How to let TR-002 be seen on Win 10 ?

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
cuneiform
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 4:49 am

How to let TR-002 be seen on Win 10 ?

Post by cuneiform » Sun Sep 08, 2019 6:09 am

Hi,

I'm going to prove the versatility of TR-002 while using it on Win XP.
What should I do to manage it?
I've just bought 2 new IronWolf HDDs right now.
If I put them into the TR-002 box, they would probably need initializing and / or partitioning or else aligning.
Please, advise me what I should do next step by step.
Thanks.
Last edited by cuneiform on Sun Sep 08, 2019 11:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7597
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: TR-002 to be run on Win XP?

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Sun Sep 08, 2019 6:49 am

Microsoft’s Windows XP Finally Dead: Last Embedded Version Reaches EOL
by Anton Shilov on April 11, 2019
Microsoft’s Windows XP Home and Professional SP3 designed for client PCs reached end-of-life on April 8, 2014. The company then ceased to support its Windows Embedded for Point of Service SP3 and XP Embedded SP3 in 2016. Subsequently, Windows Embedded Standard 2009 reached EOL on January 8, 2019. Finally, it is time for Windows Embedded POSReady 2009 (released in late 2008, two years after Windows Vista) to go.

Even though Windows Embedded POSReady 2009 operating system will no longer be supported by Microsoft, many organizations and individuals will keep using it either to maintain compatibility with software or hardware applications they use (for example, manufacturing equipment made in the 1990s or the 2000s) or for other reasons. Therefore, it is safe to say that Windows XP will still be in limited use after whopping 17.5 years on the market. In fact, it should be pretty safe to use the OS on computers not connected to the Internet and not using USB drives (or other potentially insecure storage devices).

Without any doubts, Windows XP was a legend that in many ways helped to shape the PC market as we know it today and outlived at least one of its successors. Nonetheless, every legend comes to an end.
https://www.anandtech.com/show/14200/mi ... eaches-eol


Windows by the numbers: Windows 10 user share surges as loafers heed impending deadline
Windows 10's share of all PCs jumped 2.1 percentage points in August as a January end-of-support deadline for Windows 7 draws closer.
Also on the downswing, and in a major way, was the duo of Windows 8 and Windows 8.1. (The former is officially unsupported by Microsoft, yet approximately seven-tenths of one percent of all Windows PCs still run that OS.) Together, they shed 1.1 percentage points of share, the largest amount since December 2016 when Windows 8.1 was near the tail of its post-Windows 10-debut downturn. Now at just 4.8% of all PC operating system and 5.5% of those running Windows, the 8/8.1 twosome are slowly, very slowly - like the remnants of Windows XP - vanishing. Unlike most Windows editions, however, these will be nearly invisible by the time their support expires in January 2023.
https://www.computerworld.com/article/3 ... dline.html

:'
Last edited by Moogle Stiltzkin on Sun Sep 08, 2019 9:56 am, edited 2 times in total.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14317
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: TR-002 to be run on Win XP?

Post by dolbyman » Sun Sep 08, 2019 8:20 am

it should work as a regular usb drive

formatting can be done via the dip switches

refer to the manual on what to do

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7597
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: TR-002 to be run on Win XP?

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Sun Sep 08, 2019 9:53 am

I don't have a TR series, but from what i read, you can setup and manage it either

1. from the qnap app installed on windows (QNAP external raid manager)
2. or via qts

I saw this video that seems to mention some of this
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WWKbLYL2Cb4


not sure about xp... is an old OS, and honestly i wonder if it's appropriately secure to be using that especially if internet connectivity is required. from what i read, it does not seem so :S
Last edited by Moogle Stiltzkin on Sun Sep 08, 2019 10:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

User avatar
MrVideo
Experience counts
Posts: 4625
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: TR-002 to be run on Win XP?

Post by MrVideo » Sun Sep 08, 2019 9:58 am

WinXP only supports 2TB drive size, max. With the QNAP RAID controller software installed on the PeeCee, it might support a larger size. I have no idea. You'd have to look at what the software can do.
QTS 4.1.n/4.2.n/4.3.n MANUAL
Submit QNAP Support Ticket - QNAP Tutorials, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki - Product Support Status - Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2
When you ask a question, please include the following
(Thanks to Toxic17 for the links)
QNAP md_checker nasreport (release 20180525)
===============================
Model: TS-869L -- RAM: 3G -- FW: QTS 4.1.4 Build 20150522 (used for data storage)
WD60EFRX-68L0BN1(x1)/68MYMN1(x7) Red HDDs -- RAID6: 8x6TB -- Cold spare: 1x6TB
Entware
===============================
Model: TS-451A -- RAM: 2G -- FW: QTS 4.2.3 Build 20170213 (used as a video server)
WL3000GSA6472(x3) White label NAS HDDs -- RAID5: 3x3TB
Entware -- MyKodi 17.3 (default is Kodi 16)
===============================
My 2017 Total Solar Eclipse Photos

cuneiform
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 4:49 am

Re: TR-002 to be run on Win XP?

Post by cuneiform » Sun Sep 08, 2019 2:47 pm

When you ask a question, please include the following (Thanks to Toxic17 for the links)
QNAP md_checker nasreport (release 20180525)
==========================================================================


QNAP md_checker is a vob file sized 13.8 Kb.
How can I use it?
It doesn't open with VLC if tried.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14317
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: TR-002 to be run on Win XP?

