multiple VLANs on one NIC (trunking)

Tell us your most wanted features from QNAP products.
auroch
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2019 8:19 pm

Re: multiple VLANs on one NIC (trunking)

Post by auroch » Thu Mar 07, 2019 8:34 pm

When i bought my QNAP, i thought it was an enterprise class NAS, now i see that fails with things like it.
This is a MUST. It'll come some day?

guner
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 11:59 pm

Re: multiple VLANs on one NIC (trunking)

Post by guner » Mon Jul 01, 2019 12:14 am

The Problem is similar to synology, but there exist a solution im forum and for qnap it shouuld be the same:

https://joffer.blogspot.com/2014/06/how ... ap_26.html

My opinion: If it possible use freenas. You have to invest more money, because you need freebsd compatible hardware, but for the use in a business enviroment you should have some coins more.

Hardware vendor: miniserver.it, sysgen.de, thomas-krenn.de, ixsystems.com, with prior testing HP Microserver (very cheap)

ZipTX
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 1:35 am

Re: multiple VLANs on one NIC (trunking)

Post by ZipTX » Tue Jul 09, 2019 10:47 pm

+1 ... pretty critical feature especially to leverage a 10G card

eguitton
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:46 am
Location: Bordeaux, FRANCE

Re: multiple VLANs on one NIC (trunking)

Post by eguitton » Fri Jul 12, 2019 6:33 am

I join the others on that feature, highly awaited ! After being able to do LACP with NICs, the next immediate thing I would try to setup would be multiple vlans, either at the cisco way (trunk 802.1Q all), or the HP vania (Untag (access port) default vlan + multiple tagged (802.1q) vlans).
When I first saw I couldn't get this ability, was quite shocked :/
Just a random Data & Network tech guy.

heronimus
Starting out
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 7:08 pm

Re: multiple VLANs on one NIC (trunking)

Post by heronimus » Sun Jul 14, 2019 1:47 am

I was searching for options to configure VLAN in the virtual switch... Then i found this thread... what a disappointment, it isn't there at all. I hope QNAP will include a more advanced VLAN in their roadmap.

ccolotti
Starting out
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 5:26 am

Re: multiple VLANs on one NIC (trunking)

Post by ccolotti » Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:25 am

Still amazed this is not in QTS...this is networking 101...not sure why QNAP is ignoring this feature need.

casw1000
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 8:46 pm

Re: multiple VLANs on one NIC (trunking)

Post by casw1000 » Sun Aug 18, 2019 5:55 am

+1 on this feature. I setup virtualization station on two of my 3 qnaps, having installed dual 10Gb interfaces then spending hours on thinking what I was doing wrong. Alas, trunking is not supported. Seriously QNAP, I love your hadware / QTS, but please, implement this feature into QTS and make the true power of the vQTS and Virtualization realised. Thanks.

zipler
Know my way around
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 5:15 am

Re: multiple VLANs on one NIC (trunking)

Post by zipler » Tue Sep 03, 2019 10:03 pm

Any update on when this will be implemented?

I just got an email (advertisement) for a new QXG-10G2T-107. 10Gb nics without vlan trunking is mostly a waste.

P3R
Guru
Posts: 10888
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: multiple VLANs on one NIC (trunking)

Post by P3R » Wed Sep 04, 2019 3:39 am

zipler wrote:
Tue Sep 03, 2019 10:03 pm
10Gb nics without vlan trunking is mostly a waste.
I don't disagree with the feature request but that's NOT true.
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

Post Reply

Return to “Features Wanted”