Moving from RAID 6 to RAID 5

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
dieseljwt
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 9:38 pm

Moving from RAID 6 to RAID 5

Postby dieseljwt » Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:26 am

Running QTS 4.3.5.0722 on a QNAP TS-563

I see a few posts about moving from 5 to 6, but I've decided I was overly cautious with RAID 6, and would appreciate the extra available storage I'd get by using only 1 parity drive.

Because I'm running a VM on it as well as a NAS, the only way I can see to re-do the underlying RAID is to

1) export VM
2) backup what's on the NAS
3) reconfigure RAID (basically blows everything away)
4)import VM and restore NAS contents

Yes? No? Thoughts? Suggestions?

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 10149
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Moving from RAID 6 to RAID 5

Postby dolbyman » Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:38 am

pretty much .. there is no other way to go from raid6 to raid5, than starting from scratch

dieseljwt
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 9:38 pm

Re: Moving from RAID 6 to RAID 5

Postby dieseljwt » Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:46 am

Sigh...figured as much. Thanks...I suppose :roll: :wink:


Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ndabar and 5 guests