Shutdown/Sleep Function

Tell us your most wanted features from QNAP products.
Muphin
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 6:23 am

Shutdown/Sleep Function

Postby Muphin » Tue May 22, 2018 8:29 am

My QNAP 251+ is used solely for watching movies.
It would be a nice to be able to put the NAS into hibernate/Sleep mode or shutdown after watching a movie within the "Video Station" or "HD Player" apps.
This a function that is sorely missing.

Currently the user must have Qfinder open on their computer to hibernate/Sleep mode or shutdown the NAS.

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 5887
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: Shutdown/Sleep Function

Postby Moogle Stiltzkin » Tue May 22, 2018 8:53 am

well.... you can already do spindown/sleep hdd after x amount of time of no activity.

doesn't have to be app specific, if the end result is the same? actually it's probably better since it's universal for all activity on the NAS.


the other alternative is a power scheduling option. you can schedule when to boot up your nas, and when to shutdown based on the time of the day.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 Samsung 850 Evo raid1 cache acceleration read only
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung EcoGreen F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-659 Pro
[Backup] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-228
[Backup] QNAP TS-128 w. 1x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS)

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100mbps dl/50mbps ul FTTH Internet | Windows 10 Enterprise, Water Cooled PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides and articles by me
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review
[Megathread] Qnap Frequently asked questions V2, click to read here

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

Muphin
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 6:23 am

Re: Shutdown/Sleep Function

Postby Muphin » Wed May 23, 2018 3:12 am

Moogle Stiltzkin .. Thank you for your reply.

I have set the power schedule but would still like to see a hibernate/Sleep mode or shutdown within the "Video Station" or "HD Player" apps.

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 5887
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: Shutdown/Sleep Function

Postby Moogle Stiltzkin » Wed May 23, 2018 3:35 am

you'll have to send a request to help desk :}

https://helpdesk.qnap.com/
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 Samsung 850 Evo raid1 cache acceleration read only
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung EcoGreen F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-659 Pro
[Backup] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-228
[Backup] QNAP TS-128 w. 1x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS)

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100mbps dl/50mbps ul FTTH Internet | Windows 10 Enterprise, Water Cooled PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides and articles by me
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review
[Megathread] Qnap Frequently asked questions V2, click to read here

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

laped
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2018 12:27 am

Re: Shutdown/Sleep Function

Postby laped » Thu Jun 07, 2018 12:33 am

I was looking for similar feature on my TS251+. Yes we do already have a standby/spindown feature but I cant find a sleep feature except the one in "Power Schedule". The spindown only reduces from 18 to 10 watts where the sleep is <1 watt. So it would be nice with something like spindown after 20 mins and sleep after 2 hours of inactivity. I can create a bash script myself to do this if I can find the command to enter S3 sleep mode.

dolbyman
Ask me anything
Posts: 9066
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Shutdown/Sleep Function

Postby dolbyman » Thu Jun 07, 2018 1:10 am

modern nas do so much in the background ...a real sleep would never be achieved

most people can't even get the hdd spindown to kick in

laped
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2018 12:27 am

Re: Shutdown/Sleep Function

Postby laped » Thu Jun 07, 2018 1:37 am

dolbyman wrote:modern nas do so much in the background ...a real sleep would never be achieved

most people can't even get the hdd spindown to kick in


Maybe but I have disabled all that junk. I just want a pure file server. Never understood the 1 million Q***** apps.

User avatar
skypx
Know my way around
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 4:44 pm

Re: Shutdown/Sleep Function

Postby skypx » Thu Jun 07, 2018 6:09 am

I set my NAS to sleep everyday @11pm works well.

sleep mode.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
TVS-871 i7 16GB Ram
Firmware 4.3.4.0597 Build 20180528
8x HGST HUH721212ALN600 LEGNT3D0 RAID 5
QNAP Network LAN-10G2T-X550T2
Netgear XS708Ev2

laped
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2018 12:27 am

Re: Shutdown/Sleep Function

Postby laped » Fri Jun 08, 2018 3:26 am

Created a bash script that is started in a cronjob that puts the NAS into S3 sleep if no LAN traffic has occurred within the last hour. From my PI's and other PC devices I just send a WoL packet when I need to access the NAS.

