Raid Data Volume issues "Check File System"

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
jverdin
Starting out
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:18 pm

Raid Data Volume issues "Check File System"

Post by jverdin »

Good Afternoon, Experienced a power outage and the Data / Volume /Lun is showing unmounted after reboot..

Web interface shows unmounted but the ssh session shows already mounted and I cannot perform a File System check. Any help would be appreciated.

Code: Select all

[~] # ls /share/MD0_DATA
BerryBoot2/    Horizon Stuff/ Morrison/      VMWare/        iSCSIimages/
Compass Stuff/ Jesse Stuff/   Multimedia/    Web/           lost+found/
Download/      Microsoft/     Public/        aquota.user
[~] # mount /dev/md0 /share/MD0_DATA
mount: /dev/md0 already mounted or /share/MD0_DATA busy
mount: according to mtab, /dev/md0 is already mounted on /share/MD0_DATA
[~] # mount
/proc on /proc type proc (rw)
none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
tmpfs on /tmp type tmpfs (rw,size=64M)
tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
tmpfs on /share type tmpfs (rw,size=16M)
none on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
/dev/sda4 on /mnt/ext type ext3 (rw)
/dev/md9 on /mnt/HDA_ROOT type ext3 (rw,data=ordered)
/dev/md0 on /share/MD0_DATA type ext4 (rw,usrjquota=aquota.user,jqfmt=vfsv0,user_xattr,data=ordered,nodelalloc,noacl)
tmpfs on /mnt/rf/nd type tmpfs (rw,size=1m)
none on /sys/kernel/config type configfs (rw)
tmpfs on /var/syslog_maildir type tmpfs (rw,size=8M)
/dev/sds2 on /share/external/sds2 type ufsd (rw,iocharset=utf8,dmask=0000,fmask=0111,force)
nfsd on /proc/fs/nfsd type nfsd (rw)
Last edited by jverdin on Mon Dec 05, 2022 7:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
FSC830
Experience counts
Posts: 2043
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 1:11 am

Re: Raid Data Volume issues "Check File System"

Post by FSC830 »

For better readability please put such outputs in code tags (</>).
Try, if a

Code: Select all

ps -ef | grep -i md0
shows any process accessing the raid.
If so, kill this process, the PID is seen in the output.

Regards

Edit: a simple umount commands provides which output?
jverdin
Starting out
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:18 pm

Re: Raid Data Volume issues "Check File System"

Post by jverdin »

Sorry about that, thanks for replying.

Also, Failed to activate Metadata for thin storage pool 1

Code: Select all

 [~] # ps -ef | grep -i md0
 3440 admin           SW  [md0_raid5]
 3469 admin           SW  [jbd2/md0-8]
 6227 admin     14460 S   /usr/local/medialibrary/bin/mytranscodesvr -u -debug -db /share/MD0_DATA
15232 admin     13416 S   python /share/MD0_DATA/.qpkg/CloudBackupSync/backup/bin/daemonmgr.pyc CGId start
15305 admin     20440 S   python /share/MD0_DATA/.qpkg/CloudBackupSync/sync/bin/daemonmgr.pyc CGId start
15358 admin     14900 S   python /share/MD0_DATA/.qpkg/CloudBackupSync/bin/daemonmgr.pyc Routerd start
22842 admin       536 S   grep -i md0    

Code: Select all

[~] # umount /dev/md0
umount: /share/MD0_DATA: device is busy
umount: /share/MD0_DATA: device is busy
FSC830
Experience counts
Posts: 2043
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 1:11 am

Re: Raid Data Volume issues "Check File System"

Post by FSC830 »

Kill all the processes accessing MD0_Data.
Except the last, this is the ps -ef command.
Then try to run the filesystem check again.

If GUI cant run tbe filesystem check for any reason, try per CLI.
But I need to lookup the commands first, give me some minutes...

Regards

Edit: Try

Code: Select all

sudo e2fsck_64 -fp -C 0 /dev/md0
, if it will work afterwards.
But: You do all at your own risk! Dont blame me, if anything goes wrong! A backup is available?
jverdin
Starting out
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:18 pm

Re: Raid Data Volume issues "Check File System"

Post by jverdin »

Yes, I have 3 back ups, but this is my new QNAP NAS and want it to come back up online.

Code: Select all

[~] # e2fsck_64 -fp -C 0 /dev/md0
/dev/md0 is mounted.
e2fsck: Cannot continue, aborting.
User avatar
OneCD
Guru
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: Raid Data Volume issues "Check File System"

Post by OneCD »

You must unmount it before you can perform the fsck:

Code: Select all

umount /dev/md0

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
jverdin
Starting out
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:18 pm

Re: Raid Data Volume issues "Check File System"

Post by jverdin »

Thanks for your help.. I'm getting closer.
This process keeps on starting back up... any suggestions.
Still can't run check file system and it tells me to unmount the volume before running your command.

Code: Select all

[~] # umount /dev/md0
umount: /share/MD0_DATA: device is busy
umount: /share/MD0_DATA: device is busy

Code: Select all

16671 admin     14468 S   /usr/local/medialibrary/bin/mytranscodesvr -u -debug -db /share/MD0_DATA
FSC830
Experience counts
Posts: 2043
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 1:11 am

Re: Raid Data Volume issues "Check File System"

Post by FSC830 »

No, not really. I dont use this f*****ing multimedia stuff from QNAP.
Stopping/disabling multimedia library in GUI is not possible I guess?

Then best option is may be to create a support ticket.

Regards
jverdin
Starting out
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:18 pm

Re: Raid Data Volume issues "Check File System"

Post by jverdin »

How do I keep this process from running?

Code: Select all

17616 admin     14468 S   /usr/local/medialibrary/bin/[b]mytranscodesvr[/b] -u -debug -db /share/MD0_DATA
jverdin
Starting out
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:18 pm

Re: Raid Data Volume issues "Check File System"

Post by jverdin »

Thanks FSC830, totally understand, I will uninstall all the multimedia apps and perform a NAS reset without losing data.
jverdin
Starting out
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:18 pm

Re: Raid Data Volume issues "Check File System"

Post by jverdin »

I performed a reset of the NAS but now my /dev/md0 is missing. Any help would be appreciated. I can see the following..

Code: Select all

[~] # ls /share/
Amcrest@         Elements@  HDC_DATA/  HDG_DATA/  HDK_DATA/  HDO_DATA/  HDS_DATA/  HDW_DATA/  homes@          Microsoft@   QVRProAppData@    VMWare@
BerryBoot2@      external/  HDD_DATA/  HDH_DATA/  HDL_DATA/  HDP_DATA/  HDT_DATA/  HDX_DATA/  Horizon Stuff@  Morrison@    QVRProAutoSnap@
CACHEDEV1_DATA/  HDA_DATA/  HDE_DATA/  HDI_DATA/  HDM_DATA/  HDQ_DATA/  HDU_DATA/  HDY_DATA/  iSCSIimages@    Multimedia@  QVRProDB@
Compass Stuff@   HDB_DATA/  HDF_DATA/  HDJ_DATA/  HDN_DATA/  HDR_DATA/  HDV_DATA/  HDZ_DATA/  Jesse Stuff@    Public@      QVRProRecording@
Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”