Page 2 of 2

Re: TS-412 HDD/RAID upgrade

Posted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 5:21 am
by miskbrebran
RAID 1 has been fixed, backed up & 2 of 4 drives loaded. Proceeding with adding 2 more 4TB HDDs, then I will need to migrate to RAID10. Any special circumstances I should know for migrating? Thx again for all your assistance!

Re: TS-412 HDD/RAID upgrade

Posted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 9:31 am
by miskbrebran
So when I migrate the drives in bay 1&2 from RAID 1 to RAID10, will I lose data? I included the HDDs in bay 3&4 and it said all data on drives will be erased. Its saying that about the HDDs in bays 3&4 correct and excludes the HDDs in bay 1&2 from the original RAID1 does it?

Re: TS-412 HDD/RAID upgrade

Posted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 9:36 am
by MrVideo
Only new drive data is erased (if there are any existing partitions). This has been discussed many a time in this forum. The wording in the manual ** and it has never been fixed, even though QNAP knows about the wording issue.

Re: TS-412 HDD/RAID upgrade

Posted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 9:38 am
by miskbrebran
Understood. I am migrating to RAID10 now. I just scratch it if i need to and reload the data from my back up ;). Thx!

So new question, does a bitmap provide parity or is it more of a file allocation table of data?

Re: TS-412 HDD/RAID upgrade

Posted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 9:56 am
by OneCD
miskbrebran wrote:
Sun Sep 08, 2019 9:38 am
... does a bitmap provide parity or is it more of a file allocation table of data?
https://raid.wiki.kernel.org/index.php/ ... ent_bitmap

Re: TS-412 HDD/RAID upgrade

Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:56 am
by miskbrebran
Greetings again! Succesfully completed migrating the RAID1 with two 3TB HDDs to a RAID10 with four 4TB HDDs. The space on each drive is 3726GB, however the total space is listed as 5563GB with 2835GB free. I was under the impression the size would be would be approximately 7.5TB by combining two of the HDDs for each volume, but this doesnt seem to be the case as seen in the screen shot. I expected a small reduction of space, but Is this reduction in storage space expected? Thanks!

Re: TS-412 HDD/RAID upgrade

Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:31 pm
by P3R
miskbrebran wrote:
Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:56 am
I was under the impression the size would be would be approximately 7.5TB by combining two of the HDDs for each volume, but this doesnt seem to be the case as seen in the screen shot. I expected a small reduction of space, but Is this reduction in storage space expected?
No. It looks like you didn't follow my advice to expand the RAID 1 before migration to RAID 10 and therefore you're now only using 3 TB of each disk.

You can try to expand it now. It should work I think.

Re: TS-412 HDD/RAID upgrade

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 1:35 am
by miskbrebran
P3R wrote:
Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:31 pm
No. It looks like you didn't follow my advice to expand the RAID 1 before migration to RAID 10 and therefore you're now only using 3 TB of each disk.

You can try to expand it now. It should work I think.
Youre completely right, DOH! I forgot to do that part in your previous response. I will see what I can do, thanks!!

Re: TS-412 HDD/RAID upgrade

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2019 4:54 am
by miskbrebran
P3R,

Took some time, but the 419 flawlessly executed the expansion. Just selected the RAID 10 volume and clicked expand under the action dropdown. Wanted to give everyone a big thanks for the assistance! Yall rock!

Regards.

Re: TS-412 HDD/RAID upgrade

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2019 6:33 am
by P3R
:D