QNAP TS-859 "File system is not clean" taking long time

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
vorgdev
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 6:17 am

QNAP TS-859 "File system is not clean" taking long time

Postby vorgdev » Wed Jul 02, 2014 6:26 am

Can someone help with this issue?

I have a TS-859 with 8 x 2TB Drives in a RAID 6 configuration.
Firmware: 4.0.7
Yesterday I couldn't connect to my QNAP via network drive, so I logged onto the QNAP through the web browser.
It showed up a warning "File system is not clean" go to storage manager and run check file system.....

So I did this and it's been 14 hours and it still showing 0.0% completed...
I've logged in with Chrome and Firefox and are both showing the same thing, it's like the whole unit has hung.

Any suggestions, or do I just reboot the QNAP.

User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22582
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: QNAP TS-859 "File system is not clean" taking long time

Postby pwilson » Wed Jul 02, 2014 8:24 am

vorgdev wrote:Can someone help with this issue?

I have a TS-859 with 8 x 2TB Drives in a RAID 6 configuration.
Firmware: 4.0.7
Yesterday I couldn't connect to my QNAP via network drive, so I logged onto the QNAP through the web browser.
It showed up a warning "File system is not clean" go to storage manager and run check file system.....

So I did this and it's been 14 hours and it still showing 0.0% completed...
I've logged in with Chrome and Firefox and are both showing the same thing, it's like the whole unit has hung.

Any suggestions, or do I just reboot the QNAP.


Pretty hard to provide useful answers with so little useful information provided. What Make/Model of drives are you using?

With 10.8TB in your array, it will take a long time. I am a little concerned that only 0.0% is completed. This however is also incomplete information to share. Where are you seeing the statistic?

You can check progress by logging into your NAS via SSH, and typing the following command:

Code: Select all

cat /proc/mdstat


You should see output similar to the following:

Code: Select all

[~] # cat /proc/mdstat
Personalities : [linear] [raid0] [raid1] [raid10] [raid6] [raid5] [raid4]
md4 : active raid1 sdd2[2] sdc2[3](S) sdb2[0]
530048 blocks [2/1] [U_]
[===========>.........] recovery = 58.4% (310528/530048) finish=0.4min speed=8872K/sec

md9 : active raid1 sdb1[0] sdd1[2] sdc1[1]
530048 blocks [4/3] [UUU_]

unused devices: <none>


You can re-run this command as often as desired to see how it is actually going.
If you need help interpreting the output, please simply cut&paste the output of this command back to this message thread so we can help further.

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.

vorgdev
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 6:17 am

Re: QNAP TS-859 "File system is not clean" taking long time

Postby vorgdev » Wed Jul 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Hi Patrick,

Thank you for your reply, I have rebooted the QNAP and it has come back up, but it still giving me a warning about "File system is not clean".

The stats are showing in the web browser console of the QNAP, I log onto my QNAP from the web browser,
then go to "Storage Manager" then under "Current Configuration Logical Volumes" it shows the Raid 6 Volume.
I select the button "Check File System" then it shows the 0.0% with a spinning circle.

I have 7 x 2TB Seagate ST32000542AS CC34
and 1 x 2TB Seagate ST2000DM001-1CH1CC26

Could the 1 different drive be causing the issues?

Regards
Terry

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43596
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: QNAP TS-859 "File system is not clean" taking long time

Postby schumaku » Wed Jul 02, 2014 11:32 pm

Update to QTS 4.1.0 Build 0612 or newer first...

vorgdev
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 6:17 am

Re: QNAP TS-859 "File system is not clean" taking long time

Postby vorgdev » Sat Jul 05, 2014 11:47 am

Hi Patrick,

Thank you, I've upgraded the firmware to 4.1.0, this seems to have fixed the issues, it's been 2 days now, and I haven't had the warning message come up.

Thank you

bhwong
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 10:46 am

Re: QNAP TS-859 "File system is not clean" taking long time

Postby bhwong » Wed Sep 07, 2016 5:02 pm

I have the same problem. File system check has been running for almost 30 hours and the percentage is still 0.0%. The option to stop is not available as well.

Below is what I get when executing the suggested command: cat /proc/mdstat

Personalities : [linear] [raid0] [raid1] [raid10] [raid6] [raid5] [raid4] [multipath]
md0 : active raid6 sda3[0] sdh3[7] sdg3[6] sdf3[5] sde3[4] sdd3[3] sdc3[2] sdb3[1]
17572185216 blocks super 1.0 level 6, 64k chunk, algorithm 2 [8/8] [UUUUUUUU]

md8 : active raid1 sdg2[7](S) sdf2[6](S) sde2[5](S) sdd2[4](S) sdc2[3](S) sdb2[2] sda2[0]
530128 blocks super 1.0 [2/2] [UU]

md13 : active raid1 sda4[0] sdd4[5] sde4[6] sdf4[7] sdg4[8] sdh4[9] sdc4[4] sdb4[3]
458880 blocks super 1.0 [8/8] [UUUUUUUU]
bitmap: 0/8 pages [0KB], 32KB chunk

md9 : active raid1 sda1[0] sdh1[14] sdg1[13] sdf1[12] sde1[11] sdd1[10] sdc1[9] sdb1[8]
530112 blocks super 1.0 [8/8] [UUUUUUUU]
bitmap: 0/9 pages [0KB], 32KB chunk

unused devices: <none>


Any suggestion?

