Page 1 of 1

Cant find volume that needs mounted

Posted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 8:40 am
by kakemix007
As per the following output:

Code: Select all

Volume Status

/dev/md1:
        Version : 1.0
  Creation Time : Mon Mar 20 22:35:40 2017
     Raid Level : raid6
     Array Size : 23362490368 (22280.21 GiB 23923.19 GB)
  Used Dev Size : 2920311296 (2785.03 GiB 2990.40 GB)
   Raid Devices : 10
  Total Devices : 8
    Persistence : Superblock is persistent

    Update Time : Sat Jul 15 01:32:46 2017
          State : clean, degraded
 Active Devices : 8
Working Devices : 8
 Failed Devices : 0
  Spare Devices : 0

         Layout : left-symmetric
     Chunk Size : 512K

           Name : 1
           UUID : c6a1a231:f6df042b:445fbcd6:967df8d3
         Events : 2448871

    Number   Major   Minor   RaidDevice State
      11       8       35        0      active sync   /dev/sdc3
       1       8       51        1      active sync   /dev/sdd3
       2       8       19        2      active sync   /dev/sdb3
       6       0        0        6      removed
       4       8       83        4      active sync   /dev/sdf3
       5       8       99        5      active sync   /dev/sdg3
       6       8       67        6      active sync   /dev/sde3
      14       0        0       14      removed
       8       8      115        8      active sync   /dev/sdh3
       9       8      131        9      active sync   /dev/sdi3
/dev/md1 is where my Raid 6 lives, but I am unable to mount it. I can see it listed here as "in use":

Code: Select all

blkid -o list | grep /dev/md1
/dev/md1                                                                                                 lvm2pv                                       (in use)                                                                                                     CSGXWf-kNTs-7q9A-wMay-32in-HBC0-9LwVMp
If I try to mount it, it says it cant find /dev/md1 in fstab or mtab (which I was able to verify).

Question 1: How do I mount this?

Question 2: Looking at the output above, I noticed the drives were out of order... Is it possible something got scrambled and that is why this is not working?

Re: Cant find volume that needs mounted

Posted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 9:17 am
by MrVideo
NAS model. Firmware version and build date?

Re: Cant find volume that needs mounted

Posted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 9:25 am
by kakemix007
NAS Model: TS-EC1279U-RP
Firmware: 4.2.4 Build 20170313
Base Directory: /share/CE_CACHEDEV2_DATA

Re: Cant find volume that needs mounted

Posted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 9:28 am
by kakemix007
I ran md_checker and saw that several of the disks were out of order. Does that have anything to do with this? If I put them in the right order (i.e. sdb3, sdc3, sde3 etc) will that fix my issue or make it worse?

Code: Select all

[~] # md_checker

Welcome to MD superblock checker (v1.4) - have a nice day~

Scanning system...

HAL firmware detected!
Scanning Enclosure 0...

RAID metadata found!
UUID:           c6a1a231:f6df042b:445fbcd6:967df8d3
Level:          raid6
Devices:        10
Name:           md1
Chunk Size:     512K
md Version:     1.0
Creation Time:  Mar 20 22:35:40 2017
Status:         ONLINE (md1) [UUU_UUU_UU]
===============================================================================
 Disk | Device | # | Status |   Last Update Time   | Events | Array State
===============================================================================
   1  /dev/sdc3  0   Active   Jul 15 01:32:46 2017  2448871   AAA.AAA.AA                                    
   2  /dev/sdd3  1   Active   Jul 15 01:32:46 2017  2448871   AAA.AAA.AA                                    
   3  /dev/sdb3  2   Active   Jul 15 01:32:46 2017  2448871   AAA.AAA.AA                                    
 --------------  3  Missing   -------------------------------------------
   6  /dev/sdf3  4   Active   Jul 15 01:32:46 2017  2448871   AAA.AAA.AA                                    
   8  /dev/sdg3  5   Active   Jul 15 01:32:46 2017  2448871   AAA.AAA.AA                                    
   9  /dev/sde3  6   Active   Jul 15 01:32:46 2017  2448871   AAA.AAA.AA                                    
 --------------  7  Missing   -------------------------------------------
  11  /dev/sdh3  8   Active   Jul 15 01:32:46 2017  2448871   AAA.AAA.AA                                    
  12  /dev/sdi3  9   Active   Jul 15 01:32:46 2017  2448871   AAA.AAA.AA                                    

Re: Cant find volume that needs mounted

Posted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 9:34 am
by kakemix007
Other outputs:

Code: Select all

[~] # mdadm -D /dev/md0
mdadm: cannot open /dev/md0: No such file or directory
[~] # mdadm -D /dev/md1
/dev/md1:
        Version : 1.0
  Creation Time : Mon Mar 20 22:35:40 2017
     Raid Level : raid6
     Array Size : 23362490368 (22280.21 GiB 23923.19 GB)
  Used Dev Size : 2920311296 (2785.03 GiB 2990.40 GB)
   Raid Devices : 10
  Total Devices : 8
    Persistence : Superblock is persistent

    Update Time : Sat Jul 15 01:32:46 2017
          State : clean, degraded
 Active Devices : 8
Working Devices : 8
 Failed Devices : 0
  Spare Devices : 0

         Layout : left-symmetric
     Chunk Size : 512K

           Name : 1
           UUID : c6a1a231:f6df042b:445fbcd6:967df8d3
         Events : 2448871

    Number   Major   Minor   RaidDevice State
      11       8       35        0      active sync   /dev/sdc3
       1       8       51        1      active sync   /dev/sdd3
       2       8       19        2      active sync   /dev/sdb3
       6       0        0        6      removed
       4       8       83        4      active sync   /dev/sdf3
       5       8       99        5      active sync   /dev/sdg3
       6       8       67        6      active sync   /dev/sde3
      14       0        0       14      removed
       8       8      115        8      active sync   /dev/sdh3
       9       8      131        9      active sync   /dev/sdi3

Code: Select all

[~] # cat /proc/mdstat | grep md1
md1 : active raid6 sdc3[11] sdi3[9] sdh3[8] sde3[6] sdg3[5] sdf3[4] sdb3[2] sdd3[1]

Re: Cant find volume that needs mounted

Posted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 9:37 am
by kakemix007
The actual logical volume is DataVol1. This is all the information that I have. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Code: Select all

[~] # blkid -o list
device                                                                           fs_type         label            mount point                                                                          UUID
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
/dev/mapper/ce_cachedev2                                                                                 ext4                  DataVol1               (not mounted)                                                                                                2eecdb80-71e6-4552-94ed-5e9fbd5fe830

/dev/md1                                                                                                 lvm2pv                                       (in use)                                                                                                     CSGXWf-kNTs-7q9A-wMay-32in-HBC0-9LwVMp

Re: Cant find volume that needs mounted

Posted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:04 pm
by kakemix007
anyone?

Re: Cant find volume that needs mounted

Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:53 am
by MrVideo
Show all of the output from the mdstat. You chopped off important stuff.

Re: Cant find volume that needs mounted

Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 9:52 pm
by kakemix007

Code: Select all

[~] # cat /proc/mdstat
Personalities : [linear] [raid0] [raid1] [raid10] [raid6] [raid5] [raid4] [multipath]
md2 : active raid1 sda3[0]
      113121600 blocks super 1.0 [1/1] [U]

md1 : active raid6 sdc3[11] sdi3[9] sdh3[8] sde3[6] sdg3[5] sdf3[4] sdb3[2] sdd3[1]
      23362490368 blocks super 1.0 level 6, 512k chunk, algorithm 2 [10/8] [UUU_UUU_UU]

md256 : active raid1 sdi2[8](S) sdh2[7](S) sde2[6](S) sdg2[5](S) sdf2[4](S) sda2[3](S) sdb2[2](S) sdd2[1] sdc2[0]
      530112 blocks super 1.0 [2/2] [UU]
      bitmap: 0/1 pages [0KB], 65536KB chunk

md13 : active raid1 sda4[0] sde4[10] sdg4[9] sdh4[8] sdi4[6] sdb4[5] sdc4[4] sdd4[3] sdf4[1]
      458880 blocks [12/9] [UU_UUUU_UUU_]
      bitmap: 49/57 pages [196KB], 4KB chunk

md9 : active raid1 sda1[0] sdh1[10] sde1[9] sdg1[8] sdi1[7] sdb1[6] sdc1[4] sdf1[2] sdd1[1]
      530048 blocks [12/9] [UUU_U_UUUUU_]
      bitmap: 49/65 pages [196KB], 4KB chunk

unused devices: <none>

Re: Cant find volume that needs mounted

Posted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 11:03 am
by MrVideo
This is not good:

Code: Select all

md1 : active raid6 sdc3[11] sdi3[9] sdh3[8] sde3[6] sdg3[5] sdf3[4] sdb3[2] sdd3[1]
      23362490368 blocks super 1.0 level 6, 512k chunk, algorithm 2 [10/8] [UUU_UUU_UU]
You have two drives missing from your RAID6. Lose another drive and your RAID is toast.