Not sure if I'm allowed to post the code here, but feel free to contact me if you want it :)

Nevermind here is the script. I created a small installation instruction in the top

https://bitbucket.org/laped83/coding/src/master/sleeper.sh

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43508
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: Shutdown/Sleep Function

Postby schumaku » Tue Jun 12, 2018 11:35 pm

laped wrote:Created a bash script that is started in a cronjob that puts the NAS into S3 sleep if no LAN traffic has occurred within the last hour. From my PI's and other PC devices I just send a WoL packet when I need to access the NAS.
QNAP has good reasons for no longer supporting S3 sleep on their newer NAS models.

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 5887
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: Shutdown/Sleep Function

Postby Moogle Stiltzkin » Wed Jun 13, 2018 6:37 am

schumaku wrote:QNAP has good reasons for no longer supporting S3 sleep on their newer NAS models.


this? Image
https://news.hitb.org/content/new-attac ... sleep-mode
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 Samsung 850 Evo raid1 cache acceleration read only
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung EcoGreen F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-659 Pro
[Backup] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-228
[Backup] QNAP TS-128 w. 1x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS)

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100mbps dl/50mbps ul FTTH Internet | Windows 10 Enterprise, Water Cooled PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides and articles by me
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review
[Megathread] Qnap Frequently asked questions V2, click to read here

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

mhndel
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 11:59 am

Re: Shutdown/Sleep Function

Postby mhndel » Wed Jul 11, 2018 5:07 pm

laped wrote:Created a bash script that is started in a cronjob that puts the NAS into S3 sleep if no LAN traffic has occurred within the last hour. From my PI's and other PC devices I just send a WoL packet when I need to access the NAS.

Not sure if I'm allowed to post the code here, but feel free to contact me if you want it :)

Nevermind here is the script. I created a small installation instruction in the top

https://bitbucket.org/laped83/coding/src/master/sleeper.sh


hi laped, how can I implement this to my nas ? I plan on acquiring a 453bmini this week.

can you confirm that when active, your code will put my nas(or any) in S3 sleep mode where not only the drives but even the fan would be turned off, and only enough power (a watt or less) is maintained in order to keep the cashed memory afloat?

thanks

laped
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2018 12:27 am

Re: Shutdown/Sleep Function

Postby laped » Fri Jul 20, 2018 1:08 am

The script I created puts the NAS into sleep mode, which turns of the drives and also the FAN. Afterwards the only way to wake it up is to send wake-on-lan package to its MAC address or pressing the power button on the NAS.

The script will monitor for network traffic and if none has occurred within 3600 seconds the drive will be put into sleep and use like <1 Watt instead of ~15 watts. This script will only work if the NAS is used as a pure network share. Many of the NAS services will create network traffic and then the script doesn't work. But for me it fulfills my needs. The guide in the top of the code should be enough to get you started if you have some *NIX experience.

mhndel wrote:
laped wrote:Created a bash script that is started in a cronjob that puts the NAS into S3 sleep if no LAN traffic has occurred within the last hour. From my PI's and other PC devices I just send a WoL packet when I need to access the NAS.

Not sure if I'm allowed to post the code here, but feel free to contact me if you want it :)

Nevermind here is the script. I created a small installation instruction in the top

https://bitbucket.org/laped83/coding/src/master/sleeper.sh


hi laped, how can I implement this to my nas ? I plan on acquiring a 453bmini this week.

can you confirm that when active, your code will put my nas(or any) in S3 sleep mode where not only the drives but even the fan would be turned off, and only enough power (a watt or less) is maintained in order to keep the cashed memory afloat?

thanks


Return to “Features Wanted”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests