Initial Setup Failure

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
P3R
Guru
Posts: 12351
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: Initial Setup Failure

Post by P3R » Mon Jul 10, 2017 4:18 am

Zodiak wrote:What is a LONG reset?
It's the Advanced system reset described on this page in the manual.
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

User avatar
MrVideo
Experience counts
Posts: 4716
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: Initial Setup Failure

Post by MrVideo » Mon Jul 10, 2017 9:10 am

Postings on how to run scripts are on many of the forum threads.

You log into the NAS as admin via ssh (putty if on a M$ box). There is a YouTube video on how to do that.
QTS 4.1.n/4.2.n/4.3.n MANUAL
Submit QNAP Support Ticket - QNAP Tutorials, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki - Product Support Status - Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2
When you ask a question, please include the following
(Thanks to Toxic17 for the links)
QNAP md_checker nasreport (release 20180525)
===============================
Model: TS-869L -- RAM: 3G -- FW: QTS 4.1.4 Build 20150522 (used for data storage)
WD60EFRX-68L0BN1(x1)/68MYMN1(x7) Red HDDs -- RAID6: 8x6TB -- Cold spare: 1x6TB
Entware
===============================
Model: TS-451A -- RAM: 2G -- FW: QTS 4.3.6 Build 20190531 (used as a video server)
WL3000GSA6472(x3) White label NAS HDDs -- RAID5: 3x3TB
Entware -- MyKodi 17.3 (default is Kodi 16)
===============================
My 2017 Total Solar Eclipse Photos

User avatar
MrVideo
Experience counts
Posts: 4716
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: Initial Setup Failure

Post by MrVideo » Mon Jul 10, 2017 9:11 am

Trexx wrote:You could try using LONG reset to do a re-initialize of the NAS which should wipe any partition tables/etc.

I forgot that is supposed to wipe the drives.
QTS 4.1.n/4.2.n/4.3.n MANUAL
Submit QNAP Support Ticket - QNAP Tutorials, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki - Product Support Status - Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2
When you ask a question, please include the following
(Thanks to Toxic17 for the links)
QNAP md_checker nasreport (release 20180525)
===============================
Model: TS-869L -- RAM: 3G -- FW: QTS 4.1.4 Build 20150522 (used for data storage)
WD60EFRX-68L0BN1(x1)/68MYMN1(x7) Red HDDs -- RAID6: 8x6TB -- Cold spare: 1x6TB
Entware
===============================
Model: TS-451A -- RAM: 2G -- FW: QTS 4.3.6 Build 20190531 (used as a video server)
WL3000GSA6472(x3) White label NAS HDDs -- RAID5: 3x3TB
Entware -- MyKodi 17.3 (default is Kodi 16)
===============================
My 2017 Total Solar Eclipse Photos

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 9293
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: Initial Setup Failure

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Mon Jul 10, 2017 9:30 am

MrVideo wrote:You log into the NAS as admin via ssh (putty if on a M$ box). There is a YouTube video on how to do that.


you mean this? (video so many dislikes :shock: i checked what they type in putty commandline, seems harmless enough )

From Youtube.com
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 +16gb ddr4 Crucial+ QWA-AC2600 wireless+QXP PCIE
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TL-D400S 2x 4TB WD Red Nas (WD40EFRX) single disks.
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228
[^] QNAP TS-128
[Mobile NAS] TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Win10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review
https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

User avatar
MrVideo
Experience counts
Posts: 4716
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: Initial Setup Failure

Post by MrVideo » Mon Jul 10, 2017 10:52 am

The old Opera browser I'm using on my new Linux box won't play YouTube videos.

Enter this command to see if you can get a list of the device names:

Code: Select all

cat /proc/mdstat

But, the advanced system reset might be faster.
QTS 4.1.n/4.2.n/4.3.n MANUAL
Submit QNAP Support Ticket - QNAP Tutorials, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki - Product Support Status - Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2
When you ask a question, please include the following
(Thanks to Toxic17 for the links)
QNAP md_checker nasreport (release 20180525)
===============================
Model: TS-869L -- RAM: 3G -- FW: QTS 4.1.4 Build 20150522 (used for data storage)
WD60EFRX-68L0BN1(x1)/68MYMN1(x7) Red HDDs -- RAID6: 8x6TB -- Cold spare: 1x6TB
Entware
===============================
Model: TS-451A -- RAM: 2G -- FW: QTS 4.3.6 Build 20190531 (used as a video server)
WL3000GSA6472(x3) White label NAS HDDs -- RAID5: 3x3TB
Entware -- MyKodi 17.3 (default is Kodi 16)
===============================
My 2017 Total Solar Eclipse Photos

Zodiak
Starting out
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 2:03 am

Re: Initial Setup Failure

Post by Zodiak » Mon Jul 10, 2017 11:04 am

Update

i powered down the sytem overnight and unplugged the power to it. In the morning I took out all 4 SSDs and powered the sytem on. System really did not like this but whatever lol. I then went into storage pools and tried to remove it again.

