"Disk Failed", then "Disk Unplugged" errors

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
riawie
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 11:47 pm

Re: "Disk Failed", then "Disk Unplugged" errors

Post by riawie » Fri Apr 12, 2019 11:58 pm

I experience the same problem with Disk 1 on a TS-1273U-RP since about 15 hours and it happens almost hourly on an 6 Disk Raid 6 Pool :-(

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 15253
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: "Disk Failed", then "Disk Unplugged" errors

Post by dolbyman » Sat Apr 13, 2019 12:23 am

did you make sure it's not the disk ? (swap the disk)

riawie
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 11:47 pm

Re: "Disk Failed", then "Disk Unplugged" errors

Post by riawie » Sat Apr 13, 2019 12:52 am

yes

I just ordered a new TS-1273U-RP NAS, which will arrive on tuesday.
If it is here i will install ist, swap all disks and then RMA the faulty one.

I hope it will not affect other disks until then.

This one Disk i now just have physically unplugged.

unfortunately i can not afford to shut down the whole nas until the new one arrives, so i cross my fingers until then ;-)

thefan
Starting out
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:42 pm

Re: "Disk Failed", then "Disk Unplugged" errors

Post by thefan » Mon Apr 22, 2019 12:38 am

Hi people

Hope you can help me out, so i could get my data back. I think my tvs-873 may have the backplane issue. It started with disk 3, and 4 going simultaneously offline. I thought my disk 3 just errors because it gave me io error on disk 3 ONCE. Then i took out that disk, and my raid 6 array started to work again. Then i shut down the nas, and rebooted it a few days later. Then my disk 4 AND 5 stopped working. This is now fixed when i take out my disk4. However i could not get the raid array online again, and i believe i may have broken something myself, or hopefully not.

I was a bit stupid and used putty and logged in the raid, and typed /etc/init.d/init_lvm.sh and now even though md_checker says there are 2 raid arrays i cannot see volumes listed in storage and snapshots.

When i go to disks it shows them in raid groups, but storage/snapshots do not show i have any volumes.

md checker shows the two different md metadata raid volumes. How do i get these two raid volumes online? md checker shows they would be online, but they are not according to storage/snapshots. Actualyli dont think there was any volume created for raid1 group, but is there any command i could try and get the md1 online, that i had made a volume for? I believe i just messed things up with using that init command.

4.3.6.0875 is my version, and im running raid6 with 8hdd, but one errored about a month ago, and i took it out, so i can only handle one more drive malfunction.

RAID metadata found!
UUID: 70556b72:651a6d52:5b0c7484:a917ee9b
Level: raid1
Devices: 2
Name: md2
Chunk Size: -
md Version: 1.0
Creation Time: Dec 19 00:17:03 2017
Status: ONLINE (md2) [UU]
===============================================================================
Disk | Device | # | Status | Last Update Time | Events | Array State
===============================================================================
2 /dev/sda3 0 Active Apr 21 18:11:58 2019 318 AA
1 /dev/sdb3 1 Active Apr 21 18:11:58 2019 318 AA
===============================================================================


RAID metadata found!
UUID: d947e897:121a50d5:9c74626c:6ca71ee8
Level: raid6
Devices: 8
Name: md1
Chunk Size: 512K
md Version: 1.0
Creation Time: Dec 18 22:55:51 2017
Status: OFFLINE
===============================================================================
Disk | Device | # | Status | Last Update Time | Events | Array State
===============================================================================
3 /dev/sdh3 0 Active Apr 21 15:58:12 2019 1263396 AA...AAA
4 /dev/sdg3 1 Active Apr 21 15:58:12 2019 1263396 AA...AAA
-------------- 2 Missing -------------------------------------------
-------------- 3 Missing -------------------------------------------
7 /dev/sdd3 4 Active Apr 21 15:54:37 2019 1263395 AA.AAAAA
8 /dev/sdc3 5 Active Apr 21 15:58:12 2019 1263396 AA...AAA
9 /dev/sdf3 6 Active Apr 21 15:58:12 2019 1263396 AA...AAA
10 /dev/sde3 7 Active Apr 21 15:58:12 2019 1263396 AA...AAA
===============================================================================

I am currently in the process of running data life guard diag for one "faulty" wd red drive, and atleast the quick scan did not show it has any errors. Now i am running extended test. I believe the qnap unit is faulty not the disks, but how can i get the volume online so that i can backup my data?

