Since update to QTS 4.3.5 Live Update cannot be performed

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
edccorp
Starting out
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 2:15 am

Since update to QTS 4.3.5 Live Update cannot be performed

Post by edccorp » Fri Nov 16, 2018 6:13 am

Hi to all,

Since update to QTS 4.3.5.0756 on my TS-253A I cannot perform Live Update anymore. When I click on "Check for Update" button, I am getting the message:
"Firmware upgrade can't be performed. Please check the network connection, or update it manually."
Network connection is working OK as I can download applications through App Center or access to NAS from the internet.
Also nslookup qnap.com shows this:

[~] # nslookup qnap.com
Server: 127.0.1.1
Address: 127.0.1.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: qnap.com
Address: 54.86.240.83
Name: qnap.com
Address: 34.193.29.184

What could be the problem? Please help.

User avatar
Toxic17
Experience counts
Posts: 4582
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Since update to QTS 4.3.5 Live Update cannot be performed

Post by Toxic17 » Fri Nov 16, 2018 3:58 pm

DNS? why not just download the firmware from qnap.com and update it either through webgui or ssh?

what is your DNS entries set too on the gateway interface of your 253?
Regards Simon

QNAP 4.3.x/4.2.x Manuals

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


MeteoBridge NanoSD • ODROID XU4Q • FlightAware ProStick Plus
NAS: TVS-463/QM2-2P 4.3.6.0805 • TS-453BT3 4.3.6.0805 • TS-121 4.3.3.0789 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G
QPKG's: TwonkyServer 8.51 • QApache 2.4.37.7214 • QSonarr 3.0.0.348 • QNBZGet 21.0-r2220 • phpMyAdmin 4.8.3 • Qmono 5.14.0.177 • Lychee 3.2.6
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • SamKnows WhiteBox • Sophos XG v17.5.0 GA • Ubiquiti CloudKey • UAP AC Pro / UAP AC Lite • TL-SG1016DE • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF

edccorp
Starting out
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 2:15 am

Re: Since update to QTS 4.3.5 Live Update cannot be performed

Post by edccorp » Sat Nov 17, 2018 4:10 am

Hi Toxic17,

I have manually updated firmware to 4.3.5.0760 through webgui and problem persists. DNS entries are set the same like on my main PC machine. As you can see in my first post, DNS is configured correctly
as it successfully resolves qnap.com.

User avatar
Toxic17
Experience counts
Posts: 4582
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Since update to QTS 4.3.5 Live Update cannot be performed

Post by Toxic17 » Sat Nov 17, 2018 4:50 am

do you have any access control lists on your router stopping the NAS from connecting outbound.

can you ping qnap.com from the NAS?
Regards Simon

QNAP 4.3.x/4.2.x Manuals

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


MeteoBridge NanoSD • ODROID XU4Q • FlightAware ProStick Plus
NAS: TVS-463/QM2-2P 4.3.6.0805 • TS-453BT3 4.3.6.0805 • TS-121 4.3.3.0789 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G
QPKG's: TwonkyServer 8.51 • QApache 2.4.37.7214 • QSonarr 3.0.0.348 • QNBZGet 21.0-r2220 • phpMyAdmin 4.8.3 • Qmono 5.14.0.177 • Lychee 3.2.6
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • SamKnows WhiteBox • Sophos XG v17.5.0 GA • Ubiquiti CloudKey • UAP AC Pro / UAP AC Lite • TL-SG1016DE • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF

edccorp
Starting out
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 2:15 am

Re: Since update to QTS 4.3.5 Live Update cannot be performed

Post by edccorp » Sat Nov 17, 2018 5:29 am

Hi Toxic17,

I haven't touched my router settings for a months. Everything was OK on QTS 4.3.4
This is the ping result for qnap.com:

[~] # ping qnap.com
PING qnap.com (34.193.29.184): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 34.193.29.184: seq=0 ttl=229 time=118.817 ms
64 bytes from 34.193.29.184: seq=1 ttl=229 time=119.597 ms
64 bytes from 34.193.29.184: seq=2 ttl=229 time=118.966 ms
64 bytes from 34.193.29.184: seq=3 ttl=229 time=122.038 ms
64 bytes from 34.193.29.184: seq=4 ttl=229 time=119.470 ms
64 bytes from 34.193.29.184: seq=5 ttl=229 time=122.725 ms
64 bytes from 34.193.29.184: seq=6 ttl=229 time=119.699 ms
64 bytes from 34.193.29.184: seq=7 ttl=229 time=121.060 ms
64 bytes from 34.193.29.184: seq=8 ttl=229 time=118.636 ms
64 bytes from 34.193.29.184: seq=9 ttl=229 time=123.009 ms
64 bytes from 34.193.29.184: seq=10 ttl=229 time=119.156 ms
64 bytes from 34.193.29.184: seq=11 ttl=229 time=123.662 ms
64 bytes from 34.193.29.184: seq=12 ttl=229 time=121.609 ms
64 bytes from 34.193.29.184: seq=13 ttl=229 time=119.038 ms
64 bytes from 34.193.29.184: seq=14 ttl=229 time=118.216 ms
64 bytes from 34.193.29.184: seq=15 ttl=229 time=120.891 ms
64 bytes from 34.193.29.184: seq=16 ttl=229 time=122.751 ms
64 bytes from 34.193.29.184: seq=17 ttl=229 time=118.660 ms
^C
--- qnap.com ping statistics ---
18 packets transmitted, 18 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 118.216/120.444/123.662 ms

I have noticed one more problem. On QTS 4.3.4 immediately after log in I was getting notifications about new versions of installed applications,
now with QTS 4.3.5 I see notifications about new versions only after NAS reboot. Maybe there is some connection between this and firmware live update problem?

