Unable to expand disk pool after disk replacements

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
timwillin
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:40 am

Unable to expand disk pool after disk replacements

Post by timwillin » Mon Jul 09, 2018 7:29 am

I replaced 2 - 2TB disks with 2 -4TB disks in my TS-251+. The NAS sees the larger disks, but I do not have an option to expand the existing pool to use them. All I can do is add another pool, which I really don't need. I realize I can delete the existing volume and create a new one, but was hoping to avoid that effort. I have taken backups of the volume, so I can restore the data. Can anyone help me with this?

User avatar
Don
Guru
Posts: 11970
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:56 am
Location: Long Island, New York
Contact:

Re: Unable to expand disk pool after disk replacements

Post by Don » Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:31 am

Did you follow the procedure for expanding that is documented in the manual or did you make up your own procedure?
Read the Online Manuals and use the forum search feature before posting.

It is a recommended to use RAID and have external backups. RAID will protect you from disk failure, keep your system running, and data accessible while the disk is replaced and the RAID rebuilt. Backups will allow you to recover data that is lost or corrupted, or from system failure. One does not replace the other.

Submit bugs and feature requests to QNAP via their Helpdesk app.

NAS: TVS-882BR | F/W: 4.3.6.0895 | 40GB | 2 x M.2 SATA RAID 1 (System/VMs) | 4 x M.2 NMVe QM2-4P-384A RAID 5 (Cache) | 5 x 4TB HDD RAID 6 (Data) | 1 x Blu-ray
NAS: TVS-663 | F/W: 4.4.1.1086 | 16GB | 2 x M.2 NMVe QM2-2P RAID 1 (Cache) | 4 x 4TB RAID 5
Apps: Boinc, Squid, DNSMasq, PLEX, iDrive, QVPN, QLMS, MP3fs, HBS, Entware, DLstation, +others

timwillin
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:40 am

Re: Unable to expand disk pool after disk replacements

Post by timwillin » Mon Jul 09, 2018 4:10 pm

I followed the procedure and replaced them one at a time allowing for a rebuild after each replacement. I forgot to mention it is a thin volume.

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4994
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Unable to expand disk pool after disk replacements

Post by storageman » Mon Jul 09, 2018 4:17 pm

So what does Storage Manager say? 2 x 4TB?
After the RAID is expanded you need to expand the volume.

timwillin
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:40 am

Re: Unable to expand disk pool after disk replacements

Post by timwillin » Mon Jul 09, 2018 4:18 pm

The problem is I don't have an option to expand the RAID or pool size.

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4994
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Unable to expand disk pool after disk replacements

Post by storageman » Mon Jul 09, 2018 4:53 pm

timwillin wrote:The problem is I don't have an option to expand the RAID or pool size.

You didn't answer my question.
Post a screenshot of storage manager.
You go to Manage, Expand Volume, right?

timwillin
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:40 am

Re: Unable to expand disk pool after disk replacements

Post by timwillin » Mon Jul 09, 2018 7:23 pm

That was in my original post. Yes it sees the larger drive capacity.

P3R
Guru
Posts: 10999
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: Unable to expand disk pool after disk replacements

Post by P3R » Mon Jul 09, 2018 8:13 pm

That the Qnap recognizes the disk as 4 TB model doesn't necessarily mean that it uses the complete capacity.

If you have carefully followed the correct documentation under the heading Expanding RAID Group Capacity, your RAID group should already be expanded. Many misses the RAID group expansion step, so storageman is trying to understand your situation to know how to guide you further.

Please answer the questions and provide the information asked for if you want user community assistance.

If you don't like the way in which the community is trying to assist you, you can always contact Qnap support instead.
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4994
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Unable to expand disk pool after disk replacements

Post by storageman » Mon Jul 09, 2018 8:20 pm

You followed this?

With this function, RAID group capacity can be expanded by replacing hard disk drives in an array one by one. This option is supported for the following RAID types: RAID 1, RAID 5, RAID 6 and RAID 10. Follow these steps to expand a RAID group:

1. Go to "Storage Manager" > "STORAGE" > "Storage Space".
2. Double click a storage pool to be expanded to bring up the Storage Pool Management page.
3. Select a RAID group and click "Manage" > "Replace Disks One by One".
4. Select at least one hard disk drive and click "Change". After the description displays "Please remove this drive", remove the hard disk drive from the NAS or expansion enclosure.
5. After the description displays "You can replace this drive", plug in the new hard disk drive to the drive slot.
6. Repeat steps 4 and 5 until all hard drives have been replaced.
7. Click "Expand Capacity" to continue. Click "Yes".
8. The chosen RAID group is expanded.

Right click on the Storage Pool tab and select Manage, then post the screenshot.

timwillin
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:40 am

Re: Unable to expand disk pool after disk replacements

Post by timwillin » Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:38 pm

Turns out I skipped the step to "Expand Capacity" after replacing the drives. Many thanks for your help!

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4994
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Unable to expand disk pool after disk replacements

Post by storageman » Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:42 pm

Forgive you this time for owning up. Next time you go on the naughty step.

timwillin
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:40 am

Re: Unable to expand disk pool after disk replacements

Post by timwillin » Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:47 pm

There really should be a wizard that walks you through this step by step for dummies like me!

User avatar
Don
Guru
Posts: 11970
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:56 am
Location: Long Island, New York
Contact:

Re: Unable to expand disk pool after disk replacements

Post by Don » Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:56 pm

timwillin wrote:There really should be a wizard that walks you through this step by step for dummies like me!

There is. It is called the manual.
Read the Online Manuals and use the forum search feature before posting.

It is a recommended to use RAID and have external backups. RAID will protect you from disk failure, keep your system running, and data accessible while the disk is replaced and the RAID rebuilt. Backups will allow you to recover data that is lost or corrupted, or from system failure. One does not replace the other.

Submit bugs and feature requests to QNAP via their Helpdesk app.

NAS: TVS-882BR | F/W: 4.3.6.0895 | 40GB | 2 x M.2 SATA RAID 1 (System/VMs) | 4 x M.2 NMVe QM2-4P-384A RAID 5 (Cache) | 5 x 4TB HDD RAID 6 (Data) | 1 x Blu-ray
NAS: TVS-663 | F/W: 4.4.1.1086 | 16GB | 2 x M.2 NMVe QM2-2P RAID 1 (Cache) | 4 x 4TB RAID 5
Apps: Boinc, Squid, DNSMasq, PLEX, iDrive, QVPN, QLMS, MP3fs, HBS, Entware, DLstation, +others

U1Wouter
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 5:54 pm

Re: Unable to expand disk pool after disk replacements

Post by U1Wouter » Tue Jul 10, 2018 6:00 pm

So what if someone did not read the manual/instructinos for expanding the raid capacity and just replaced the disks one by one for larger disks?
Is there any way to expand the Raid Volume once the disks are already installed in the NAS?
If i select expand capacity at the moment we get the following error: [Mirror Disk Volume: Drive 2 1] Raid Size Expansion failed.

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4994
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Unable to expand disk pool after disk replacements

Post by storageman » Tue Jul 10, 2018 6:06 pm

U1Wouter wrote:So what if someone did not read the manual/instructinos for expanding the raid capacity and just replaced the disks one by one for larger disks?
Is there any way to expand the Raid Volume once the disks are already installed in the NAS?
If i select expand capacity at the moment we get the following error: [Mirror Disk Volume: Drive 2 1] Raid Size Expansion failed.


I suggest you try going through the process again, the correct way.

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”