Post by dolbyman » Sun Sep 08, 2019 3:20 pm

it's a signature..does not apply to you

tr0xx units have no sopisticated os or qts versions to keep track of

cuneiform
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 4:49 am

Re: TR-002 to be run on Win XP?

Post by cuneiform » Sun Sep 08, 2019 4:09 pm

Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:
Sun Sep 08, 2019 9:53 am
I don't have a TR series, but from what i read, you can setup and manage it either

1. from the qnap app installed on windows (QNAP external raid manager)
2. or via qts

I saw this video that seems to mention some of this
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WWKbLYL2Cb4


To 1 : NAP external raid manager will not run on Win XP :-))))))

To 2 : QTS will not run admittedly either :-))))))

The boy in the video above shows the things up as if TR-004 from a store has seemingly been connected to his PC, and that's all.

I have been running a T61 IBM Lenovo notebook, not a desk top to operate with normal HDD cables in order to format HDDs. Maybe, I should find a normal PC just to format them if there is no go anyway?

Or else, I can still use TD-002 externally to perform other operations as sectors' converting, formatting, etc. with the discs ?

These new HDDs: To work with an older BIOS, I should have MBR sectors rather than GPT sectors.
To do so, should I divide the 4 TB discs into 2 TB sized partitions?

However, initially I would have to convert the GPT sectors into MBR sectors, but how to?

cuneiform
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 4:49 am

How to let TR-002 be seen on Win 10 ?

Post by cuneiform » Sun Sep 08, 2019 8:35 pm

well, gentlemen

these questions seem to be not so simple...

now, I have placed the 2 recommended Iron Wolf HDDs into the QNAP storage as told in the manual,
set them to RAID 1 mode, got the beep, and ... there is nothing to see on the screen of a modern DELL device with Win 10 installed... such as Dell Venue 11 Pro Tablet

I will attach some pics...

Image
Image

Here we can see 3 green lights, but none blue light;
a Kingstone stick 32 Gb attached to the DELL USB port instead of QNAP-TR-002 just to demonstrate the DELL Venue 11 Pro Tablet is OK.

There is no TR-002 to see.

Any ideas?!
Last edited by cuneiform on Sun Sep 08, 2019 11:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cuneiform
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 4:49 am

How to let TR-002 be seen on Win 10 ?

Post by cuneiform » Sun Sep 08, 2019 11:05 pm

This firmware is sized below 200 Kb in img format. Should I use Daemon Tools to mount it?
QNAP TR-002 Firmware
1.0.4 2019-03-26

In other words: This file is needed to be able to see the TR-002 enclosure on the screen or anything else?

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4904
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: How to let TR-002 be seen on Win 10 ?

Post by Trexx » Mon Sep 09, 2019 4:03 am

It is used by Qnap’s Raid manager tool. You can’t use it by itself.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

cuneiform
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 4:49 am

As I Solved All My Problems On My Own

Post by cuneiform » Mon Sep 09, 2019 5:51 am

deleted
Last edited by cuneiform on Tue Sep 10, 2019 4:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4904
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: TR-002 to be run on Win XP?

Post by Trexx » Tue Sep 10, 2019 1:20 am

MrVideo wrote:
Sun Sep 08, 2019 9:58 am
WinXP only supports 2TB drive size, max. With the QNAP RAID controller software installed on the PeeCee, it might support a larger size. I have no idea. You'd have to look at what the software can do.
Nope...Qnap's raid controller software is just a GUI to help setup raid mode via SW vs. switches, and provides some smart data re: drive health. It relies on OS level utilities for partitioning/formatting/etc. So if OS doesn't support >2TB, you are out of luck.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4904
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: How to let TR-002 be seen on Win 10 ?

Post by Trexx » Tue Sep 10, 2019 1:25 am

cuneiform wrote:
Sun Sep 08, 2019 8:35 pm
well, gentlemen

these questions seem to be not so simple...

now, I have placed the 2 recommended Iron Wolf HDDs into the QNAP storage as told in the manual,
set them to RAID 1 mode, got the beep, and ... there is nothing to see on the screen of a modern DELL device with Win 10 installed... such as Dell Venue 11 Pro Tablet

I will attach some pics...

Image
Image

Here we can see 3 green lights, but none blue light;
a Kingstone stick 32 Gb attached to the DELL USB port instead of QNAP-TR-002 just to demonstrate the DELL Venue 11 Pro Tablet is OK.

There is no TR-002 to see.

Any ideas?!
1) If you are on Win10, then use the QNAP External Raid Manager SW to verify your status.
2) After you have created a Raid-1 volume, you still need to run some kind of partitioning product (qnap links to a 3rd party free one) to actually partition/format the drives to be able to use it. Since it doesn't sounds like you did that step, that is why you don't see it. It doesn't have a drive letter yet to present.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

cuneiform
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 4:49 am

Re: How to let TR-002 be seen on Win 10 ?

Post by cuneiform » Tue Sep 10, 2019 4:42 am

Since it doesn't sounds like you did that step, that is why you don't see it. It doesn't have a drive letter yet to present.
Thanks a lot, Paul. I needed these guidelines a couple days ago, as I saw the TR-002 enclosure for the first time before myself... Pity, for the first time there were no guidelines at all. Now, I have got it! ...

Cheers to the sunny Minnesota from Europe.

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”