Strangely enough, even the "faulty" drives if i just insert one drive to the nas work perfectly fine. I think there is some issues with the nas, but i also think i made the problem worse, because i still cannot view my volume and backup my data. Help would be much appreciated . Should have not run /etc/init.d/init_lvm.sh

frankie191
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 04, 2019 10:55 am

Re: "Disk Failed", then "Disk Unplugged" errors

Post by frankie191 » Sat May 04, 2019 11:18 am

kommisar wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 3:02 am
Triforcecwp wrote:
Thu Mar 07, 2019 2:42 am
Contacted Qnap, and my device was out side the warranty period so im SOL, looks like ill have to take it apart and fix it my self, if anyone has any documentation for doing that i would greatly appreciate it. :(

kommisar, you mentioned you had a solution, if you could provide more details that would be fantastic.
Hi,

Indeed there is a fix to the NAS HW which solves the root cause of the issue for good. You will void warranty and there is always a chance to damage your NAS. If you would like to do that anyway, provide your contact information I will sent you instructions (there is no PM on this forum )
Hi can you send me instructions how to fix it ? I have a QNAP 451 droping disk 3 and 4 thank you!

shumr2261
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 11:46 pm

Re: "Disk Failed", then "Disk Unplugged" errors

Post by shumr2261 » Fri May 10, 2019 8:42 am

would be interested in the solution also..

riawie
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 11:47 pm

Re: "Disk Failed", then "Disk Unplugged" errors

Post by riawie » Thu May 16, 2019 2:05 am

My Case as reported in viewtopic.php?p=712328#p712328 was finally resolved by Qnap.

to be fair, not all the Time which it lasts goes on to Qnaps Account.

12. April I opened a Ticket at helpdesk.qnap.com
12. April I also ordered a new identical NAS via Amazon
15. April (which was an Monday) Qnap Helpdesk responded and told me to better first contact my dealer or i have to pay for the ship in by myself
18. April the new ordered TS-1273U-RP arrived, and i replaced the defect one, but as it was about easter Holidays i deciedet that i would not take any further action befor Easter is over.
19. April an automatic helpdesk mail tolt me while absent that they close my Ticket if i would not reply until Sunday Morning
22. April i've seen that automatic mail and sent an mail back that this was not as intended and not helpful while official hollidays
23. April i goot an Answer and Message that the Case was reopened.
23. April i sent in the RMA form waiting for an RMA Number
24. April became the RMA Numberm, packed the NAS without drive Trays (as advised) and call UPS for a pickup
25. April UPS picked up the packet
29. April UPS delivered at Qnap Repair Center
08. May Qnap helpdesk asked me to made an vote how the service was, which i wold not do, as i heard nothing 7 working days since my RMA was delivered at repair Center
08. May i asked at helpdesk what is going on and when i become my NAS back
08. May helpdesk told me repair center has applied for a new unit as an replacement which should bei received in 1 to 2 weeks
15. May i finally received a brandnew Unit with complete accessories and drive trays
15. May I completed the customer satisfaction survey

So in total when i substract one week which goes on my account it lasts 3 and a half week until my cases was fully resolved.
That would have been mostly acceptable when there would have been some more transparancy what is going on at repair Center and if i had not to ask behind them when i would got my NAS back.

In total i can live with the outcome and have put the new NAS as an cold spare to storage space after doing a quick test that it is fine.

I will observe if the socond NAS at some point has the same Problem or if everything is o.k. with that.

But I i coldn't afford to guy me a second NAS it would be a really long time to wait for this solution and i am not sure If i not would have be fine with that...

kommisar
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 4:35 pm

Re: "Disk Failed", then "Disk Unplugged" errors

Post by kommisar » Sun May 19, 2019 5:57 am

frankie191 wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 11:18 am
kommisar wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 3:02 am
Triforcecwp wrote:
Thu Mar 07, 2019 2:42 am
Contacted Qnap, and my device was out side the warranty period so im SOL, looks like ill have to take it apart and fix it my self, if anyone has any documentation for doing that i would greatly appreciate it. :(

kommisar, you mentioned you had a solution, if you could provide more details that would be fantastic.
Hi,

Indeed there is a fix to the NAS HW which solves the root cause of the issue for good. You will void warranty and there is always a chance to damage your NAS. If you would like to do that anyway, provide your contact information I will sent you instructions (there is no PM on this forum )
Hi can you send me instructions how to fix it ? I have a QNAP 451 droping disk 3 and 4 thank you!
Hi, the fix in the subject is for x73 family of QNAP NASes. As far as I remember the issue on the x51 family can be fixed with FW update. Please read this thread from the beginning.

kommisar
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 4:35 pm

Re: "Disk Failed", then "Disk Unplugged" errors

Post by kommisar » Sun May 19, 2019 6:13 am

shumr2261 wrote:
Fri May 10, 2019 8:42 am
would be interested in the solution also..
The idea of the fix is to make power to the failing slots 3,4 etc. permanent by bypassing the power MOSFETs. See my original post for background info.

