TBS-453A-4G-960Gb Replacing one of drives to bigger.

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
vasiliyb
Starting out
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 9:04 pm

TBS-453A-4G-960Gb Replacing one of drives to bigger.

Post by vasiliyb » Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:29 pm

Hello, i have Qnap tbs-453a-4g-960gb (with four 240Gb SSD M.2 drives). I want to change one of them to 1Tb SSD M.2 Samsung 970 EVO 1ТБ (model MZ-V7E1T0BW). So it's will be 3x240gb and 1x1Tb. It's appropriate? And how to migrate all data from one of 240Gb drives before replacement?

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 18172
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: TBS-453A-4G-960Gb Replacing one of drives to bigger.

Post by dolbyman » Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:55 pm

if they are all single drives, it needs to be all manual

remove the m2 .. insert the new m2..recreate shares..restore data from backups

with single drives you need backups at all times (even more than with raid1+)

vasiliyb
Starting out
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 9:04 pm

Re: TBS-453A-4G-960Gb Replacing one of drives to bigger.

Post by vasiliyb » Sat Dec 14, 2019 4:23 am

Please, more detailed, step by step🤔 When replacing 1 disk I will need to re-install the operating system? Thanx!

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 18172
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: TBS-453A-4G-960Gb Replacing one of drives to bigger.

Post by dolbyman » Sat Dec 14, 2019 4:34 am

As the default folders are on the first volume created, you need to restore them on swap, check the online manual for directions

As you still haven't disclosed the volume type (single, RAID,etc) .. no help can be given

vasiliyb
Starting out
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 9:04 pm

Re: TBS-453A-4G-960Gb Replacing one of drives to bigger.

Post by vasiliyb » Mon Dec 23, 2019 12:19 am

I go to disk management, I see that I have RAID5: http://joxi.ru/D2Pye73CkpVVNA
Is it possible to change the disk # 1 or this disk is the system disk?
I see the option to replace the disk, chose disk #1 and it offers me to replace the disk: http://joxi.ru/vAWelGLIq1MMWm
There is no warning about the need to make a backup.
It is not written that it is necessary to turn off the power to replace the disk.
It is not specified what to do next after installation(

Very big request, write, as act...

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 18172
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: TBS-453A-4G-960Gb Replacing one of drives to bigger.

Post by dolbyman » Mon Dec 23, 2019 12:23 am

all of them in one raid5 so none of them is the system disk by itself (the resulting raid5 is the system volume)

size expansion method for m2 arrays is unclear ...contact qnap for clarification

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”