Using SSD for OS or Cache

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
mr.porter
New here

Using SSD for OS or Cache

Post by mr.porter »

Hello

I'm new to this and cant find a definitive answer to this question, would i be better off using SSD's for OS / System volume or read/write Cache.

what setup would give better day to day performance,

TVS-882
5x6TB Raid 6
2x512GB SSD Raid 1
1gbE LAN

This server is intended for
PLex
1 or 2 VM's
General file storage
P3R
Guru

Re: Using SSD for OS or Cache

Post by P3R »

You can't find a definitive answer because it doesn't exist.

I was in the same spot as you with two 512 GB SSDs. I thought that if the SSDs are used for caching they're dedicated for that and can't be used as storage.

Therefore I used the SSDs in RAID 1 for the OS. Not because it's very important to have the OS on SSDs (it isn't) but the VM-files can be placed there as well and that will make a big difference for VM-performance. Be careful to not fill them up completely though.

If I ever think I need a SSD cache I can always easily add that later.

With a gigabit LAN, that'll be your performance bottleneck for the networked clients not the disks.
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!
Moogle Stiltzkin
Guru

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin »

10gbe guide suggests using ssd caching to help achieve the 10gbe speeds that your hdds (non ssds basically) array can benefit from
https://blog.qnap.com/10gbe-walkthrough-en/

also as previously mentioned, the ssd is good for vm and apps.