Unable to recreate Storage-pool

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
njube
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2023 9:01 pm

Unable to recreate Storage-pool

Post by njube » Tue Jan 24, 2023 10:41 pm

Hi,

I am new here. I have been managing QNAP NASes for a while, and usually I just read a little in the forum to be able to solve it (thanks everyone that are contributing!).
This time I am not able to find what more I need to do.

Problem:
I have a 6-bay NAS with one disk for operating system and three disks in RAID5 for data. The data is not important in this case.
I was getting problems after deleting an iSCSI with mapped LUN and recreate a new one. It just sat there at 0.0%

After some testing and waiting, I deleted the whole Storage-pool.
But I could not recreate it. It just says:
"There was an unexpected error occurred. Checking disk status failed"

***
I then used SSH:

Code: Select all

cd /etc/config
cp raid.conf raid_old.conf
vi raid.conf
Deleted the RAID Group 2 section [RAID_2]
Saved the file
***

Then md_checker to get the name of the disks:

***

Code: Select all

[~] # md_checker

Welcome to MD superblock checker (v1.4) - have a nice day~

Scanning system...

HAL firmware detected!
Scanning Enclosure 0...

RAID metadata found!
UUID:           c9747f88:3fec5c03:cacc26b3:fd3e312a
Level:          raid1
Devices:        2
Name:           md1
Chunk Size:     -
md Version:     1.0
Creation Time:  Jan 5 16:15:48 2018
Status:         ONLINE (md1) [_U]
===============================================================================
 Disk | Device | # | Status |   Last Update Time   | Events | Array State
===============================================================================
 --------------  0  Missing   -------------------------------------------
   2  /dev/sda3  1   Active   Jan 24 13:38:57 2023 10925029   .A                
===============================================================================


RAID metadata found!
UUID:           9a1e38e7:6a4c9ab1:1a4262cc:c6966d8c
Level:          raid5
Devices:        3
Name:           md2
Chunk Size:     64K
md Version:     1.0
Creation Time:  Apr 12 19:49:08 2018
Status:         OFFLINE
===============================================================================
 Disk | Device | # | Status |   Last Update Time   | Events | Array State
===============================================================================
   4  /dev/sdb3  0   Active   Jan 24 11:37:06 2023       21   AAA               
   5  /dev/sdc3  1   Active   Jan 24 11:37:06 2023       21   AAA               
   6  /dev/sdd3  2   Active   Jan 24 11:37:06 2023       21   AAA               
===============================================================================
***
Then I deleted the superblocks:

Code: Select all

mdadm --zero-superblock /dev/sdb3
mdadm --zero-superblock /dev/sdc3
mdadm --zero-superblock /dev/sdd3
***
Restarted the NAS
***

Then I thought that would be it, but it still says:
"There was an unexpected error occurred. Checking disk status failed"
Is there another config file or something more that has to be done?
Last edited by dolbyman on Tue Jan 24, 2023 10:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 30483
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Unable to recreate Storage-pool

Post by dolbyman » Tue Jan 24, 2023 10:51 pm

Why is md1 a broken raid1?

Unless you kick md9 and md13 out from the other disks, a dedicated system disk is not working as you think it might (and for the system volume..always go RAID1 or higher)

maybe best to start that NAS from scratch

just use 4 spinning disks

njube
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2023 9:01 pm

Re: Unable to recreate Storage-pool

Post by njube » Wed Jan 25, 2023 4:17 am

Yes, I know that the system disk on degraded RAID1 is not ideal. I will fix that one someday.. But that should not be the problem here though?

The reason I am not starting it from scratch is that it is at another location, on a network without DHCP, that I neither can add DHCP to. So, I think that it would be hard to start from scratch at the moment, since it will be left with no IP-address?

It feels though that I am close, sicne I have seen others with similar problems that have solved it with the things I have done. One more thing that I saw was to clear parts of the disks. Would that help?

njube
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2023 9:01 pm

Re: Unable to recreate Storage-pool

Post by njube » Wed Jan 25, 2023 7:28 am

Now I have also cleared parts of the disks with these commands:

Code: Select all

dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdb bs=512 count=2
HDSIZE=$( awk '$4 == "sdb" {print $3}' </proc/partitions )
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdb bs=512 count=1 seek=$(( $HDSIZE - 16896 ))

dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdc bs=512 count=2
HDSIZE=$( awk '$4 == "sdc" {print $3}' </proc/partitions )
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdc bs=512 count=1 seek=$(( $HDSIZE - 16896 ))

dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdd bs=512 count=2
HDSIZE=$( awk '$4 == "sdd" {print $3}' </proc/partitions )
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdd bs=512 count=1 seek=$(( $HDSIZE - 16896 ))
That made the following change on all the disks (here an example with sdd)
From:

Code: Select all

[~] # /usr/sbin/parted /dev/sdd print
Model: WDC WD40EFRX-68N32N0 (scsi)
Disk /dev/sdd: 4001GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: gpt
Disk Flags:

Number  Start   End     Size    File system     Name     Flags
 1      20.5kB  543MB   543MB   ext3            primary
 2      543MB   1086MB  543MB                   primary
 3      1086MB  3992GB  3991GB                  primary
 4      3992GB  3992GB  543MB   ext3            primary
 5      3992GB  4001GB  8554MB  linux-swap(v1)  primary
To this:

Code: Select all

~] # /usr/sbin/parted /dev/sdd print
Error: /dev/sdd: unrecognised disk label
Model: WDC WD40EFRX-68N32N0 (scsi)
Disk /dev/sdd: 4001GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: unknown
Disk Flags:
So, it seemd there was recognizable data on the disks, that was unrecognizable after.
But, still the same problem. Not possible to create a Storage Pool.

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 30483
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Unable to recreate Storage-pool

Post by dolbyman » Wed Jan 25, 2023 7:34 am

You can remove all volumes and still keep all the settings (including IP address), settings are on non data RAIDs across all disks that are not touched by data partition manipulations

njube
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2023 9:01 pm

Re: Unable to recreate Storage-pool

Post by njube » Wed Jan 25, 2023 7:39 am

dolbyman wrote:
Wed Jan 25, 2023 7:34 am
You can remove all volumes and still keep all the settings (including IP address), settings are on non data RAIDs across all disks that are not touched by data partition manipulations
Ok, how do I do that?

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 30483
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Unable to recreate Storage-pool

Post by dolbyman » Wed Jan 25, 2023 7:41 am


njube
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2023 9:01 pm

Re: Unable to recreate Storage-pool

Post by njube » Wed Jan 25, 2023 8:14 am

Ok, just removing the other Storage Pool as well. I did that now, but the issue remains. Still not possible to create a new storage pool with the 3 large disks. But, it was possible to create a new Storage Pool on the one single small disk. So I am thinking that it might have something to do with the old iSCI with LUN that I had, that some of those settings are still somewhere, blocking the 3 disks from making anything new on them?

njube
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2023 9:01 pm

Re: Unable to recreate Storage-pool

Post by njube » Wed Jan 25, 2023 5:31 pm

Found a config file with the name iscsi_trgt.conf. In that file, there was a row that had the name of my LUN that was stuck at 0.0%. I did a backup of the file, and removed that section, but still the same problem. This was tricky.

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”