TVS-871 Broken Power Button?

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
pgray007
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 3:16 am

TVS-871 Broken Power Button?

Post by pgray007 » Sun Mar 03, 2019 11:28 am

I have a TVS-871 that's been in service for about 4 years. It generally runs 24/7 and probably hasn't been fully powered off and disconnected in a good year or so. As some point during its life I remember powering the unit all the way off, and then the power button not working to turn it back on. I had that sinking feeling as it appeared the unit was totally dead, walked away for a bit, went to mess with the unit some more, and it powered right back up via the button. I assumed some intelligence on the part of the unit or some sort of failsafe and never thought of it again.

This morning I powered it off to clean up our equipment closet, so full shutdown, unplug, and move of about 8' out of the closet. I did my cleanup, moved the unit back, plugged it back in and... nothing when pressing the power button. No LAN activity lights, no spin of the fans, no nothing. Suspecting a dead power supply I pulled the PS, jumped pins 15 and 16, and the PS worked like a champ. Proper voltages across all rails. Suspecting trouble on the motherboard, I removed/replaced the coin cell battery and reseated the RAM and... nothing.

As a last ditch effort, I "hotwired" the PS by jumpering pins 15 and 16 and reinstalling, assuming this would supply power to the board and rule out a faulty PS, and the unit fired right up as soon as it was plugged in.

This is a bit of a bodge since I've bypassed the ability of the board to control the PS, and power will flow as long as it's plugged in which is not optimal. I took a look down at the power switch and it appeared to be connected directly to the motherboard. At this point in the evening I didn't want to remove the board and mess around further before checking with the intelligent folks here, mainly to find out:

1) Does it sound like the physical power switch is the culprit, or is there more potential that there's a fault on the board somewhere?

2) Any risk to my "hotwire" solution in the short and long terms? This unit generally runs 24/7 and I do have it on a UPS should I need to do a hard cut of the power at some point. I would assume however that in the event of a power failure, the OS will shut down but the unit will stay running until power is cut by the UPS versus the preferred "failure mode" of the unit doing a shutdown until power is restored.

3) Assuming the switch is the problem, how would one replace it? Does this mean a new motherboard? I'm handy with a sodering iron so can likely fix myself since this is out of warranty but didn't want to go ripping the unit apart until I've confirmed that this is an easy'ish fix

4) If I need a whole new motherboard, does QNAP supply these? I haven't seen them online. I'd prefer not to send the whole unit somewhere.

Thanks!

User avatar
rgarjr
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2018 5:47 am
Location: Southern California
Contact:

Re: TVS-871 Broken Power Button?

Post by rgarjr » Sun Mar 03, 2019 1:46 pm

Could be the switch is the problem. You might be able to test it with a multimeter. I don't think QNAP sells mobo's after the warranty is done. Even if they did, it would probably be real expensive and cost hundreds of dollars since its a high end model.

TS-1677x-1700 RAM= 64GB Kingston HyperX Fury 2666MHz || SSD= 4 x 860 EVO 500GB || PSU/FAN= Corsair SF600 | 3 x NF-A9 || Noctua NH-L12 cooler with NF-A12x25 | 6 x NF-A6 || NETWORK= Emulex Dual 10GbE SFP+
TVS-682-i7-6700K RAM= 64GB Kingston HyperX Fury 2666MHz || SSD: 2 x 860 EVO 1TB || FAN= 1 x NF-A8 | 4 x NF-A6 | Noctua NH-L12 cooler with NF-A12x25 || NETWORK= Emulex Dual 10GbE SFP+
TVS-682-i7-7700 RAM= 64GB Kingston HyperX Fury 2666MHz || SSD: 1 x 860 EVO 1TB || FAN= 1 x NF-A8 | 4 x NF-A6 | Noctua NH-L12 cooler with NF-A12x25 || NETWORK= QXG-10G1T
TS-453Be RAM= 16GB Crucial 1600MHz || HDD= 1 x Seagate 2TB || FAN= NF-A12x25 || NETWORK= QXG-10G1T
QSW-1208-8C 10GbE Switch

User avatar
Toxic17
Experience counts
Posts: 4659
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: TVS-871 Broken Power Button?

Post by Toxic17 » Sun Mar 03, 2019 4:59 pm

you would need to contact QNAP directly to see if they can supply a motherboard and what price if this is possible. I know they have done this in the past, but this depends on stock availability too.
Regards Simon

QNAP 4.3.x/4.2.x Manuals

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


MeteoBridge NanoSD • ODROID N2 • FlightAware ProStick Plus
NAS: TVS-463/QM2-2P 4.3.6.0923 • TS-453BT3 4.3.6.0895 • TS-121 4.3.3.0923 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G
QPKG's: TwonkyServer 8.51 • Apache & PHP 7.3.5 • QSonarr 3.0.1.474 • QNBZGet 21.0-r2304 • phpMyAdmin 4.8.5 • Qmono 5.18.0.240 • Lychee 3.2.14
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • UniFi USG Pro 4 • UniFi USW-16-150W • UniFi USW-8-60W • UniFi CloudKey • UAP AC Pro • UAP AC Lite • TL-SG1016DE • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF

pgray007
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 3:16 am

Re: TVS-871 Broken Power Button?

Post by pgray007 » Fri Mar 15, 2019 10:14 am

So it seems it’s a bit worse than a power button. After moving the unit a second time (our floors are being refinished) it won’t post and there’s nothing coming across HDMI. My only thought is bad RAM or motherboard so will try pulling the ram one at a time and see if that helps, otherwise see if QNAP can do anything for me.

pgray007
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 3:16 am

Re: TVS-871 Broken Power Button?

Post by pgray007 » Fri Mar 22, 2019 7:42 am

Apparently it's mobo and/or backplane, and it just so happens there are none in any QNAP warehouses, so their solution is "buy a new unit." I did so in the hopes of getting my data back, but the new TVS-671 won't kick off the migration wizard. Not loving QNAP right now...

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”