TS 1685 10Gb Network Interface not available in GUI

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
RumoMM
Starting out
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:36 am

TS 1685 10Gb Network Interface not available in GUI

Post by RumoMM » Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:48 am

Hi

Thats my first qnap. So please be gentle ;-)

After i clicked on delete config ( i thought thats resetting the interface ) My 10Gb connections are gone in the gui. The lights on the back are still blinking and my switch is reporting two 10Gb connections. I'm just not able to configure them in the gui.

After some googeling i ssh'd to the box and had a look to the uLinux.conf file. Its just the 4 gb Network cards in there.

Can someone do me a favour and send me a copy af the config files to re-add the card to the gui?

If there is a better way to do that please let me know.

Regards

Matthias

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: TS 1685 10Gb Network Interface not available in GUI

Post by spikemixture » Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:53 am

RumoMM wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:48 am
Hi

Thats my first qnap. So please be gentle ;-)

After i clicked on delete config ( i thought thats resetting the interface ) My 10Gb connections are gone in the gui. The lights on the back are still blinking and my switch is reporting two 10Gb connections. I'm just not able to configure them in the gui.

After some googeling i ssh'd to the box and had a look to the uLinux.conf file. Its just the 4 gb Network cards in there.

Can someone do me a favour and send me a copy af the config files to re-add the card to the gui?

If there is a better way to do that please let me know.

Regards

Matthias
Silly question ? But have you rebooted?
Qnap TS-1277 1700 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid5,, 2x M.2 Crucial 1TB (Raid 1 VM),
2x SSD 860 EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD 860 EVO 250GB (Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe 970 500gb NVME (Raid1 Plex and Emby server)
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 - 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6, 2x M.2 Crucial 500gb Raid1 VM),
2x SSD EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD EVO 250gb (Raid1 Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe Intel 512GB NVME (Raid1-Servers)
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 WD Red - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

RumoMM
Starting out
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:36 am

Re: TS 1685 10Gb Network Interface not available in GUI

Post by RumoMM » Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:41 pm

Hi
Thanks for the quick reply.

I rebooted. I rebooted without the 10gb card and again after i put it back in.
I checked lspci. The card is available just not configured.
I did a 3sec reset.
I did a full reset.
I did a full reset without the disks to let the standard rom load.
I tried to load the drivers with modload ixgbe but lsmod | egrep ixgbe is still 0

I updated the firmware and i reapplied the rom with a usb boot stick and updated the firmware again.

Any other ideas?

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: TS 1685 10Gb Network Interface not available in GUI

Post by spikemixture » Mon Aug 19, 2019 4:33 pm

RumoMM wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:41 pm
Hi
Thanks for the quick reply.

I rebooted. I rebooted without the 10gb card and again after i put it back in.
I checked lspci. The card is available just not configured.
I did a 3sec reset.
I did a full reset.
I did a full reset without the disks to let the standard rom load.
I tried to load the drivers with modload ixgbe but lsmod | egrep ixgbe is still 0

I updated the firmware and i reapplied the rom with a usb boot stick and updated the firmware again.

Any other ideas?
I don't know what I am looking for but cannot see any reference to my 10GBE card.

[Network]
Interface Number = 5
DNS = 0.0.0.0
WINS IP = 0.0.0.0
WINS Enable = False
BONDING Support = False
BONDING NICs = 0
BONDING01 = Interface1
BONDING02 = Interface2
Domain Name Server 1 = 0.0.0.0
Domain Name Server 2 = 0.0.0.0
Advanced Bonding Support = TRUE
IPV6 = TRUE
new_struct = 1
DNS type = auto

[bond0]
Bonding Mode = 1
Configure = False
Use DHCP = TRUE
Usage = DHCP
IP Address = 169.254.100.100
Subnet Mask = 255.255.0.0
Broadcast = 192.168.255.255
Gateway = 169.254.100.100
Speed = auto
MTU = 1500

[bond1]
Bonding Mode = 1
Configure = False
Use DHCP = TRUE
Usage = DHCP
IP Address = 169.254.100.100
Subnet Mask = 255.255.0.0
Broadcast = 192.168.255.255
Gateway = 169.254.100.100
Speed = auto
MTU = 1500