User avatar
MrVideo
Experience counts
Posts: 4475
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: QNAP TS-859 "File system is not clean" taking long time

Postby MrVideo » Thu Sep 08, 2016 2:44 am

What firmware version and build date?
QTS 4.1.n/4.2.n/4.3.n MANUAL
Submit QNAP Support Ticket - QNAP Tutorials, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki - Product Support Status - Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2
When you ask a question, please include the following
(Thanks to Toxic17 for the links)
QNAP md_checker nasreport (release 20180525)
===============================
Model: TS-869L -- RAM: 3G -- FW: QTS 4.1.4 Build 20150522 (used for data storage)
WD60EFRX-68L0BN1(x1)/68MYMN1(x7) Red HDDs -- RAID6: 8x6TB -- Cold spare: 1x6TB
Entware
===============================
Model: TS-451A -- RAM: 2G -- FW: QTS 4.2.3 Build 20170213 (used as a video server)
WL3000GSA6472(x3) White label NAS HDDs -- RAID5: 3x3TB
Entware -- MyKodi 17.3 (default is Kodi 16)
===============================
My 2017 Total Solar Eclipse Photos

bhwong
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 10:46 am

Re: QNAP TS-859 "File system is not clean" taking long time

Postby bhwong » Thu Sep 08, 2016 9:06 am

Firmware: 4.2.1
Build Date: 2016/06/01

The option to stop the check is gray off. How can I stop the check? Can I reboot or even update the firmware with the check running?

User avatar
MrVideo
Experience counts
Posts: 4475
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: QNAP TS-859 "File system is not clean" taking long time

Postby MrVideo » Thu Sep 08, 2016 11:14 am

No, you can't upgrade the firmware while the check is going on. QNAP has had issues with the firmware not getting everything shut down before attempting the file system check. I do not know when for sure it got fixed.

All I can suggest in logging in via ssh and then running "reboot".
QTS 4.1.n/4.2.n/4.3.n MANUAL
Submit QNAP Support Ticket - QNAP Tutorials, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki - Product Support Status - Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2
When you ask a question, please include the following
(Thanks to Toxic17 for the links)
QNAP md_checker nasreport (release 20180525)
===============================
Model: TS-869L -- RAM: 3G -- FW: QTS 4.1.4 Build 20150522 (used for data storage)
WD60EFRX-68L0BN1(x1)/68MYMN1(x7) Red HDDs -- RAID6: 8x6TB -- Cold spare: 1x6TB
Entware
===============================
Model: TS-451A -- RAM: 2G -- FW: QTS 4.2.3 Build 20170213 (used as a video server)
WL3000GSA6472(x3) White label NAS HDDs -- RAID5: 3x3TB
Entware -- MyKodi 17.3 (default is Kodi 16)
===============================
My 2017 Total Solar Eclipse Photos

bhwong
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 10:46 am

Re: QNAP TS-859 "File system is not clean" taking long time

Postby bhwong » Fri Sep 16, 2016 4:41 pm

Thanks for your reply. I have reply you in the other thread where I have already upgrade the firmware and even manually again as suggest by QNAP support but the problem is not resolved yet.

Rishtonite
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 8:14 am

Re: QNAP TS-859 "File system is not clean" taking long time

Postby Rishtonite » Fri Nov 09, 2018 6:33 am

I've just had the same issue with a TS-212P, 2 x 2TB, RAID 1.
Here is a summary of how I resolved it.

Power cut. No UPS so the TS-212P shut down abnormally.
Error message told me to run "Check File System"
I tried several times but it failed after less than 10 mins with the error "cannot unmount disk".
I updated the firmware, but that didn't change much - only a message telling me about an incompatible add-on.
A Google search found thread viewtopic.php?t=111944 which suggested stopping Surveillance Station (Thanks xtcfol for the suggestion!)

I did that and now Check File System appears to run but still shows 0.0% after 24 hours. So I rebooted.
I'm now aware that the Check File System button should have changed to "Stop" once the check was underway.

Another error message suggested that the Media Streaming Add-on was not compatible with the firmware.
I stopped the Media Streaming app.
I ran Check Filing System again.

This time it completed (2 x 2Tb, RAID 1, mirror) in about 55 minutes, but when it reached 100% it continued "checking" for about another 10
minutes before the NAS became available (as shown by the Used and Available memory sizes in the dashboard changing from zero).

It would appear that
a) in my case the power failure caused no errors
b) the Check File System feature will not run with certain apps running or not updated.

Note that I did contact QNAP and at their request sent them screen shots and a zip file of the diagnostics.
They then wanted me to set up remote assistance, but I wasn't happy doing that so persevered on my own and fortunately was successful.

Hope this helps others with similar problems.


Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests