RAID1 Change Disk (TS-220)

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
Post Reply
richie_rich
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 12:09 am

RAID1 Change Disk (TS-220)

Post by richie_rich » Wed Jan 22, 2014 12:48 am

Hello All,

This is my first post, so please be gentle!

I have done a search for this topic before hand, but could not find the answer I am looking for.

I have a TS-220 with 4.0.5 with 2 x 500GB drives installed configured with a RAID1 configuration. Disk 1 of 2 seems to have a fault (which you can clearly hear, and see lost of activity via the drive activity light). I have tested the disk with all tools with the OS, but it does not return a fault/problem with the disk even though I can clearly hear the disk is having issues.

My question is, can I literally pull the disk out and replace with a new one, or is there a certain procedure to follow?

Many thanks
Richie

User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22582
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: RAID1 Change Disk (TS-220)

Post by pwilson » Wed Jan 22, 2014 4:12 am

richie_rich wrote:Hello All,

This is my first post, so please be gentle!

I have done a search for this topic before hand, but could not find the answer I am looking for.

I have a TS-220 with 4.0.5 with 2 x 500GB drives installed configured with a RAID1 configuration. Disk 1 of 2 seems to have a fault (which you can clearly hear, and see lost of activity via the drive activity light). I have tested the disk with all tools with the OS, but it does not return a fault/problem with the disk even though I can clearly hear the disk is having issues.

My question is, can I literally pull the disk out and replace with a new one, or is there a certain procedure to follow?

Many thanks
Richie


Hot-swapping the hard drives when the RAID crashes

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.

richie_rich
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 12:09 am

Re: RAID1 Change Disk (TS-220)

Post by richie_rich » Thu Jan 23, 2014 11:55 pm

Thank you for you reply. The QNAP is not showing the disk as faulty or degraded. It thinks the disk is fine, however from the sound it is making, the disk is not fine. In the link you sent it says not to hot swap the disk unless it is in a degraded state. Can you force a disk offline / into a degraded state to replace it?

User avatar
doktornotor
Ask me anything
Posts: 7525
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 5:44 am

Re: RAID1 Change Disk (TS-220)

Post by doktornotor » Thu Jan 23, 2014 11:57 pm

This has been answered zillion times. Follow the link above.
I'm gone from this forum till QNAP stop wasting volunteers' time. Get help from QNAP helpdesk instead.
Warning: offensive signature and materials damaging QNAP reputation follow:
QNAP's FW security issues
QNAP's hardware compatibility list madness
QNAP's new logo competition
Dear QNAP, kindly fire your clueless incompetent forum "admin" And while at it, don't forget the webmaster!

User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22582
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: RAID1 Change Disk (TS-220)

Post by pwilson » Fri Jan 24, 2014 9:29 am

richie_rich wrote:Thank you for you reply. The QNAP is not showing the disk as faulty or degraded. It thinks the disk is fine, however from the sound it is making, the disk is not fine. In the link you sent it says not to hot swap the disk unless it is in a degraded state. Can you force a disk offline / into a degraded state to replace it?


If you "eject" the defective drive the array will go into "degraded mode". The NAS will "beep" to alert you to the "missing drive". When you hear the "beep" insert the replacement drive.

Do not turn off the NAS during this process. The object here is to "Hot-Swap" it. See documentation reference already provided.

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.

Post Reply

Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”