Qnap to remote Synology sync

Discussion on remote replication.
mdelrossi
Starting out

Qnap to remote Synology sync

Post by mdelrossi »

Hello,
I hope I'm posting in the correct forum, otherwise moderators please move.

I'm a photographer with a lot of images as well as business and personal business documents. I'd like to have both devices have the same info on them.

I have a Synology 1813+ that I was planning on using as a backup at a remote location.
I've already been able to set up remote sync jobs via Hybrid Backup Sync, on the local LAN with both the 672xt and the 1813+ on the same network in the same room to start the sync process.

The 672XT will be at location A, and the 1813+ will live at location B, 3 hours away.

Now, I have a PPTP VPN setup on location A router, and the client on location B router. it works fine for my current uses.

The questions I have are:

1) Should I upgrade the VPN tp open VPN or IPSec? for security

2) Should I setup a VPN on the 672XT?

3) How can I see the 672XT on the network from location B so I can sync? I have google chrome remote desktop setup so I can control the 672XT when I'm at location B.

4) Should I sell the Synology and get another Qnap? if so which one (4 bay at least)?

5) Should i just forget it and carry hard drives back and forth?

Thanks in advance for all your help
TVS-672XT 4.4.0.0931 RAID 5 Static volume 4X Iron Wolf Seagate 10TB
Don
Guru

Re: Qnap to remote Synology sync

Post by Don »

1) - Yes. PPTP is not secure as it has been compromised.

2) - Best to set up the VPN between routers.

3) - Both locations should be on different subnets. When the VPN is established between sites the routers will will take care of everything.

4) - Up to you. If the Synology is meeting your space and performance needs then why replace it.

5) - I wouldn't want to, do you?
Use the forum search feature before posting.