Page 1 of 1

Several RAID volumes ?

Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 3:25 am
by dJeyL
Hi,

I consider purchasing a TS-209 Pro, but I was wondering: would it let me create several RAID volumes?

I'd like to use two 750GB hard drives, create a RAID1 volume on a small part of them (which I'd use to backup important data), and a RAID0 volume on the remaining space.

Is this possible?

Thanks!

Re: Several RAID volumes ?

Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 6:50 am
by christian
:?:

Are you sure you are talking about nas 209 ? If yes, i never heard before to use raid 1 and raid 0 at the same time !
You only can use raid 1 or raid 0 in both configs you need at least 2 disks !

Re: Several RAID volumes ?

Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 5:55 pm
by dJeyL
Actually, you don't need two disks, you need two partitions. Depending on the way your disks are partitioned, I assume it's not impossible to do what I explained with a standard Linux. What I need to know is if the web administration interface would let me do it, or if I'll be able to edit the raidtab file without breaking the box (provided it's not been designed for such a use), or if it'll be totally impossible.

Re: Several RAID volumes ?

Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:03 am
by christian
Perhaps this will help you further

viewtopic.php?f=12&t=2818

Re: Several RAID volumes ?

Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:46 am
by dJeyL
Thanks! :)