Storage Pool free space after pool expansion

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
frank2001
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2019 11:14 pm

Storage Pool free space after pool expansion

Post by frank2001 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 12:38 am

A few days ago I expanded the capacity of the storage pool of my TS-853A, comprised of 5x3TB WD RED hard drives in RAID5, adding a 6th disk. The pool expansion operation went fine (it took about 18 hrs). and the pool capacity is now 13,6 TB. After that, I expanded the Volume to the max. capacity available. I ended up with:

- New Pool Capacity: 13,6 TB (Allocated 13,5 TB)
- Volume: 94,28% - 12,82 TB
- Snapshot guaranteed space: 5% - 696,26 GB
- Unallocated: 0,72% - 100,04 GB
Screenshot_2019-10-08 QNAP-TS-853A.png


From the Storage Pool Graph
Screenshot_2019-10-08 QNAP-TS-853A(1).png
you can see the Free Space is 0,1 TB and the subscription is 99,3%, not 100%

I tried again to expand the volume capacity but I always ended up with 100,04 GB of unallocated space and I'm not able to add that free space of the pool to the volume.
I'm not sure whether there was some unallocated space in the pool prior to the expansion, but if so surely it was no near to 100 GB otherwise I would have noticed it.
I wonder why I'm not able to reclaim this free space for the volume. Is it something to do with the snapshots?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
TS-853A - RAM:4 GB - FW: QTS 4.4.1.1081 - RAID 5: 6 x 3TB WD RED - Single Thick Volume

User avatar
MrVideo
Experience counts
Posts: 4654
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: Storage Pool free space after pool expansion

Post by MrVideo » Wed Oct 09, 2019 10:25 am

While I do not know about your deal with the 100GB, I do have to ask why you are running a 6 drive RAID5? You are asking for trouble. I hope you are doing constant backups. If a drive fails and you lose another drive during the rebuild, your data is toast.
QTS 4.1.n/4.2.n/4.3.n MANUAL
Submit QNAP Support Ticket - QNAP Tutorials, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki - Product Support Status - Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2
When you ask a question, please include the following
(Thanks to Toxic17 for the links)
QNAP md_checker nasreport (release 20180525)
===============================
Model: TS-869L -- RAM: 3G -- FW: QTS 4.1.4 Build 20150522 (used for data storage)
WD60EFRX-68L0BN1(x1)/68MYMN1(x7) Red HDDs -- RAID6: 8x6TB -- Cold spare: 1x6TB
Entware
===============================
Model: TS-451A -- RAM: 2G -- FW: QTS 4.2.3 Build 20170213 (used as a video server)
WL3000GSA6472(x3) White label NAS HDDs -- RAID5: 3x3TB
Entware -- MyKodi 17.3 (default is Kodi 16)
===============================
My 2017 Total Solar Eclipse Photos

frank2001
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2019 11:14 pm

Re: Storage Pool free space after pool expansion

Post by frank2001 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 4:27 pm

MrVideo wrote:
Wed Oct 09, 2019 10:25 am
While I do not know about your deal with the 100GB, I do have to ask why you are running a 6 drive RAID5? You are asking for trouble. I hope you are doing constant backups. If a drive fails and you lose another drive during the rebuild, your data is toast.
Merely for max. storage capacity. I started out with 4 disks and overtime added 2 more. How many disks would you suggest as maximun for a RAID 5?
TS-853A - RAM:4 GB - FW: QTS 4.4.1.1081 - RAID 5: 6 x 3TB WD RED - Single Thick Volume

User avatar
MrVideo
Experience counts
Posts: 4654
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: Storage Pool free space after pool expansion

Post by MrVideo » Wed Oct 09, 2019 5:46 pm

Four disks. There are some users here that will put forth that once you get to three disks, to use RAID6. Especially when using the larger capacity drives (=> 6TB).

You've painted yourself into a corner. The only way to go to RAID6 now is to start over, especially if you decide to upgrade the drives to larger ones in the future.
QTS 4.1.n/4.2.n/4.3.n MANUAL
Submit QNAP Support Ticket - QNAP Tutorials, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki - Product Support Status - Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2
When you ask a question, please include the following
(Thanks to Toxic17 for the links)
QNAP md_checker nasreport (release 20180525)
===============================
Model: TS-869L -- RAM: 3G -- FW: QTS 4.1.4 Build 20150522 (used for data storage)
WD60EFRX-68L0BN1(x1)/68MYMN1(x7) Red HDDs -- RAID6: 8x6TB -- Cold spare: 1x6TB
Entware
===============================
Model: TS-451A -- RAM: 2G -- FW: QTS 4.2.3 Build 20170213 (used as a video server)
WL3000GSA6472(x3) White label NAS HDDs -- RAID5: 3x3TB
Entware -- MyKodi 17.3 (default is Kodi 16)
===============================
My 2017 Total Solar Eclipse Photos

frank2001
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2019 11:14 pm

Re: Storage Pool free space after pool expansion

Post by frank2001 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 8:46 pm

MrVideo wrote:
Wed Oct 09, 2019 5:46 pm
You've painted yourself into a corner. The only way to go to RAID6 now is to start over, especially if you decide to upgrade the drives to larger ones in the future.
What do you mean by "start over"? Execute a RAID migration from RAID5 to RAID6?
TS-853A - RAM:4 GB - FW: QTS 4.4.1.1081 - RAID 5: 6 x 3TB WD RED - Single Thick Volume

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14823
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Storage Pool free space after pool expansion

Post by dolbyman » Wed Oct 09, 2019 9:05 pm

you can add an extra drive and convert raid5 to raid6

frank2001
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2019 11:14 pm

Re: Storage Pool free space after pool expansion

Post by frank2001 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 10:33 pm

dolbyman wrote:
Wed Oct 09, 2019 9:05 pm
you can add an extra drive and convert raid5 to raid6
Ok, thanks. That's what I supposed. Of course in that case I would have to ponder whether I would be better off by adding a larger extra drive for the RAID level migration and later on expand the pool replacing the current disks with new larger ones.

