Page 1 of 1

HDD Replaced - RAID won't rebuild

Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2019 8:02 pm
by ianw82
Hi,

TS-431XU-RP / 4 x 4TB Drives / RAID 5

I had a drive in the RAID array fail and I replaced it with the same make and model however the array won't rebuild and is still sat in a degraded state.

The system see's the drive and reports it as OK but when I look at my storage pool management, the status shows "not member" but this contradicts what i am seeing in the Disks section which clearly picks the disk up as being part of RAID GROUP 1.

Any tips? I have spoken to support but we didn't get very far, the fix they suggested was to power down, remove all drives, refit and power back up - did this and it made no difference at all.

Not quite as the manual describes where it should just rebuild itself!

Re: HDD Replaced - RAID won't rebuild

Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2019 8:46 pm
by dolbyman
did you swap it hot?

Re: HDD Replaced - RAID won't rebuild

Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:04 pm
by ianw82
dolbyman wrote:
Tue Sep 10, 2019 8:46 pm
did you swap it hot?
Yes, hot swap exactly as described in the manual.

Re: HDD Replaced - RAID won't rebuild

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:33 pm
by ianw82
Incase anyone searches and comes across this, couldn't find any logical reason why this wouldn't work, neither the GUI or through SSH / PuTTy could I get the new drive to be recognised or activated.

Cut my losses and purchased a second drive, popped it in and the RAID rebuild started immediately so can only assume the first drive I purchased was faulty.

Re: HDD Replaced - RAID won't rebuild

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:35 pm
by Moogle Stiltzkin
what hdds are you using?

Re: HDD Replaced - RAID won't rebuild

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:37 pm
by ianw82
Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:
Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:35 pm
what hdds are you using?
Seagate Iron Wolf 4TB, replacement for the drive(s) that originally shipped with the device and still valid on the compatibility list.

Re: HDD Replaced - RAID won't rebuild

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 6:49 pm
by Toxic17
https://www.qnap.com/en-in/how-to/knowl ... ould-i-do/
In some cases the rebuild of the RAID might not start automatically. If you encounter this you may set the new drive as a spare disk first. The rebuild will start immediately after this is done.

To set the new drive as a spare disk, please follow the steps below:

Log in to your NAS via web browser
Open Storage & Snapshots
Go to Storage > Storage/Snapshots
Select your Storage Pool or Static Volume and click on the “Manage” button
Select the degraded RAID group section and click “Manage” and then “Configure Spare Disk”.
Select the new drive and click Apply
Your RAID will now start rebuilding and normal operation will be resumed after it’s completed.
Failing this, Raise a ticket with QNAP to investigate.

Re: HDD Replaced - RAID won't rebuild

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 6:54 pm
by ianw82
Toxic17 wrote:
Thu Sep 12, 2019 6:49 pm
https://www.qnap.com/en-in/how-to/knowl ... ould-i-do/
In some cases the rebuild of the RAID might not start automatically. If you encounter this you may set the new drive as a spare disk first. The rebuild will start immediately after this is done.

To set the new drive as a spare disk, please follow the steps below:

Log in to your NAS via web browser
Open Storage & Snapshots
Go to Storage > Storage/Snapshots
Select your Storage Pool or Static Volume and click on the “Manage” button
Select the degraded RAID group section and click “Manage” and then “Configure Spare Disk”.
Select the new drive and click Apply
Your RAID will now start rebuilding and normal operation will be resumed after it’s completed.
Failing this, Raise a ticket with QNAP to investigate.
Yep, tried that, didn't work and raised a ticket with QNAP two weeks ago. Very unimpressed with the support overall but I suppose that's the trade off when you're buying a cheap device.

Re: HDD Replaced - RAID won't rebuild

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 7:00 pm
by Toxic17
So could you add the drive as a spare and not rebuild? or would it not let you add the drive?

most of my tickets are answered quite quickly, though some I have had to chase up in the past or I raise a new ticket.

Re: HDD Replaced - RAID won't rebuild

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 7:08 pm
by ianw82
The drive was physically swapped, the system the detected the drive and disks info showed it as a member of the RAID group therefore the option to add as spare was not available.
qnap03.PNG
qnap04.PNG
Checking the RAID array details, the status was shown as Not member, directly contradicting the previous screen.
qnap02.PNG

All very odd but I replaced the replacement drive with another new one and the system is now behaving as I expected (currently around the 30% mark in rebuilding the array).