I don't know if its because I left it unplugged for much longer. I know I had tried doing this for about 10 minutes, and I don't think I had actually taken out the SSDs before, but the QNAP gave in and let me win for a change!

I managed to remove Storage Pool 1, recreate a volume and storage pool on the same SSDs and it's actually letting me create or erase data on the volume.

Hooray!

I felt like i had tried doing this 20 times over last night but I was getting pretty frustrated I admit.

Thank you all to everyone for your help :)

User avatar
MrVideo
Experience counts
Posts: 4716
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: Initial Setup Failure

Post by MrVideo » Mon Jul 10, 2017 7:17 pm

Zodiak wrote:i powered down the sytem overnight and unplugged the power to it. In the morning I took out all 4 SSDs and powered the sytem on. System really did not like this but whatever lol. I then went into storage pools and tried to remove it again.

OK, that is totally wrong. Powering up a NAS without any drives is supposed to be as though you just turned it on for the first time.

I have no idea why your NAS has done what it did.
QTS 4.1.n/4.2.n/4.3.n MANUAL
Submit QNAP Support Ticket - QNAP Tutorials, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki - Product Support Status - Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2
When you ask a question, please include the following
(Thanks to Toxic17 for the links)
QNAP md_checker nasreport (release 20180525)
===============================
Model: TS-869L -- RAM: 3G -- FW: QTS 4.1.4 Build 20150522 (used for data storage)
WD60EFRX-68L0BN1(x1)/68MYMN1(x7) Red HDDs -- RAID6: 8x6TB -- Cold spare: 1x6TB
Entware
===============================
Model: TS-451A -- RAM: 2G -- FW: QTS 4.3.6 Build 20190531 (used as a video server)
WL3000GSA6472(x3) White label NAS HDDs -- RAID5: 3x3TB
Entware -- MyKodi 17.3 (default is Kodi 16)
===============================
My 2017 Total Solar Eclipse Photos

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 9293
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: Initial Setup Failure

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Mon Jul 10, 2017 7:19 pm

just in case you may want to sent your logs to qnap support so they can see what did all this :)
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 +16gb ddr4 Crucial+ QWA-AC2600 wireless+QXP PCIE
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TL-D400S 2x 4TB WD Red Nas (WD40EFRX) single disks.
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228
[^] QNAP TS-128
[Mobile NAS] TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Win10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review
https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

User avatar
storageman
Ask me anything
Posts: 5511
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Initial Setup Failure

Post by storageman » Mon Jul 10, 2017 9:06 pm

MrVideo wrote:
Trexx wrote:You could try using LONG reset to do a re-initialize of the NAS which should wipe any partition tables/etc.

I forgot that is supposed to wipe the drives.


Who said it wipes the drives?
Read the manual, data is preserved.

User avatar
MrVideo
Experience counts
Posts: 4716
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: Initial Setup Failure

Post by MrVideo » Tue Jul 11, 2017 7:14 am

I just went by what Trexx wrote. Still doesn't explain what happened even without drives.
QTS 4.1.n/4.2.n/4.3.n MANUAL
Submit QNAP Support Ticket - QNAP Tutorials, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki - Product Support Status - Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2
When you ask a question, please include the following
(Thanks to Toxic17 for the links)
QNAP md_checker nasreport (release 20180525)
===============================
Model: TS-869L -- RAM: 3G -- FW: QTS 4.1.4 Build 20150522 (used for data storage)
WD60EFRX-68L0BN1(x1)/68MYMN1(x7) Red HDDs -- RAID6: 8x6TB -- Cold spare: 1x6TB
Entware
===============================
Model: TS-451A -- RAM: 2G -- FW: QTS 4.3.6 Build 20190531 (used as a video server)
WL3000GSA6472(x3) White label NAS HDDs -- RAID5: 3x3TB
Entware -- MyKodi 17.3 (default is Kodi 16)
===============================
My 2017 Total Solar Eclipse Photos

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 9293
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: Initial Setup Failure

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Tue Jul 11, 2017 7:31 am

storageman wrote:Who said it wipes the drives?
Read the manual, data is preserved.