As to the original problem of my post, do you have any idea?
TS-853A - RAM:4 GB - FW: QTS 4.4.1.1081 - RAID 5: 6 x 3TB WD RED - Single Thick Volume

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4980
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Storage Pool free space after pool expansion

Post by storageman » Wed Oct 09, 2019 11:36 pm

If you reduced or removed the guaranteed snapshot space you could have expanded the volume to a larger size.
Are you using snapshots, do you need 700GB?

frank2001
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2019 11:14 pm

Re: Storage Pool free space after pool expansion

Post by frank2001 » Thu Oct 10, 2019 12:28 am

Yes I'm using snapshots but I could reduce the guaranteed snapshot space if that would help to reclaim the 100 GB free space for my volume.
Are saying those 100 GB of free space are related to snapshots though not clearly stated in the graph?
TS-853A - RAM:4 GB - FW: QTS 4.4.1.1081 - RAID 5: 6 x 3TB WD RED - Single Thick Volume

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4980
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Storage Pool free space after pool expansion

Post by storageman » Thu Oct 10, 2019 9:54 pm

No saying that and not sure why you can expand with that 100GB.
Thin volume can give issues but yours is thick
Click the down arrow on storage pool to see if it changes,

frank2001
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2019 11:14 pm

Re: Storage Pool free space after pool expansion

Post by frank2001 » Thu Oct 10, 2019 10:09 pm

Just now, I've reduced the guaranteed snapshot space form 696 GB (5%) to 500 GB (3,59%). Then I have expanded the volume to max size gaining 196 GB, exactly the same amount freed from snapshot space. Still I have 100 GB unallocated in storage pool, so this has nothing to do with snapshots management.

Is there someone who has expanded the volume (thick) to max size of storage pool? Do you have some space unallocated?
TS-853A - RAM:4 GB - FW: QTS 4.4.1.1081 - RAID 5: 6 x 3TB WD RED - Single Thick Volume

frank2001
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2019 11:14 pm

Re: Storage Pool free space after pool expansion

Post by frank2001 » Thu Oct 10, 2019 10:13 pm

Oops. Just seen now your reply. If I click the down arrow on storage pool I see no change from before.
TS-853A - RAM:4 GB - FW: QTS 4.4.1.1081 - RAID 5: 6 x 3TB WD RED - Single Thick Volume

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4980
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Storage Pool free space after pool expansion

Post by storageman » Thu Oct 10, 2019 10:48 pm

I presume you have backups.

It's odd, if you try to create another volume with that 100GB does it allow you?

If you know Putty you could try restarting the LVM. It may correct the space issue.
"/etc/init.d/init_lvm.sh"

User avatar
MrVideo
Experience counts
Posts: 4654
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: Storage Pool free space after pool expansion

Post by MrVideo » Fri Oct 11, 2019 3:19 am

frank2001 wrote:
Wed Oct 09, 2019 8:46 pm
What do you mean by "start over"? Execute a RAID migration from RAID5 to RAID6?
For some dumb reason I thought that you had filled your NAS with drives, but you have two slots left. So the suggestion to add another drive and migrate to RAID6 was the correct answer.
QTS 4.1.n/4.2.n/4.3.n MANUAL
Submit QNAP Support Ticket - QNAP Tutorials, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki - Product Support Status - Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2
When you ask a question, please include the following
(Thanks to Toxic17 for the links)
QNAP md_checker nasreport (release 20180525)
===============================
Model: TS-869L -- RAM: 3G -- FW: QTS 4.1.4 Build 20150522 (used for data storage)
WD60EFRX-68L0BN1(x1)/68MYMN1(x7) Red HDDs -- RAID6: 8x6TB -- Cold spare: 1x6TB
Entware
===============================
Model: TS-451A -- RAM: 2G -- FW: QTS 4.2.3 Build 20170213 (used as a video server)
WL3000GSA6472(x3) White label NAS HDDs -- RAID5: 3x3TB
Entware -- MyKodi 17.3 (default is Kodi 16)
===============================
My 2017 Total Solar Eclipse Photos

frank2001
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2019 11:14 pm

Re: Storage Pool free space after pool expansion

Post by frank2001 » Sat Oct 12, 2019 1:12 am

storageman wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 10:48 pm
It's odd, if you try to create another volume with that 100GB does it allow you?
Not a new thick volume. It says there is not enough space.

Instead I managed to create a new 100 GB thin volume.
Screenshot_2019-10-11 QNAP-TS-853A(1).png
For the moment I'll settle with it.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
TS-853A - RAM:4 GB - FW: QTS 4.4.1.1081 - RAID 5: 6 x 3TB WD RED - Single Thick Volume

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”