Can I add disk to existing RAID from expansion bay?

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
Cougie
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2015 4:25 am

Can I add disk to existing RAID from expansion bay?

Post by Cougie » Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:22 am

I have a TVS-871 with an 8 disk volume in RAID 5. I added a UX-800P expansion enclosure with an additional 6 disks.
I can only seem to create a new RAID volume using those disks.
But can I expand the main RAID with those 6 new disks?
Thanks.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14892
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Can I add disk to existing RAID from expansion bay?

Post by dolbyman » Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:29 am

no .. you have to create a new volume/pool in the expansion unit

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4994
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Can I add disk to existing RAID from expansion bay?

Post by storageman » Tue Sep 25, 2018 5:25 pm

dolbyman wrote:no .. you have to create a new volume/pool in the expansion unit


Hmm, it is advisable to create separate RAID group/pool/volume on the expansion unit because performance on UX is much lower than the head unit.

However, AfAIK it is technically possible to expand the existing volume, by adding RG to pool and then expanding the current volume.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14892
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Can I add disk to existing RAID from expansion bay?

Post by dolbyman » Tue Sep 25, 2018 9:28 pm

but as you said ..those external enclosures are so slow ..you really don't want them pooled together with the main unit

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4994
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Can I add disk to existing RAID from expansion bay?

Post by storageman » Tue Sep 25, 2018 9:44 pm

dolbyman wrote:but as you said ..those external enclosures are so slow ..you really don't want them pooled together with the main unit


Yes, my advice would be stay clear of the UX models if SAS expansion REXP models are available for your unit.

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”