Tertiary site replication possible?

Discussion on remote replication.
sbarrett847
New here

Tertiary site replication possible?

Post by sbarrett847 »

I'm completely new to QNAP and I'm looking to see if Tertiary site replication is possible? I'll try to explain what I need to do.

I will have 3 remote site NASs (5tb each) that I'll need to replicate back to a HQ site NAS (30-35TB) Real-time replication is desirable but scheduled replication will do. I'm pretty sure QNAP will do this without issue.

However I then also need to replicate the HQ NAS to an Identical 35TB NAS off-site. Can QNAP support this?

Also what is the best replication method for this? I gather there are a few, each with their own quirks.
sbarrett847
New here

Re: Tertiary site replication possible?

Post by sbarrett847 »

Should have mentioned the models I'm looking at above.

3x QNAP TVS-863+ (8GB RAM) ( 4 x 4TB WD RED PRO + 2 x 525GB MX300 SSD and
2x QNAP TS-1263U-4G 72TB (12 x 6TB WD RED PRO) 12 Bay Rack with 4GB RAM
OneCD
Guru

Post by OneCD »

Hi and welcome to the forum. :)
sbarrett847 wrote:I will have 3 remote site NASs (5tb each) that I'll need to replicate back to a HQ site NAS (30-35TB) Real-time replication is desirable but scheduled replication will do. I'm pretty sure QNAP will do this without issue.

However I then also need to replicate the HQ NAS to an Identical 35TB NAS off-site. Can QNAP support this?
Yes, this is all possible.
sbarrett847 wrote:Also what is the best replication method for this? I gather there are a few, each with their own quirks.
Umm ... that question is a problem - the sort that leads to arguments over the 'best' method. :DD

To get you started, I suggest you navigate through the QTS Control Panel and find the Backup Station app, and checkout a backup method called RTRR. It seems to be the one QNAP is putting the most effort into and it's quite flexible.

Good luck! :geek: