Page 1 of 1

Remove M.2 SSD from RAID and use for Cache Accelaration?

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:17 pm
by brichardson2013
I have a TS-673 with two 1TB M.2 SSDs installed, and 6x16TB IronWolfe drives.

I had initially thought I'd need the M.2's setup as RAID, but I have since realized that was not true, and I'd like to set them up as Cache Acceleration.

The issue is that now that they are setup as RAID, I can't use them for cache acceleration, and I can't seem to break the RAID config on them. I have not used the RAID group to store anything yet.

Is there anyway to remove the Raid group that uses these M.2 SSDs?

Re: Remove M.2 SSD from RAID and use for Cache Accelaration?

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:50 pm
by dolbyman
were the ssd setup first and are they the system volume ?

the raid is not the issue (always setup cache or tier as raid1+ anyways) but the fact that they have a volume

Re: Remove M.2 SSD from RAID and use for Cache Accelaration?

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 12:41 am
by brichardson2013
Yes, I believe that the SSDs were setup first. Howe do I tell if they are the system volume?

The ssds don't have a volume or storage pool associated with them. The only storage pool is associated with RAID Group 2 - which are the 16TB drives.

Re: Remove M.2 SSD from RAID and use for Cache Accelaration?

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 6:50 am
by dolbyman
it should be visible on storage manager the system volume says "system" behind it

Re: Remove M.2 SSD from RAID and use for Cache Accelaration?

Posted: Wed Aug 05, 2020 9:20 am
by brichardson2013
Ah. The System Volume is on Storage Pool 2, which are the 5x16TB drives. There is no Storage Pool 1.

There are no other Storage Pools.

Remove M.2 SSD from RAID and use for Cache Accelaration?

Posted: Wed Aug 05, 2020 9:51 am
by Trexx
Sounds like the SSD’s were setup as a static volume then.

Why do you want cache acceleration? What are your use cases for the NAS?

Depending on use case, you very well could get WORSE performance using the SSD’s as CACHE.

This is especially true for sequential write performance as your HDD Raid supports a higher throughput than on your Sata SSD’s.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk