) to re-assemble the pool on drives in slots 3&4?

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 27330
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Recovered RAID1 drives from dead TS453 min: Cannot mount

Post by dolbyman » Sat Jun 25, 2022 10:22 am

you cannot do a migration with new drives..only with the old drives

best to open a ticket now

sgordon777
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 2:25 pm

Re: Recovered RAID1 drives from dead TS453 min: Cannot mount

Post by sgordon777 » Sat Jun 25, 2022 11:29 am

The computer gods have given me sone mercy finally.... Found a backup I'd forgotten about from 2021 :DD

sgordon777
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 2:25 pm

Re: Recovered RAID1 drives from dead TS453 min: Cannot mount

Post by sgordon777 » Sat Jun 25, 2022 8:49 pm

Thanks to everybody who helped, esp. dolbyman, I appreciate your patience. I don't do this IT stuff much but I've learned quite a bit from the ordeal, mostly to make regular backups

Post Reply

Return to “Remote Replication/ Disaster Recovery”