Easy way to extend capacity?

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
User avatar
soopersonic
Know my way around
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:33 am

Easy way to extend capacity?

Post by soopersonic » Tue Sep 29, 2009 10:17 pm

I'm a happy owner of a TS-109 using a 1TB hard drive. That hard drive is nearly full by now and I would like to extend my setup. The obvious way would be to buy a "real" NAS (more slots, more power, ...) but I just don't want to spend the money right now.

So I was thinking about getting a 2TB hard drive and connect it to the eSATA port of my current NAS. What would be my possibilities to let that new HD extend my current storage? Would I have to choose between which one of the two HDs I want to access / save data on or could I extend my current volume by those 2 TB?

Please keep in mind that I don't have any way to backup my full 1TB drive as I only have some 120GBs in my computer.

Thanks for suggestions!

User avatar
petur
Moderator
Posts: 4627
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 5:42 pm
Location: Gent, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Easy way to extend capacity?

Post by petur » Tue Sep 29, 2009 10:20 pm

1) yes you can attach a drive and create shares on that
2) please do get backup!!! Really!
Praat je liever over QNAP in het Nederlands?
Liever een community bij jou in de buurt?

Kom naar QNAPclub België/Nederland

User avatar
soopersonic
Know my way around
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:33 am

Re: Easy way to extend capacity?

Post by soopersonic » Tue Sep 29, 2009 10:43 pm

You are totally right. I don't like the current situation, but it's just even worse to spend money without seeing any increase in storage capacity / performance...

If I attach another drive to it, let's say a 2 TB one. Which options would I have concerning volumes? Can I extend my current volume or would I have to create a share on my new drive, like for example "Public2" and access that instead of "Public" if Public is full? Extending my current volume from 1TB to 3TB would already be RAID, wouldn't it?

User avatar
petur
Moderator
Posts: 4627
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 5:42 pm
Location: Gent, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Easy way to extend capacity?

Post by petur » Tue Sep 29, 2009 11:23 pm

I'm not that familiar with TS-109, maybe someone else can fill in the details. AFAIK, you can't extend the volume, only have it as another volume to create shares on, or use it as RAID1 (QRAID), which won't help you since you need more space
Praat je liever over QNAP in het Nederlands?
Liever een community bij jou in de buurt?

Kom naar QNAPclub België/Nederland

User avatar
soopersonic
Know my way around
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:33 am

Re: Easy way to extend capacity?

Post by soopersonic » Wed Sep 30, 2009 5:09 am

Alright, that's what I thought anyways... Maybe someone else knows more though?

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”