Triforcecwp
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 5:51 am

Re: "Disk Failed", then "Disk Unplugged" errors

Post by Triforcecwp » Wed May 29, 2019 7:00 am

kommisar wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 3:02 am
Triforcecwp wrote:
Thu Mar 07, 2019 2:42 am
Contacted Qnap, and my device was out side the warranty period so im SOL, looks like ill have to take it apart and fix it my self, if anyone has any documentation for doing that i would greatly appreciate it. :(

kommisar, you mentioned you had a solution, if you could provide more details that would be fantastic.
Hi,

Indeed there is a fix to the NAS HW which solves the root cause of the issue for good. You will void warranty and there is always a chance to damage your NAS. If you would like to do that anyway, provide your contact information I will sent you instructions (there is no PM on this forum )
Thanks for the info sorry for my slow response Ive had some events in life come up.

My email is Kyle.Middleton@gmail.com

yeah I'm fine with working on the hardware took electrical engineering in college, i should be okay to do this.

beaverm
Starting out
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2018 1:02 am

Re: "Disk Failed", then "Disk Unplugged" errors

Post by beaverm » Thu May 30, 2019 11:20 pm

Can I get that hardware info too?

mark@beaverfamily.com

Thanks

rothman78
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2019 4:04 am

Re: "Disk Failed", then "Disk Unplugged" errors

Post by rothman78 » Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:29 pm

kommisar wrote:
Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:05 am
...
It is possible to modify the control circuit to lock the high-power MOSFET in open state permanently and fix the issue for good. I will not provide exact instructions what to do to avoid unnecessary casualties. But if you have right set of skills, info above is more than enough to figure out offending part and right fix procedure.
...
Please e-mail me with details to: qnap at rothman.it


TS-563, running with no problems for 3,5 year. Then disk 4 and 5 went offline/online/rebuild array/offline/.... Then I pulled out disk 4, disk 5 get back online.
Even then, before investigating on forums I was quite sure something had to do with power supply and the back plane.

I order 2 new drives, replaced drive 4, now it offline all the time. Have not touched disk 5 yet. All is working fine, file share and my virtual machines, running array in RAID-6 was a good move.

Support ticket to QNAP resulted in
According to all the info you provided, unfortunately this NAS unit is having hardware issue.

Please backup the data, from NAS to another location as soon as possible.

The QNAP warranty is 2 years for this NAS unit.
Soo, if I can get this working again I will not use it a primary backup device.

/Rothman

ironpink
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2017 12:34 am

Re: "Disk Failed", then "Disk Unplugged" errors

Post by ironpink » Sat Jun 08, 2019 6:47 am

hi all
i'm from (sorry for my bad english)
i've 451A (4gb ram) bought on amazon. never changed ram or anything else.
one week ago i had same problem: disk 4 was disconnected. i tried to change the old hd with same HD (both Segate) and a NEW WD Purple. NO WAY.
disk 4 is still out of order.
this evening i opened a ticket to qunap.

but, beyond what they can answer me, does anyone fixed the problem?
if so, how?

tx
raffaele

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 15253
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: "Disk Failed", then "Disk Unplugged" errors

Post by dolbyman » Sat Jun 08, 2019 7:14 am

if it has still warranty have qnap fix it

ironpink
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2017 12:34 am

Re: "Disk Failed", then "Disk Unplugged" errors

Post by ironpink » Tue Jun 11, 2019 7:00 am

hi all
here's the reply from qnap helpdesk --> obviously, nothing happened
i've asked for further instructions (the NAS is in still under warranty - i've bought it 24 July 2017..... I think is 2 years, so I've still few days :) )

if anyone has any idea is welcome
tx
raffaele


__________________
Thank you for contacting QNAP

Please run a file system check: https://www.qnap.com/en-us/how-to/faq/a ... -not-clean; once done, re-update manually your NAS to the latest available QTS by downloading the Firmware image from our website and using the Web GUI or QFinder to install it: https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/tutorial ... s-firmware, reboot the machine, update all your apps and install Malware Remover via AppCenter and try again.

If you still have issues after following my advice, could you please send us the NAS logs for analysis?

How to pull the logs:
Log in to QTS
Open the Main Menu and select the "Helpdesk" app (Or download via AppCenter)
Navigate to "Diagnostic Tool" in the left side menu
Select the "Download Logs" option and click on "Download". The log files will be downloaded as a ZIP file.

Important: Tell us the date/time of the latest incident, include screenshots, HDD brand/reference and any other relevant information regarding the problem for review.

Also, if the error appear with new HDD, we need you to connect that faulty disk to your PC and use the HDD manufacturer tool to run an EXTENDED test. After test is done, please provide copy/screenshot of the result for reference.
Finally, also provide copy of the NAS invoice for reference.

Regards,

Carlos Mejia
Technical Support Engineer
QNAP Systems, Inc.

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”