[eth0]
Configure = False
Use DHCP = TRUE
Usage = DHCP
IP Address = 169.254.100.100
Subnet Mask = 255.255.0.0
Broadcast = 192.168.255.255
Gateway = 169.254.100.100
Speed = auto
MTU = 1500

[eth1]
Configure = False
Use DHCP = TRUE
Usage = DHCP
IP Address = 169.254.100.100
Subnet Mask = 255.255.0.0
Broadcast = 192.168.255.255
Gateway = 169.254.100.100
Speed = auto
MTU = 1500

[eth2]
Configure = False
Use DHCP = TRUE
Usage = DHCP
IP Address = 169.254.100.100
Subnet Mask = 255.255.0.0
Broadcast = 192.168.255.255
Gateway = 169.254.100.100
Speed = auto
MTU = 1500

[eth3]
Configure = False
Use DHCP = TRUE
Usage = DHCP
IP Address = 169.254.100.100
Subnet Mask = 255.255.0.0
Broadcast = 192.168.255.255
Gateway = 169.254.100.100
Speed = auto
MTU = 1500

[Samba]
Enable = TRUE
SO_SNDBUF = 262144
SO_RCVBUF = 131072
LAST_FACTORY_DEFAULT = TRUE
SMB3 = FALSE
Large MTU = TRUE
SMB2 = TRUE
AIO = TRUE
SMB2 LEASES = TRUE
SMB2 DURABLE HANDLES = TRUE
Version = Version 4.7.12
signing = 2
HomeLink = TRUE

[Appletalk]
Enable = FALSE
Default Zone = *

[SNMP]
Server Enable = FALSE

[WebFS]
Enable = TRUE
Web Root Path = /WWW
clean_upload_cache = yes
AllowAllUserCreateShare = 0


I have 2 adapter bonded
1 adapter as main internet connection!
1 Virtual
and 1 10gbe


If you want specific files then describe their exact location and I will have a go
Qnap TS-1277 1700 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid5,, 2x M.2 Crucial 1TB (Raid 1 VM),
2x SSD 860 EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD 860 EVO 250GB (Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe 970 500gb NVME (Raid1 Plex and Emby server)
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 - 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6, 2x M.2 Crucial 500gb Raid1 VM),
2x SSD EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD EVO 250gb (Raid1 Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe Intel 512GB NVME (Raid1-Servers)
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 WD Red - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

RumoMM
Starting out
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:36 am

Re: TS 1685 10Gb Network Interface not available in GUI

Post by RumoMM » Mon Aug 19, 2019 4:45 pm

Hi

Do you have eth4 or eth5 underneath /sys/class/net? That should be the config for the 10gb interfaces.

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: TS 1685 10Gb Network Interface not available in GUI

Post by spikemixture » Mon Aug 19, 2019 7:34 pm

RumoMM wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 4:45 pm
Hi

Do you have eth4 or eth5 underneath /sys/class/net? That should be the config for the 10gb interfaces.
I searched the file for " /sys/class/net "

Nothing !
Qnap TS-1277 1700 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid5,, 2x M.2 Crucial 1TB (Raid 1 VM),
2x SSD 860 EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD 860 EVO 250GB (Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe 970 500gb NVME (Raid1 Plex and Emby server)
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 - 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6, 2x M.2 Crucial 500gb Raid1 VM),
2x SSD EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD EVO 250gb (Raid1 Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe Intel 512GB NVME (Raid1-Servers)
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 WD Red - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

RumoMM
Starting out
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:36 am

Re: TS 1685 10Gb Network Interface not available in GUI

Post by RumoMM » Mon Aug 19, 2019 7:48 pm

Sorry thats my fault. /sys/class/net/ is a folder

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: TS 1685 10Gb Network Interface not available in GUI

Post by spikemixture » Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:07 pm

RumoMM wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 7:48 pm
Sorry thats my fault. /sys/class/net/ is a folder
Attached
10gbeeCapture.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Qnap TS-1277 1700 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid5,, 2x M.2 Crucial 1TB (Raid 1 VM),
2x SSD 860 EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD 860 EVO 250GB (Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe 970 500gb NVME (Raid1 Plex and Emby server)
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 - 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6, 2x M.2 Crucial 500gb Raid1 VM),
2x SSD EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD EVO 250gb (Raid1 Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe Intel 512GB NVME (Raid1-Servers)
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 WD Red - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

RumoMM
Starting out
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:36 am

Re: TS 1685 10Gb Network Interface not available in GUI

Post by RumoMM » Mon Aug 19, 2019 10:21 pm

Hmm in a ts-1985 you should have 6 NIC.

