Ooops... Mixed up disks order!

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
User avatar
Marrach
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 11:02 pm
Location: Midlands, England UK

Ooops... Mixed up disks order!

Post by Marrach » Thu Sep 19, 2019 9:00 pm

We've a TS269L with two diks & we had to pull out the two disks to see if it would boot without them in situ.

Sadly the order of the two got mixed up so we're unsure which one goes in Bay 1 & which goes in Bay 2.

Silly I know but hopefully someone will have an answer as to what to do?

Thanks in anticipation! ;-)
QNAP TS-269L - Always running the most up to date Firmware!
2 x 2TB Western Digital 'Reds' WDC WD20EFR - (RAID Group 1) Single 2TB Storage Pool


Accessed using...
Window 10 x Four Machines.
Android Smart Phones
Android Tablet

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 15267
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Ooops... Mixed up disks order!

Post by dolbyman » Thu Sep 19, 2019 11:47 pm

was it single disks, RAID0 RAID1, Jbod ?

based on your signature it sound like RAID1 (2 TB capacity with 2x2TB drives)

disk order shouldn't matter .. have your tried turning it on with disks ?

User avatar
Marrach
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 11:02 pm
Location: Midlands, England UK

Re: Ooops... Mixed up disks order!

Post by Marrach » Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:26 am

Thanks!!
dolbyman wrote:
Thu Sep 19, 2019 11:47 pm
was it single disks, RAID0 RAID1, Jbod ?

based on your signature it sound like RAID1 (2 TB capacity with 2x2TB drives)

disk order shouldn't matter .. have your tried turning it on with disks ?
Raid 1 so yes thinking about it... it shouldn't matter but pays to be sure!

Actually QNAP went off line so tried to find with QFinder only to discover Firmware Update did not complete.
Was trying to Recover firmware as per the
https://wiki.qnap.com/wiki/Firmware_Rec ... Series_NAS
but bios window wouldn't show on HDMI monitor to see if there was any errors or not.
I could keep hitting F2 on startup (Not as instructed) and it gets into something with command prompts which I don't know how to manage .

ANYWAY... Wonder if you have any ideas where to go next weith this Dolbyman??
QNAP TS-269L - Always running the most up to date Firmware!
2 x 2TB Western Digital 'Reds' WDC WD20EFR - (RAID Group 1) Single 2TB Storage Pool


Accessed using...
Window 10 x Four Machines.
Android Smart Phones
Android Tablet

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 15267
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Ooops... Mixed up disks order!

Post by dolbyman » Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:30 am

if you see a command prompt it's already too late to enter the bios

same as on a computer (as those HAL qnap units are basically x86 computers)

try a wired keyboard .. in case you use a wireless one to see if that let's you access the bios

User avatar
Marrach
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 11:02 pm
Location: Midlands, England UK

Re: Ooops... Mixed up disks order!

Post by Marrach » Fri Sep 20, 2019 5:08 am

dolbyman wrote:
Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:30 am
if you see a command prompt it's already too late to enter the bios
Does that mean shutting down and restarting won't make a difference>
dolbyman wrote:
Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:30 am
try a wired keyboard .. in case you use a wireless one to see if that let's you access the bios
Yes I followed the instructions and used a wired keyboard & wired mouse. Didn't think you could use wireless.
QNAP TS-269L - Always running the most up to date Firmware!
2 x 2TB Western Digital 'Reds' WDC WD20EFR - (RAID Group 1) Single 2TB Storage Pool


Accessed using...
Window 10 x Four Machines.
Android Smart Phones
Android Tablet

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 15267
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Ooops... Mixed up disks order!

Post by dolbyman » Fri Sep 20, 2019 5:13 am

you can only enter the bios from either a restart or a complete shutdown .. exactly like a computer

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”