Page 1 of 1

unnecessary rebuld , why?

Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:16 am
by TECH1982
I can understand in situations for Automatically re-billding (corruption of data, replacing with new drive) etc... but i cannot understand the sake of re-building when the user knows theire is no corruption of drives... than just pure "sideing with data loss"

Qnap has checks so it knows if a hard drive is new, or never been used on the QNAP model before.... They also know if corruption occurs.... But i just pulled pulled 1 of my 4TB drives today just to check the label, and model of drive

Checking via the GUI probably would have been better but i know that now..

When i put the drive back, it automatically started to rebuild..

Basically 7 hours of downtime for no reason.Lesion learned, Don't pull drive out unnecessary, but I would of thought checks would of been make, not only on situations where its was needed like "new drives". but also in situations like this where "no corruption occurs on drives and NAS knows it, therefor not needing to rebuild for no reason"

You only rebuild if there are problems with drives as in data corruption, or blank drive.

Re: Automatic rebuld ?

Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:26 am
by OneCD
If you enable RAID bitmap before pulling the drive, then a rebuild won't be needed when it's reinserted. ;)

Re: unnecessary rebuld , why?

Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:29 am
by MrVideo
It is standard practice to do a rebuild when a drive is pulled and put back in. If any data is written to the RAID while the drive is pulled, it is therefore out-of-sync. Even RAID cards for PeeCees did a rebuild if a drive was pulled. Think about how RAID works and you'll understand why. Nothing to complain about.

Re: Automatic rebuld ?

Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:30 am
by MrVideo
OneCD wrote:If you enable RAID bitmap before pulling the drive, then a rebuild won't be needed when it's reinserted. ;)

That might work. But, as I wrote, new data to the RAID will cause the pulled drive to be out-of-sync.

Re: unnecessary rebuld , why?

Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:33 am
by OneCD
QNAP wrote:If the RAID group has a bitmap, only changes that were made after the disk was removed need to be synchronized, greatly speeding up the process.

Re: unnecessary rebuld , why?

Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 12:45 pm
by MrVideo
OneCD wrote:
QNAP wrote:If the RAID group has a bitmap, only changes that were made after the disk was removed need to be synchronized, greatly speeding up the process.

A sync needs to be done, none-the-less. Shorter the better though. :mrgreen:

Re: Automatic rebuld ?

Posted: Sun Sep 02, 2018 11:37 am
by TECH1982
OneCD wrote:If you enable RAID bitmap before pulling the drive, then a rebuild won't be needed when it's reinserted. ;)


Thanks,