[1.5TB Samsung HD154UI EcoGreen] Will they work?

Printers, HDDs, USB/eSATA drives, 3rd-party programs
cafc04
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 3:57 am

[1.5TB Samsung HD154UI EcoGreen] Will they work?

Post by cafc04 » Thu Jul 23, 2009 4:29 pm

Hi,

I am thinking of purchasing 4x 1.5TB Samsung HD154UI EcoGreen's for my TS-409 Pro Turbo. These drives are not on the capability list (hardly any Samsung drives are) and am obviously sceptical about buying these drives. But on the off chance, has anyone has had any luck with these? They are cheap, normally for a reason i agree; but at £79 each for 1.5TB they are a bargin, the kind of bargin that is too hard to just ignore.

Any advice from the guys at Qnap or from Qnap owners would be appreciated.

Thanks for the help.

Marco69
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:42 am

Re: [1.5TB Samsung HD154UI EcoGreen] Will they work?

Post by Marco69 » Mon Jul 27, 2009 6:34 pm

Working in TS-119 Fw 3.1 without any problems.

User avatar
KL643
Experience counts
Posts: 2027
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:21 pm
Location: @40000ft

Re: [1.5TB Samsung HD154UI EcoGreen] Will they work?

Post by KL643 » Mon Jul 27, 2009 7:20 pm

Running 4 of these drives in my TS-439 and they just run fine and stay cool.
The solution to the most difficult "problem" is usually very simple.

Qnap support

Before asking questions

Fatbloke
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 1:25 pm

Re: [1.5TB Samsung HD154UI EcoGreen] Will they work?

Post by Fatbloke » Wed Jul 29, 2009 1:28 pm

Ah - great news, I've got three of these on order for my 409.
Popped into here to see if my gamble will pay off :)

cafc04
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 3:57 am

Re: [1.5TB Samsung HD154UI EcoGreen] Will they work?

Post by cafc04 » Tue Aug 04, 2009 2:19 am

Thanks for your replies thus far. If anyone has more info please feel free to add.

Fatbloke
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 1:25 pm

Re: [1.5TB Samsung HD154UI EcoGreen] Will they work?

Post by Fatbloke » Tue Aug 04, 2009 1:19 pm

Well, my 3 x 1.5 Samsungs are happily working away now. It took over 2 days to copy the 1.7Tb of data over to the server (all via networks too).

The system them sat 'synchronising' (whatever that was doing) for another day.

Finally it's all settled down.

Here's the stats for my three 1.5Tb drives (formatted size - 1397.26 GB!)

RAID 5 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3
Total capacity - 2748.52 GB

System temperature 50°C/122°F
HDD 1 temperature 31°C/87°F
HDD 2 temperature 31°C/87°F
HDD 3 temperature 31°C/87°F
HDD 4 temperature --°C/--°F

System Up Time
5 Day 9 Hour 11 Minute(s)

It's sitting in a cupboard, so doesn't get the best of ventilation - but it keeps the noise down.

kasperll
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 6:35 pm

Re: [1.5TB Samsung HD154UI EcoGreen] Will they work?

Post by kasperll » Tue Aug 25, 2009 3:38 am

Would this disk also work in a TS-109? I've looked in the compatibility list and it is not mentioned there, bit other 1.5 B disks are so I was wondering if this could work?

Thanks

kasperll
QNAP 109

zipler
Know my way around
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 5:15 am

Re: [1.5TB Samsung HD154UI EcoGreen] Will they work?

Post by zipler » Tue Sep 01, 2009 10:54 am

kasperll wrote:Would this disk also work in a TS-109? I've looked in the compatibility list and it is not mentioned there, bit other 1.5 B disks are so I was wondering if this could work?

Thanks

kasperll



Actually, I would expect the 1.5 or 2.0TB disks (any of them) to work almost flawlessly in a TS-109.

The problems I have heard about the EcoGreen disks all relate to the Raid setups since they have a tendancy to drop out of Raid Sets and have to be rebuilt. Since your not running RAID, this wont be a problem.

User avatar
spoon.uk
Been there, done that
Posts: 992
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: London, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [1.5TB Samsung HD154UI EcoGreen] Will they work?

Post by spoon.uk » Wed Sep 02, 2009 11:54 pm

Anyone with TS-509 can confirm known issues with HD154UI HDDs?

clx
Starting out
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 4:59 pm

Re: [1.5TB Samsung HD154UI EcoGreen] Will they work?

Post by clx » Thu Sep 03, 2009 5:13 pm

I would be interested to know if these drives run ok in a 509

User avatar
spoon.uk
Been there, done that
Posts: 992
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: London, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [1.5TB Samsung HD154UI EcoGreen] Will they work?

Post by spoon.uk » Thu Sep 03, 2009 7:45 pm

My experience so far:

http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=18599

Looks like 3TB of data is gone....

JohnVK
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 5:14 am

Re: [1.5TB Samsung HD154UI EcoGreen] Will they work?

Post by JohnVK » Thu Sep 03, 2009 8:07 pm

Hmm... that's pretty bad luck there, spoon.uk :( I'm sorry to see you're having problems.

On that note, I wouldn't recommend using any brand / type of Green or Eco drive for RAID setups. It's simply not what they were designed for. I have 4 WD20EADS 2TB Green disks in my TS-409 and that's fine because I'm only using it for simple data storage atm. 2 disks are configured as single disks and 2 disks configured as a Linear disk Volume, that way I have 2TB + 2TB + 4TB (which is what I needed). But if I ever decide to go RAID I will most definitely buy some heavy duty enterprise level disks!

Regards
John

User avatar
spoon.uk
Been there, done that
Posts: 992
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: London, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [1.5TB Samsung HD154UI EcoGreen] Will they work?

Post by spoon.uk » Thu Sep 03, 2009 8:47 pm

Well it would make sense to buy heavy duty RAID class HDDs if QNAP was supporting hardware RAID. As its software one doesn't make much sense... Drive can kick out of your RAID array at any time, I'd 4 of them going nuts at the same time so deffo not the HDDs fault but RAID itself.

Either way its 3TB of data down the drain, had backups of important stuff ~1TB so only my HD movies, and TV series are gone, these can be re-downloaded in ~2 months time.

One thing to notice here is that I've tried to swap the drives one at time then rebuilt, then next one etc. Now sure how my NAS would have behaved if I was going to start from scratch formatting as EXT4....

It was all fine even with 5 drives in the array until I've decided to get the extra space coming from swapping 750s with 1.5TB ones... That when it all went wrong...

soomrox
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 10:25 pm

Re: [1.5TB Samsung HD154UI EcoGreen] Will they work?

Post by soomrox » Sat Sep 05, 2009 12:21 am

Anyone else had a problem using the 1.5TB Samsung HD154UI EcoGreen drives in a RAID 5 Configuration. I have just bought a Qnap TS-439 Pro with 4 of these drives. Any tips before I install them???

User avatar
lentzit
Been there, done that
Posts: 516
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 7:32 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: [1.5TB Samsung HD154UI EcoGreen] Will they work?

Post by lentzit » Sat Sep 05, 2009 5:29 am

i would not go there...almost any drive above 1TB has some issue, not only on qnap devices! Finally its of course your final decission.

DON'T GET GREEDY ;-)
-TVS-663/16GB QTS 4.2 , RAID5
-QGenie QG-103N - Wireless Storage in Classroom Environment
-Services: WEB | Virtual Station | QSYNC | FTP | SSL | Private Cloud | Photo Station
-Using it for my blog (http://blog.lentzit.com)

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware & Software Compatibility”