Adding disk to array failed

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
gperrucci
Starting out
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 6:21 am

Adding disk to array failed

Post by gperrucci » Tue Dec 01, 2020 1:00 am

I just added a fourth identical 4tb disk to a three disk RAID5 on my TS809. It was chugging along slowly and was about half way through to roughly 100 hour process when it failed/stopped. All is said was "Expanding Raid Device Failed. The array byte size remained as it was with three disks but the control panel said there were now four disks in the array. I was able to format it to EXT4 which only took about two minutes and now the byte count is correct for the number of disks.

I already have a separate four disk RAID5 array on this system using the same model drives so I know it is a supported config. However, is going to be a problem for the new array? Would you trust the array? Are there any tests I should perform?
Thanks,
Greg

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 21310
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Adding disk to array failed

Post by dolbyman » Tue Dec 01, 2020 1:12 am

not sure why you open a new thread, keep it in your current one

did you check if there was any issues with the other member drives ?

if you want to avoid any issues, do not fondle with command line stuff (ext4 format), use the GUI tools only

gperrucci
Starting out
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 6:21 am

Re: Adding disk to array failed

Post by gperrucci » Tue Dec 01, 2020 1:50 am

I checked the file system before attempting to add the disk. Everything done in the GUI.

Noticed that when I hover over the Volume 1 icon in File Station, it only reports the new disk 4 but with the full capacity. BTW, it shows 11129 GB size while Volume 2 shows Drive 5 6 7 8 and 11085 GB capacity. They are all identical disks.

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 21310
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Adding disk to array failed

Post by dolbyman » Tue Dec 01, 2020 2:03 am

a screenshot would help to elaborate

gperrucci
Starting out
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 6:21 am

Re: Adding disk to array failed

Post by gperrucci » Tue Dec 01, 2020 2:10 am

The top half shows the correct data for the volume 1. The bottom half shows only the new disk, Previously, it showed Drive 1 2 3 before adding 4
disk.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 21310
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Adding disk to array failed

Post by dolbyman » Tue Dec 01, 2020 2:28 am

both are shared folder windows, I was talking about the volume/pool overview (I don't have a CAT1 HAL device, so I can't give you a demo screenshot of how it should look like)

gperrucci
Starting out
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 6:21 am

Re: Adding disk to array failed

Post by gperrucci » Tue Dec 01, 2020 2:41 am

Volume Management window shows it correctly. RAID 5 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4 - EXT4 file system - 11129.12 Total Size - Ready Status

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 21310
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Adding disk to array failed

Post by dolbyman » Tue Dec 01, 2020 2:43 am

it should show 2 volumes then

1: 1234
2: 5678

gperrucci
Starting out
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 6:21 am

Re: Adding disk to array failed

Post by gperrucci » Tue Dec 01, 2020 2:55 am

Yes, it does. Both show correctly in the Volume Manager tool. Aside from the peculiar RAID config error, the only anomaly is the photo I posted above. My questions still remain; would you trust this array and are there any other tools to test it?

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 21310
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Adding disk to array failed

Post by dolbyman » Tue Dec 01, 2020 3:20 am

should be ok, if you want to check SSH in and do:

Code: Select all

cat /proc/mdstat
to see the status of all software RAIDs

gperrucci
Starting out
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 6:21 am

Re: Adding disk to array failed

Post by gperrucci » Tue Dec 01, 2020 4:55 am

It looks correct but the disk IDs look odd. Both show the right disk device IDs but their numbering differs between md0 and md1

[~] # cat /proc/mdstat
Personalities : [linear] [raid0] [raid1] [raid10] [raid6] [raid5] [raid4] [multipath]
md0 : active raid5 sda3[0] sdd3[3] sdc3[2] sdb3[1]
11716348608 blocks super 1.0 level 5, 64k chunk, algorithm 2 [4/4] [UUUU]

md1 : active raid5 sdh3[4] sdg3[3] sdf3[2] sde3[1]
11716348608 blocks super 1.0 level 5, 64k chunk, algorithm 2 [4/4] [UUUU]

md8 : active raid1 sdh2[8](S) sdg2[7](S) sdf2[6](S) sde2[5](S) sdd2[4](S) sdc2[3](S) sdb2[2] sda2[0]
530128 blocks super 1.0 [2/2] [UU]

md13 : active raid1 sde4[0] sdd4[7] sda4[6] sdf4[5] sdg4[4] sdh4[3] sdc4[2] sdb4[1]
458880 blocks [8/8] [UUUUUUUU]
bitmap: 0/57 pages [0KB], 4KB chunk

md9 : active raid1 sde1[0] sdd1[7] sda1[6] sdh1[5] sdf1[4] sdg1[3] sdc1[2] sdb1[1]
530048 blocks [8/8] [UUUUUUUU]
bitmap: 4/65 pages [16KB], 4KB chunk

unused devices: <none>
[~] #

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”