General Settings (General)
* Enable configuration reset switch: When this is enabled, you can press the reset
button for 3 seconds to reset the administrator password and the system settings to
default (NAS data will be retained) or 10 seconds for advanced system reset.

Basic system reset: You will hear a beep after pressing and holding the reset button.
The following settings will be reset to default:
* System administration password: admin.
* TCP/IP configuration: Obtain IP address settings automatically via DHCP.
* TCP/IP configuration: Disables Jumbo Frames.
* TCP/IP configuration: If port trunking is enabled, the port trunking mode will be
reset to "Active Backup (Failover)".
130
* System port: 8080 (system service port.)
* Security level: Low (Allows all connections.)
* LCD panel password: (blank); this feature is only for NAS models with LCD panels.
* VLAN will be disabled.
*Service binding: All NAS services will be run on all available network interfaces.

Advanced system reset: You will hear two beeps after continuously pressing the
reset button. The NAS will reset all system settings to default (similar to the system
reset in "Administration" > "Restore to Factory Default") except all the NAS data will
be reserved. Settings such as users, user groups, and shared folders will be cleared.
To retrieve old data after an advanced system reset, create the same shared folders
on the NAS and the data will be accessible again.


:shock:
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 +16gb ddr4 Crucial+ QWA-AC2600 wireless+QXP PCIE
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TL-D400S 2x 4TB WD Red Nas (WD40EFRX) single disks.
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228
[^] QNAP TS-128
[Mobile NAS] TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Win10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review
https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

User avatar
storageman
Ask me anything
Posts: 5511
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Initial Setup Failure

Post by storageman » Tue Jul 11, 2017 3:34 pm

Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:
storageman wrote:Who said it wipes the drives?
Read the manual, data is preserved.


General Settings (General)
* Enable configuration reset switch: When this is enabled, you can press the reset
button for 3 seconds to reset the administrator password and the system settings to
default (NAS data will be retained) or 10 seconds for advanced system reset.

Basic system reset: You will hear a beep after pressing and holding the reset button.
The following settings will be reset to default:
* System administration password: admin.
* TCP/IP configuration: Obtain IP address settings automatically via DHCP.
* TCP/IP configuration: Disables Jumbo Frames.
* TCP/IP configuration: If port trunking is enabled, the port trunking mode will be
reset to "Active Backup (Failover)".
130
* System port: 8080 (system service port.)
* Security level: Low (Allows all connections.)
* LCD panel password: (blank); this feature is only for NAS models with LCD panels.
* VLAN will be disabled.
*Service binding: All NAS services will be run on all available network interfaces.

Advanced system reset: You will hear two beeps after continuously pressing the
reset button. The NAS will reset all system settings to default (similar to the system
reset in "Administration" > "Restore to Factory Default") except all the NAS data will
be reserved. Settings such as users, user groups, and shared folders will be cleared.
To retrieve old data after an advanced system reset, create the same shared folders
on the NAS and the data will be accessible again.


:shock:


Yes but the RG partitions are maintained. Hence the comment it doesn't wipe the drives, not like running DD command or other format.
"...except all the NAS data will be reserved. "

Qnap do not provide a true drive wipe option.

:shock:

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 9293
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: Initial Setup Failure

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Tue Jul 11, 2017 3:42 pm

storageman wrote:Yes but the RG partitions are maintained. Hence the comment it doesn't wipe the drives, not like running DD command or other format.
"...except all the NAS data will be reserved. "

Qnap do not provide a true drive wipe option.

:shock:


i'll add that to faq as a side note :)
viewtopic.php?f=45&t=133965&p=625582#p625582
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 +16gb ddr4 Crucial+ QWA-AC2600 wireless+QXP PCIE
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TL-D400S 2x 4TB WD Red Nas (WD40EFRX) single disks.
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228
[^] QNAP TS-128
[Mobile NAS] TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Win10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review
https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

P3R
Guru
Posts: 12351
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: Initial Setup Failure

Post by P3R » Tue Jul 11, 2017 5:41 pm

storageman wrote:Qnap do not provide a true drive wipe option.
I've never tried it but doesn't System Settings, Backup/Restore Settings, Reinitialize the NAS remove even the partitioning to allow you to start over from scratch?
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

User avatar
storageman
Ask me anything
Posts: 5511
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Initial Setup Failure

Post by storageman » Tue Jul 11, 2017 5:51 pm

I stand corrected.
Assumes you can get here of course.

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”