Delete DataVol1(system) -> recreate DataVol1

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
EmilsRo
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 8:25 pm

Delete DataVol1(system) -> recreate DataVol1

Post by EmilsRo » Tue Nov 20, 2018 8:39 pm

Hello,

At my company, we have QNAP TS-ECI1680U with extension REXP-1620U-RP
There is one storage pool with ~175TB storage.
Right now we have one DataVol1(system) with file system configured at 32K bytes per inode (supports max 127.99TB of storage). I need reconfigure DataVol1 to 64K per inode so it can be expanded to maximum storage we have (~174TB).

My concern is - if I delete current DataVol1(system), will it lose all the configurations on the QNAP? We have restic backup running on it. Will I need to reconfigure all backups? Or, when I will recreate new DataVol1 will it keep backing up correctly after I move all data back on the new DataVol1?

May be there is easier way how to re-configure current DataVol1 to 64K per inode, so I can expand current DataVol1?

Thanks,
Emils

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4980
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Delete DataVol1(system) -> recreate DataVol1

Post by storageman » Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:45 pm

The config is separate from the volume but backup the config first to be on the safe side.
You will lose apps, default shares if you delete sys volume.
There is no way to change the inode setting.

JarnoWinkelman
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2019 4:52 pm

Re: Delete DataVol1(system) -> recreate DataVol1

Post by JarnoWinkelman » Thu Aug 29, 2019 4:54 pm

Hello,

Is there a solution about this, withhout losing data? Having the same problem.

Thanks,

Jarno

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14823
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Delete DataVol1(system) -> recreate DataVol1

Post by dolbyman » Thu Aug 29, 2019 9:24 pm

you should have backups at all times..so no data loss will happen upon volume removal

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”