809Pro rebooting

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
manfredell
Know my way around
Posts: 179
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 3:26 am
Location: Lisbon

809Pro rebooting

Post by manfredell » Tue Sep 29, 2009 7:53 am

When I select Reboot from the web interface to reboot the server it beeps and says "rebooting system" but does very seldomly reboot.
I have to use the power button to force power down.

I find the 809 so full of problems that I'm near to throwing it in the trash bin!

User avatar
Don
Guru
Posts: 11984
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:56 am
Location: Long Island, New York

Re: 809Pro rebooting

Post by Don » Tue Sep 29, 2009 1:11 pm

How long do you wait? It can take a few minutes to shut down depending on what is running. Have you tried connecting a vga monitor to see what is going on when it is shutting down?

If you ever decide to throw it in the trash send it to me instead :D
Read the Online Manuals and use the forum search feature before posting.

It is a recommended to use RAID and have external backups. RAID will protect you from disk failure, keep your system running, and data accessible while the disk is replaced and the RAID rebuilt. Backups will allow you to recover data that is lost or corrupted, or from system failure. One does not replace the other.

Submit bugs and feature requests to QNAP via their Helpdesk app.

NAS: TVS-882BR | F/W: 4.3.6.0895 | 40GB | 2 x M.2 SATA RAID 1 (System/VMs) | 4 x M.2 NMVe QM2-4P-384A RAID 5 (Cache) | 5 x 4TB HDD RAID 6 (Data) | 1 x Blu-ray
NAS: TVS-663 | F/W: 4.4.1.1086 | 16GB | 2 x M.2 NMVe QM2-2P RAID 1 (Cache) | 4 x 4TB RAID 5
Apps: Boinc, Squid, DNSMasq, PLEX, iDrive, QVPN, QLMS, MP3fs, HBS, Entware, DLstation, +others

manfredell
Know my way around
Posts: 179
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 3:26 am
Location: Lisbon

Re: 809Pro rebooting

Post by manfredell » Tue Sep 29, 2009 2:28 pm

Don wrote:How long do you wait? It can take a few minutes to shut down depending on what is running. Have you tried connecting a vga monitor to see what is going on when it is shutting down?

If you ever decide to throw it in the trash send it to me instead :D


Waited for 15mins. Nothing happened.

manfredell
Know my way around
Posts: 179
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 3:26 am
Location: Lisbon

Re: 809Pro rebooting

Post by manfredell » Tue Sep 29, 2009 3:57 pm

When I try to backup to an external USB disk (the disk is perfectly healthy) I find that the backup stalls always.

When stop the backup and then try to reboot or shutdown this does not complete and I have to hit the power button.

Attached snaphots of log and top command.
Screen shot 2009-09-29 at 08.58.46.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

manfredell
Know my way around
Posts: 179
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 3:26 am
Location: Lisbon

Re: 809Pro rebooting

Post by manfredell » Tue Sep 29, 2009 4:33 pm

Don wrote:How long do you wait? It can take a few minutes to shut down depending on what is running. Have you tried connecting a vga monitor to see what is going on when it is shutting down?

If you ever decide to throw it in the trash send it to me instead :D


P.S. I don't have a VGA monitor...

In all earnest, I have nothing but trouble with thid thing.

User avatar
QNAPJason
QNAP Staff
Posts: 5399
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 2:14 pm
Location: Taipei

Re: 809Pro rebooting

Post by QNAPJason » Tue Sep 29, 2009 4:49 pm

Hi manfredell,

have you tried to format the USB Disk as EXT3/4 using your 809?
Please give it a try and then perform the backup again.

If this does not solve your backup& reboot issue, then please contact our Online Tech. Support for remote assistance.
There might be something wrong with the config. file.

Regards,

Jason

manfredell
Know my way around
Posts: 179
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 3:26 am
Location: Lisbon

Re: 809Pro rebooting

Post by manfredell » Tue Sep 29, 2009 4:55 pm

QNAPJason wrote:Hi manfredell,

have you tried to format the USB Disk as EXT3/4 using your 809?
Please give it a try and then perform the backup again.

If this does not solve your backup& reboot issue, then please contact our Online Tech. Support for remote assistance.
There might be something wrong with the config. file.

Regards,

Jason


I have tried EXT3 and EXT4, same problem. Backup stalls and 809 freezes upon reboot.

What's the best way to contact support? I need a solution fast.

Thx

manfredell
Know my way around
Posts: 179
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 3:26 am
Location: Lisbon

Re: 809Pro rebooting

Post by manfredell » Tue Sep 29, 2009 5:08 pm

QNAPJason wrote:Hi manfredell,

have you tried to format the USB Disk as EXT3/4 using your 809?
Please give it a try and then perform the backup again.

If this does not solve your backup& reboot issue, then please contact our Online Tech. Support for remote assistance.
There might be something wrong with the config. file.

Regards,

Jason


I can ssl into the unit and post the config file here for you to check, if you tell me where it is.

I have now tried another external drive: same problem.
When this happens I even loose afp connection from my mac. This unit is nothing but trouble!

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”