Downsize disk capacity

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
Robert98800
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2019 11:26 pm

Downsize disk capacity

Post by Robert98800 » Tue Sep 03, 2019 12:05 am

Hi,
I'm new on this forum and I would need your held.
I own a QNAP TS251A with two 8Tà HDD in RAID1 . This two disks seems faulty and I would like to replace them but I don't have budget to buy two 8to HDD.
My question is to know if it's possible to replace them by 2x4To HDD without losossing configuration doing full reinstallation. I own a TR004 usb extension wich can help me to save data.
Thanks for your help

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14822
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Downsize disk capacity

Post by dolbyman » Tue Sep 03, 2019 12:48 am

no .. you look at a rebuild from scratch (of that volume) with backups

also... if both disks are faulty, any sort of migration will fail

Robert98800
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2019 11:26 pm

Re: Downsize disk capacity

Post by Robert98800 » Tue Sep 03, 2019 9:31 pm

thanks for your reply.
Disks are still online (at least one) but with SMART error that seems to be critical

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”