2X500gb but Q-Raid says used space different

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
Bazrah
Starting out
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 2:32 am

2X500gb but Q-Raid says used space different

Post by Bazrah » Sat Feb 23, 2008 1:46 am

Hi, I've got a 500gb Samsung in the TS-109 and 500gb Freecom usb 2.0 (also a samsung). I've just completed QRAID 1 and yet the sata drive says 476940 MB / 369484 MB used/free and the external usb says 476940 MB / 273818 MB used/free.

How can that be? Does the backup drive use space differently? QRAID reformatted the external drive before sync'ing so I know there's no old data on the external drive.

I'm only asking as I've not used RAID before and I want to be absolutely sure the backup's worked correctly before I bin the old PC where the data came from in the first place.

Many thanks all!!
===========================================
TS-109 [1.1.5 Build 0128T]
Samsung 500gb [HD501LJ CR10]
QRAID 1 [500gb Freecom Classic external USB 2.0]
Netgear DG834PN router [V1.03.36]
Twonkymedia [4.4.4]
Xbox 360 Premium

Bazrah
Starting out
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 2:32 am

Re: 2X500gb but Q-Raid says used space different

Post by Bazrah » Mon Feb 25, 2008 6:15 am

Okay, so I thought I'd start again on the whole RAID thing and set the external usb disk to data sharing.

The QNAP reformats the drive and when it's finished it says the Total / Free Size as 476940 MB / 0 MB !!

Does the QNAP just not know how to read the free space which accounts for these issues?
===========================================
TS-109 [1.1.5 Build 0128T]
Samsung 500gb [HD501LJ CR10]
QRAID 1 [500gb Freecom Classic external USB 2.0]
Netgear DG834PN router [V1.03.36]
Twonkymedia [4.4.4]
Xbox 360 Premium

Bazrah
Starting out
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 2:32 am

Re: 2X500gb but Q-Raid says used space different

Post by Bazrah » Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:13 pm

Okay, Fan from QNAP customer support connected to my 109 and solved the problem. He did a load of stuff I don't understand but mainly seemed to be around the Slimserver software (he removed it in the end). I don't use Slimserver so it wasn't an issue for me.

The free disk size in now about 160mb less on the external drive, but on 500gb I'm not worried about that.

He also recommended that I upgrade to firmware 2.0. I'll have a good look through that forum aread before doing it though!
===========================================
TS-109 [1.1.5 Build 0128T]
Samsung 500gb [HD501LJ CR10]
QRAID 1 [500gb Freecom Classic external USB 2.0]
Netgear DG834PN router [V1.03.36]
Twonkymedia [4.4.4]
Xbox 360 Premium

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”