Vantec Nexstar 3 esata not working

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
andrewg_oz
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:07 pm
Location: Perth
Contact:

Vantec Nexstar 3 esata not working

Post by andrewg_oz » Thu Jan 17, 2008 2:22 pm

I recently purchased a Vantec Nexstar 3 (NST-360SU) to use as an eSata QRAID1 with my TS-109 Pro. The drive in the Vantec is a Samsung HD501LJ jumpered to force SATA1 (1.5Gb/s).

In general, when I connect the Vantec to the Qnap, the Qnap eSata starts blinking orange and doesn't stop. The web management tool reports "No disk". However, if I reboot the Qnap, then during bootup the eSata stops blinking and stays steady for a while. If I immediately check the eSata status, it indicates a drive is there, but not the capacity or manufacturer. After short while, the front eSata light on the Qnap starts blinking again and the web manager reports "No disk".

The Vantec connects just fine to my PC via eSata with Windows XP or Knoppix (5.1.1). It also connects just fine to my PC and the Qnap via USB, but I really wanted to use the eSata with the Qnap... :(

Are there any propects for getting the eSata working?
Andrew
TS-109 Pro (FW 3.0.0 build 0121T)

andrewg_oz
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:07 pm
Location: Perth
Contact:

Re: Vantec Nexstar 3 esata not working

Post by andrewg_oz » Thu Jan 17, 2008 4:13 pm

Another question, while I think of it.

If I configure the Nexstar as a USB QRAID, will there be any problem switching to eSata later? Assuming I get eSata working, that is!
Andrew
TS-109 Pro (FW 3.0.0 build 0121T)

Tbreak
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 7:12 pm

Re: Vantec Nexstar 3 esata not working

Post by Tbreak » Mon Mar 03, 2008 7:21 pm

andrewg_oz,

I had the same situation as you. I found that the eSATA cable supplied with the Vantec was a loose fit in the socket of the TS-109. By using a bit of twist wire, I could make the fit more secure and the eSATA disk would remain visible. However my need is to be able to remove the external drive on a regular basis and after a while this became too much trouble. I now use the USB connection. I guess there is a speed trade off, but it's just easier.

dzimmerman
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 6:55 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Vantec Nexstar 3 esata not working

Post by dzimmerman » Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:11 pm

I have one of these HDD caddies too, and I discovered that the problem is entirely with the ESATA cable supplied with the Nexstar unit :cry: . The ESATA cable wouldn't push all the way into the TS109pro, and I discovered that the easy solution was to angle trim the plastic that blocks the connector from pushing all the way in, with a steak knife. This took me about 30 seconds, and the connector will now fit fully into the ESATA socket, and works 100% of the time :D .
After initially thinking the TS109pro had a faulty ESATA connection, I can now work without problems, and am happy with both my TS109pro, and the Nexstar 3.
kind regards,
DZimmerman
[TS-109pro 1xHDD - 1TB]

andrewg_oz
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:07 pm
Location: Perth
Contact:

Re: Vantec Nexstar 3 esata not working

Post by andrewg_oz » Sat Mar 22, 2008 7:56 pm

Thanks for that report dzimmerman. I had also tried trimming the cable, but that hasn't worked for me. What is your firmware version?
Andrew
TS-109 Pro (FW 3.0.0 build 0121T)

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”