Anyway I opend a ticket with qnap but heard nothing back so far.

Thanks a lot for your help.

Bob Zelin
Been there, done that
Posts: 614
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:55 am
Location: Orlando, FL.
Contact:

Re: TS 1685 10Gb Network Interface not available in GUI

Post by Bob Zelin » Tue Aug 20, 2019 5:40 am

Hi -
based on your spelling, I am guessing you are in the UK. I wish you were in the US. If you were in the US, I would tell you to follow these instructions.
1) put the firmware back to the latest version
2) recheck that your 10G ports etc 5 and etc 6 are still missing (I know they will be)
3) call (do not email with ticket) QNAP support - CALL THEM UP.
4) tell them THIS IS THE SAME PROBLEM that Bob Zelin had with numerous TS-1685 systems. The 10G card has failed.
Demand that they send you a QNAP LAN-10G2T-X550 card. This is a known issue with the TS-1685.

If they said "we never heard of this problem" I would have you send me your ticket #, and I would call them for you, in Pomona, California,.

Bob Zelin
Bob Zelin / Rescue 1, Inc.
http://www.bobzelin.com

RumoMM
Starting out
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:36 am

Re: TS 1685 10Gb Network Interface not available in GUI

Post by RumoMM » Tue Aug 20, 2019 4:02 pm

Hi Bob.

Thanks a lot for your info. That explains a lot.

I have new infos if someone is interested.

It looks like it is a well known eeprom hash problem in Linux. If i boot the box into a windows stick 10gb is running fine. I tried 4 different Linux distros and none of them is using the card.

All Linux distros exept Qnap!! come up with the same error. EEprom checksum is not valid. They all have the same symptoms. lspci is reporting the cards fine but they are not available in the network config. Qnap is reporting nothing as far as i can see.

I tried to find a eeprom update for that card ( 15AD is the ID ) but even the goverment websites are better than intels. All the flash updates i got are not valid for that card even if the 552 or the X557 is listed.

I tried qnap for the first time for our business but to be honest, no answer after 36 hours for a business ticket is a no go. If the support in uk is like this qnap can not be used for business needs.

Can you send me your ticket numbers if i have to discuss with them?

RumoMM
Starting out
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:36 am

Re: TS 1685 10Gb Network Interface not available in GUI

Post by RumoMM » Tue Aug 20, 2019 7:51 pm

New Updates
After 50 hours still no reply from Qnap support.
But I found a solution myself:

1. Copy the Linux boot util to a share. ( https://downloadcenter.intel.com/downlo ... FI-Drivers )
2. SSH to the box and switch to that share
3. Copy the BootIMG.FLB file from the /APPS/BootUtil folder to /APPS/BootUtil/Linux_x64 folder.
4. Switch to the Linux_x64 folder
5. ./bootutil64e -E gives you the number of the NICs.
6. ./bootutil64e -NIC=1 -up=COMBO resets the port to standard config. ( use whatever your NIC number is )
6.a I did a backup to a file when it asked me. Rename the file if you have two nics like I had.
7. ./bootutil64e -NIC=2 -up=COMBO resets the second port to standard config. ( use whatever your NIC number is )
7.a I did a backup to a file when it asked me.

After a reboot the two 10Gb connections came back to the gui.

I hope that helps.

RumoMM
Starting out
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:36 am

Re: TS 1685 10Gb Network Interface not available in GUI

Post by RumoMM » Fri Aug 30, 2019 8:38 pm

New Update

After a firmware update the card is gone again.

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”