Page 1 of 1

not able to change network parameters

Posted: Sat Oct 01, 2016 4:29 pm
by kop-95
Hello,

I need to update my DNS parameters on my TS-451 NAS (QTS 4.2.2 build 20160901), and when trying to do it with the "network and virtual switch" window, I cannot change any parameter (but works on all the other windows...).
Tried with Safari, IE, Chrome with no success...

Is there a way to change the network parameters from another way (command line) ?
Tried to change the resolv.conf file, but it seems to be replaced when rebooting.

Thanks

Re: not able to change network parameters

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 4:06 am
by OneCD
Hi kop-95, :)

kop-95 wrote:trying to do it with the "network and virtual switch" window

Not sure where that is. In the QTS control panel, 'System Settings', 'Network', then edit the 'DNS Server' parameters.

If you're willing to risk it and go old-school, you could try editing:

Code: Select all

/etc/config/NetLinks.conf
but I've never edited that file directly, so I don't know effective that will be. But files under '/etc/config' are persistent.

Good luck!

Re: not able to change network parameters

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 6:05 am
by MrVideo
By chance, was the "network and virtual switch" app installed on your NAS? If so, read the following post:
viewtopic.php?f=142&t=126289&p=570671&hilit=network+and+virtual+switch#p570671