Page 13 of 13

Re: Sudden reboot during monthly scrub, unclean filesystem; any way to see the logs?

Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:41 am
by dolbyman
insert an empty drive and see if you can setup from scratch

Re: Sudden reboot during monthly scrub, unclean filesystem; any way to see the logs?

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 5:04 am
by yao88
The behaviour is the same. And it's the same aftwr a firmware recovery too.

I'm afraid i have to send it for repair

Re: Sudden reboot during monthly scrub, unclean filesystem; any way to see the logs?

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 6:05 am
by dolbyman
found this thread with a similar issue
viewtopic.php?t=133776

there seems to be no firmware recovery procedure for your NAS type either... weird

Re: Sudden reboot during monthly scrub, unclean filesystem; any way to see the logs?

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 2:07 pm
by yao88
well it's slightly different. in that thread he was able to start successfully the nas without drives.
in my case, if turn on without drives, after "loading driver", on the display appear the firmware version for 1 second and on the monitor appear the message to plug and initializate the disks then reboot itself
If I insert back the drives, the behavior is the same.

for the recovery I've followed the standard procedure, using the section where "TS-X53 series" is reported.

Is it possible to update the firmware to a lastest version in the same way, through the boot from an USB drive?
If yes, I believe it's the last test I could do..

Re: Sudden reboot during monthly scrub, unclean filesystem; any way to see the logs?

Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 4:51 am
by phrunt
My TS-431's have been perfect for months now until installing the firmware that came out yesterday, now the random rebooting is back

I don't recommend installing this firmware

4.3.6.0776 build 20181130

Re: Sudden reboot during monthly scrub, unclean filesystem; any way to see the logs?

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 3:09 pm
by jollino
I keep getting reboots whenever I transfer a decent amount of data to the NAS after it's been sitting for a while. Apparently a prior version (0644) should have addressed the issue of a "randomly restart after handling I/O intensive operations for a long time" (as referenced on https://www.reddit.com/r/qnap/comments/ ... ting_down/), but in my case it hasn't; in fact I'm all the way to .0923 and it still happens. I don't use the NAS often; it generally sits there and once a week or so I will copy several GB worth of data to it using SMB from a Mac.

So far the only workaround I've found is to do multiple copies of around 3-4 GB each, but that's frustrating as ** as there's no way of knowing if/when it will still trigger a random reboot. I even ran a coplete SMART test on all four disks *and* a full disk scan, and they're all in perfect shape. I'm starting to get really frustrated, Qnap had even looked into it (getting access to my NAS) and came up with nothing at all. I haven't even tried the scrub ever since I started this thread to avoid triggering the issue, but now it's happening even with simple file copies and it's making the NAS basically unusable.

Am I the only one still dealing with this when transferring data to the NAS?

Re: Sudden reboot during monthly scrub, unclean filesystem; any way to see the logs?

Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2019 11:49 pm
by trafsta
I have a TS-431 with 4 x 2TB drives running firmware version 4.3.6.0959. It was recently factory reset and I jumped up to this version of firmware during that reset. For a few weeks it was crashing/rebooting 2-5 times a day, same as what you are all seeing. What has worked for the past 3-4 days is switching the fan from auto to high speed (control panel -> system -> hardware -> smart fan -> set fan rotation speed manually -> high speed).

Has anyone else tried this yet? Curious if it's just been a fluke these past few days or what. But like I said it was rebooting many times a day prior to making this change.

I did not see these issues on much older builds of firmware (talking 3-5+ years older) but at this point I think I'm stuck with this newer version since I don't want to rebuild the box again, and so far this high speed setting has fixed it...