KoKoS
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 1:58 am

Re: Since update to QTS 4.3.5 Live Update cannot be performed

Post by KoKoS » Sat Nov 17, 2018 7:54 pm

Hi.
Same issue here, TS253A 4.3.5.0754.
Firmware update can`t be perfomed. Please check the network connection, or update it manually.
Firmware updated to 0760 manually, no result same info message.
nslookup and ping to qnap works.
Was some trouble with app center (no apps inside), but now it looks fine.

Another system TS251+ working correctly

edccorp
Starting out
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 2:15 am

Re: Since update to QTS 4.3.5 Live Update cannot be performed

Post by edccorp » Sat Nov 17, 2018 9:01 pm

Hi,

I am glad that I am not the only one with this problem. It seems that QNAP broke Live Update in QTS 4.3.5
Last edited by edccorp on Sun Nov 18, 2018 5:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

KoKoS
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 1:58 am

Re: Since update to QTS 4.3.5 Live Update cannot be performed

Post by KoKoS » Sun Nov 18, 2018 1:30 am

Seems this problem not discussed yet, because not many people checks firmware each day by pressing button check update.
Other cause may be - there only TS253 storages may be affected with this issue.
Do U make a ticket for this issue?
I`m still hope that problem persists on qnap support/update side, services was running well till previous update.

edccorp
Starting out
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 2:15 am

Re: Since update to QTS 4.3.5 Live Update cannot be performed

Post by edccorp » Sun Nov 18, 2018 5:42 am

I did not make ticket for this issue. Maybe the problem is on the server side?

ninjapanda
Starting out
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 11:19 pm

Re: Since update to QTS 4.3.5 Live Update cannot be performed

Post by ninjapanda » Sun Nov 18, 2018 3:56 pm

Hey - same issue on my end. However I've also lost functionality of the Appcentre since the upgrade. However I submitted a ticket via the NAS helpdesk and it sent out fine. Issue only came about with upgrade to QTS 4.3.5

nmpr78
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:57 pm

Re: Since update to QTS 4.3.5 Live Update cannot be performed

Post by nmpr78 » Mon Nov 19, 2018 5:14 pm

Hi.

I have also the same problem with q.t.s 4.3.5.0760
App center can't connect web now, all services were working before this 4.3.5.0728 build
For me it started when update to 4.3.5.0756 came up and i have followed the recommendation to reboot first.
After this step, NAS couldn't check for update, cloudlink lost configurations two times and the update has to be done manually.
I have latest build installed now and this time it's the app center that can't access web.
I have reseted my nas twice already, it must be firmware bug
Regards

Qnap TS-251+
QTS 4.3.5
build: 4.3.5.0760

onemoreshadow
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 12:36 am

Re: Since update to QTS 4.3.5 Live Update cannot be performed

Post by onemoreshadow » Wed Nov 21, 2018 12:41 am

Hi there,

I am also experiencing the same issue. I have a TS-251 NAS. I don't use it very much, but noticed that it hadn't automatically upgraded the firmware in some time since my last few log-ins (not since the end of August it turned out, version 4.3.4. I clicked on "check for update" and received a message saying I was using the latest version (which I knew from the qnap.com website wasn't true).

So I downloaded the latest version, 4.3.5.0760, hoping that would fix the issue. The first thing that happened was that I got notifications for all the apps that needed updating. So I updated those, then went to check to see what the "check for update" button would tell me now about my firmware. The message I now receive is the one other users seem to be getting -- "Firmware upgrade can't be performed. Please check the network connection, or update it manually."

My network connection is fine, I've checked it, and even used it to update all those apps. So I'm not sure what the issue is, but it seems to be related to my last firmware update, the one that rolled out at the end of August/early September.

I have submitted a ticket to Qnap to see if they can fix the issue.

MusicalChris
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 11:46 pm

Re: Since update to QTS 4.3.5 Live Update cannot be performed

Post by MusicalChris » Thu Nov 22, 2018 3:22 am

Hi Guys, i asked support and they sent the below

a) Please change the IP address of DNS to 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4.

b) Please check whether the default gateway settings is correct.

c) Please download and install the Malware Remover 3.3.1 manually.

https://download.qnap.com/QPKG/MalwareR ... 164559.zip

How to install the Malware Remover qpkg manually:

https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/knowledg ... s-manually

Once the Malware Remover is installed, please reboot the NAS and check if the issue is the same or not.

This worked on my 251+ with same issue, shows now as firmware us up to date when looking for a firmware update

Hope this helps

Chris

KoKoS
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 1:58 am

Re: Since update to QTS 4.3.5 Live Update cannot be performed

Post by KoKoS » Thu Nov 22, 2018 6:21 am

Thanks MusicalChris.

Worked for me too. TS-253A.

WTF!!! Any assumptions about how whis may happen?
Is it a security issue in QOS, is our system not secured enough?
Some bygs in admin panel?
If any troubles with it, why malware remover is optional and not a part of a system?

nmpr78
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:57 pm

Re: Since update to QTS 4.3.5 Live Update cannot be performed

Post by nmpr78 » Thu Nov 22, 2018 7:04 pm

Solved

It was a bug alright! Malware infection

98,"Warning","2018-11-22","08:39:58","System","127.0.0.1","localhost","[Malware Remover] Repaired infected file or folder. Name: /tmp/config/K01TkFHnzPobs.sh"
97,"Warning","2018-11-22","08:39:58","System","127.0.0.1","localhost","[Malware Remover] Repaired infected file or folder. Name: /tmp/config/autorun.sh"
96,"Warning","2018-11-22","08:39:24","System","127.0.0.1","localhost","[Malware Remover] Removed malicious file or folder. Path: /tmp/config//QtTOeT."

It looks fixed now
Thanks for the advise on the malware removal tool
Regards

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”