Can't reach TS 431 over my local network since today

Questions about using NAS on Mac OS.
Post Reply
NAScollepsie
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 4:09 am

Can't reach TS 431 over my local network since today

Post by NAScollepsie » Wed May 15, 2019 1:00 am

Hi everybody, I can't reach TS 431 over my local network since today. It has been working fine since over a year but today,....
I usually see it and access it via my Mac's finder. I can't exactly recall what kind of connection I've been using but as far as I remember I had configured SAMBA and the other windows option which I can't recall the name. Both worked like a charm. Today I can't see the symbols in my finder's left side fav. list.
I have rebooted the NAS about an hour ago and it booted like usually w. the long beep at the end of the booting process. I can't see find it in my router list and it is still not visible in my data browser (Finder) . I noticed that it had quite a lot of HD activity after the boot. Still not visible. I'm by no way savvy to manage this alone. Any help appreciated. Thanks in advance.

MacOS El Capitan 10.11.6

P.S. I can't reach it over the cloud too. It says that QLink is either not working properly or is not installed. Well it is because it worked all fine until today. No idea what the problem is.
Bildschirmfoto 2019-05-14 um 17.34.26.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14038
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Can't reach TS 431 over my local network since today

Post by dolbyman » Wed May 15, 2019 1:19 am

if there is still HDD activity now let it continue (and wait)

if not, boot it without disks and see if it is reachable then

NAScollepsie
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 4:09 am

Re: Can't reach TS 431 over my local network since today

Post by NAScollepsie » Wed May 15, 2019 1:41 am

Activity is an ongoing process since at least an hour or so. So booting it without disks means shutting it off first and then remove the discs for a new start up? HD activity has calmed down to a low to moderate noise level

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14038
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Can't reach TS 431 over my local network since today

Post by dolbyman » Wed May 15, 2019 3:13 am

yes..remove the disks while the nas is off

do you have backups?

NAScollepsie
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 4:09 am

Re: Can't reach TS 431 over my local network since today

Post by NAScollepsie » Wed May 15, 2019 3:22 am

Yes I have but not recent ones. So how to insert them back into the bay? Is this done while the NAS is working or do I have to turn it off before installation of the HDs?

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14038
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Can't reach TS 431 over my local network since today

Post by dolbyman » Wed May 15, 2019 5:25 am

turn off the nas
remove the disks
turn on the NAS
see if the NAS boots (qfinder/dhcp reservation/etc)

NAScollepsie
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 4:09 am

Re: Can't reach TS 431 over my local network since today

Post by NAScollepsie » Thu May 16, 2019 3:58 am

Hi again. I just firgured out that my router had a hick up. After a reboot things were all back to work fine again. Thanks for your input though

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14038
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Can't reach TS 431 over my local network since today

Post by dolbyman » Thu May 16, 2019 4:22 am

then a fixed ip for the NAS instead of DHCP might be a good idea for you

Post Reply

Return to “Mac OS”