[HELP] TS-409Pro and Seagate ST31500341AS CC1H Problem

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
andreas99999
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 3:54 am

[HELP] TS-409Pro and Seagate ST31500341AS CC1H Problem

Post by andreas99999 » Fri Feb 13, 2009 4:21 am

Hy,

first I would like to say thank you guys from QNAP as your products are quite cool, I really love to play around with my brand new TS-409 Pro. Unfortunately I ran into problems with my setup and I cant figure out if the problem lies within the TS-409 Pro or my HDDs. My Setup:

TS-409 Pro (Firmware 2.1.2 Build 1112T)
HDD 1-4: Seagate ST31500341AS CC1H (1,5 TB)
Log. Volumes: RAID 1 for HDD 1+2, RAID 1 for HDD 3+4
no USB Devices

My Problem:
It happened twice that a drive plugged out and the Volume went to degraded mode. This happened once to HDD3 and once to HDD4 ("Drive 4 plugged out.")
After a shutdown and restart of the TS-409 Pro the affected HDD was found again and the volume was rebuild, taking a couple of hours.

edit: I read much about the problems with Seagate 1,5 TB HDDs with SDxx Firmware, but as Seagate states the freezing problem should not occur with the CCxx Firmware.

SMART says everything is OK at all 4 HDDs, I did short and long tests, everything without any error.

Can you give me a hint what to do, please?
Thank you very much,
Andreas

ntrits
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 5:21 am

Re: [HELP] TS-409Pro and Seagate ST31500341AS CC1H Problem

Post by ntrits » Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:50 pm

I have the same proplem.

TS-409 Pro (Firmware 2.1.2 Build 1112T)
HDD 1-4: Seagate Seagate ST31000333AS SD1B (1TB) (Upgraded firmware)
1 Volume: RAID 5 for HDD 1+2+3+4
no USB Devices

My Problem:
It happened 3-4 times that a drive plugged out and the Volume went to degraded mode. This happened once to HDD1 and HDD4 ("Drive 1 plugged out.")
After a shutdown and restart of the TS-409 Pro the affected HDD was found again and the volume was rebuild, taking a couple of hours.

Any asnewer?

kentli
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 8:17 am

Re: [HELP] TS-409Pro and Seagate ST31500341AS CC1H Problem

Post by kentli » Wed Mar 25, 2009 3:53 pm

I have same situation too at my config of TS-409 Turbo too!

User avatar
danjb
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:19 am

Re: [HELP] TS-409Pro and Seagate ST31500341AS CC1H Problem

Post by danjb » Mon Mar 30, 2009 6:37 am

I just had identical symptoms ("Drive 4 plugged out" followed by recovery and rebuild after shutdown/restart) with the same drives on a TS-439 Pro after running for about a week with no other problems. I run SMART tests nightly and no problems were reported prior to the failure.

TS-439 Pro Firmware version: 2.1.1 Build 0122T

Four identical Seagate 1.5TB drives in RAID-5 configuration, reporting this status info:

Code: Select all

Hard disk model - Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
Model number - ST31500341AS
Serial number - V91S15MA
Disk capacity - 1397.27 GB
Firmware version - CC1H
ATA version - ATA-8
ATA standard - Not recognized. Minor revision code: 0x29

- Dan
- Dan

Scratch2k
Starting out
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 6:51 pm

Re: [HELP] TS-409Pro and Seagate ST31500341AS CC1H Problem

Post by Scratch2k » Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:19 am

I am having this exact same issue with exactly the same hardware, 4xST31500341AS using firmware CC1H and the plug-out error has happened twice in two weeks, once before and once after flashing to the new QNAP firmware (as recommended by QNAP Support).

I'm ready to blame the Seagates, or some sort of incompatibility. I know there is an issue with WD drives and TLER, you need to use a utility to turn it on so WD drives will work best in a RAID environment but I can't find any way to turn it on ERC which is Seagates version of TLER on the Seagate drives.

Anyone?

EDIT: You have to turn TLER/ERC ON for best RAID performance, not off, silly me.

frustin
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:46 am

Re: [HELP] TS-409Pro and Seagate ST31500341AS CC1H Problem

Post by frustin » Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:22 pm

did you flash to CC1H yourself i.e. was it at CC1J before you did that?

andrewchambers
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 5:22 am

Re: [HELP] TS-409Pro and Seagate ST31500341AS CC1H Problem

Post by andrewchambers » Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:07 pm

Im having a similar problem with Samsung HDD's...

Code: Select all

Hard disk model    SAMSUNG HD103UJ 1AA0
Model number    SAMSUNG HD103UJ
Serial number    S13PJDWS503542
Disk capacity    931.51 GB
Firmware version    1AA01113
ATA version    ATA-7 (ATA133)
ATA standard    Not recognized. Minor revision code: 0x52


On occassion the HDD will stop showing up in the list, usually whatever disk is in 3rd HDD. If I shutdown the server, take the HDD out and put it straight back in again, its recognized once more and the server rebuilds the RAID.

Any ideas on how to resolve this?

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”