Migrating from TS-253 Pro to TS-453DU

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
dcabrerag
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2021 11:12 pm

Migrating from TS-253 Pro to TS-453DU

Post by dcabrerag » Thu Apr 22, 2021 11:50 pm

Hello everyone, please i need your kindly advice about migrating from TS-253 Pro to TS-453DU.
TS-253 Pro Disks
- x2 4TB RAID 1

Steps i've done already:
- Firmware Update to new NAS TS-453DU
- Install old hard drives (x2 4TB) to new NAS TS-453DU
- Migration completed and everything working ok.

Now, i have 4 new 10TB/each ironwolf hard drives meant to be installed on the 4 bays from the new NAS 453DU, replacing the old 4TB ones.
In this scenario is where i have a few questions:
- Whats the best procedure to migrate/upgrade/replace from the old x2 4tb Raid-1 to the x4 10tb ?
- Which RAID configuration will be the more safely to my final configuration (x4 10TB)?, considering final use is samba shared folders, qsync and backups; no VM's, no databases, etc. Raid6, Raid10?
- When rebuilding the 10tb drives, will the NAS services go down?, because evrything is LIVE right now.

I appreciate the help.

Thanks.

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 22731
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Migrating from TS-253 Pro to TS-453DU

Post by dolbyman » Fri Apr 23, 2021 12:15 am

You can migrate to RAID5 and then optionally RAID6 (RAID10 is not a migration option from RAID1.. and also slower for given usage)

For a 4 bay unit, I would go with RAID5 (of course constant external backups are a MUST anyways)
During the disk swap, the NAS will be full available, but usage will slow down the migration (priority can be chosen in GUI)

dcabrerag
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2021 11:12 pm

Re: Migrating from TS-253 Pro to TS-453DU

Post by dcabrerag » Fri Apr 23, 2021 4:31 am

Thanks for the response, rebuilding right now the first disk, everything smooth.
One last question, after disk swap/rebuild process is completed, there is a final step called Extend Storage from raid group, will this final process affect the NAS availability?

Thanks again.

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 22731
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Migrating from TS-253 Pro to TS-453DU

Post by dolbyman » Fri Apr 23, 2021 4:42 am

Yes, depending if you have a storage pool or a static volume

Pool:
-Expand the Pool
-Expand the thin/thick Volume(s)

Static Volume:
- Expand the Volume

Both is explained in the manual :P

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”