QNAP 231-P: From Single to Raid 1

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
Zeus008
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2019 7:55 pm

QNAP 231-P: From Single to Raid 1

Post by Zeus008 » Tue Sep 03, 2019 8:20 pm

Hello,

I originally installed 3TB on my QNAP and now I want to add another disk (6TB). Is it possible to migrate from single disk configuration to Raid 1 (for two disks)? Or do I have to start all over again?

Thanks.

P3R
Guru
Posts: 10963
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: QNAP 231-P: From Single to Raid 1

Post by P3R » Tue Sep 03, 2019 9:10 pm

Yes, it's possible but you will only have 3 TB usable storage until the current 3 TB disk is replaced with a larger disk.

Read about how to migrate to RAID 1 under the heading Migrating RAID Configuration in the documentation.
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

Zeus008
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2019 7:55 pm

Re: QNAP 231-P: From Single to Raid 1

Post by Zeus008 » Tue Sep 03, 2019 11:39 pm

Thank you so much!!!

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”